We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing few days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scuba Lodge & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Scuba Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Scuba Lodge & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pietermaai 104, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Most relaxing few days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I spent six days there with my wife. We had just been in quite a busy days in Florida and this place was a little getaway after all that. We spent days in nice and breezy infinity pool and ate on premises most of the time. Town center is within walking distance and absolutely beautiful beach-club, Saint Tropez next door. Surroundings in town side are pretty rough but it seems like there are beautiful places behind the rustic fronts. Staff has tried to create relaxing and beach-like environment and they have succeeded well. All staff are super friendly and breakfasts are very good even if they are a bit pricy. Few more things to do like board games and stuff would be great. However, if you are into diving or planning to try.. this is a five star place to you.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    66
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
143
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had been looking forward to our stay for months and the Scuba Lodge delivered, big time!

We stayed in the President suite which was a 3 bedroom/3 bath apartment (Yellow Building). This apartment is flawless. Top modern kitchen/living room and bedrooms. We even had a washing machine, which came in handy.

We loved hanging out in the big patio overlooking the gardens and the ocean. This will be your favorite spot.

If I would give any feedback to the hotel it would be installing an AC in the living room/kitchen (Ac is only provided in the bedrooms).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you are looking for a big impersonal hotel, this is not for you. This is however a 5-star experience for anyone looking for: unique location, personal attention, home-like comfort, and great food (and drinks, of course). All rooms are cosy, though we spend little time in there. Why should you when the courtyard is literally sitting on the ocean. The villas are superb and very reasonably priced. The Scuba Lodge staff is so friendly that it is more like you are staying with friends. For those who like to dive, and there are many, the dive instructors and divemasters are outstanding in the provision of personal attention and care. And the food is some of the best on the island, with very accommodating chef and managers who go out of their way to make the customer happy. This place is just great and we are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I and my friends had a great holiday stay in ScubaLodge. Curacao itself is an oasis of Europe in the Caribbean. ScubaLodge staff members were very easygoing and helped us a lot. Once we returned back from town late night and guy from the evening staff gave our room key to the security guard, who recognised us in the darkness, was very polite and friendly and passed us our room key. Breakfasts were delicious and not pricey. Dinner menu list is not long, but very convenient - something for everybody. Pietermaai is a nice colourful area, very relaxed though. Just a 10 minute walk from Punda and Otrabanda. We would definitely stay again here, when in Curacao.

Learn some dutch, before going there - everybody will be happy to hear you trying to speak it

Room Tip: If possible, choose and book the ocean side lodge rooms close to the ocean terrace pool. Amazing vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Arrived at Scuba Lodge late at night because of a cancelled flight, after having spent a week's holiday at Avila Beach. Were looking for a place to stay and our daughter had heard that SL was a nice spot. The staff was very welcoming and offered us their last beds, which were situated in one of their apartments. It was a pity we hadn't found out about this treasure before we booked our holiday to Curacao, otherwise we would definitely have chosen to stay there.
As I said earlier the people working there are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel at home, offer great service and think pro-actively. Our dinner was delicious, a hamburger freshly grilled on the BBQ on the beach. Breakfast is a treat, served in a picknick basket.
I'd recommend this place anytime!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The 4 of us loved our apartment over looking the infinity pool and ocean. We also enjoyed meeting the friendly staff and especially Coco the cat. Very laid back, beautiful and convenient place to stay!

Room Tip: Loved the apartments. They are spacious and well designed for 2 couples. Favorite part was the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallaha
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed for a week in a two bedroom/bath apt. on top floor of the green building - huge. Wonderful balcony overlooking the ocean. Can't say enough about the staff - amazing group of young people who know the island well and go out of there way to help you. Great bar and restaurant. Walking distance to town. Love this place!!!

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more and get an apartment - great privacy views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scuba Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Lodge & Suites

Address: Pietermaai 104, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scuba Lodge & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scubalodge is the premier ocean front boutique hotel in Curacao. Made of in total 5 monumental buildings, every room and apartment are different! And so is the staff! With a very relaxed and personal atmosphere guests are like staying with friends! Relax in one of the two swimming pools, in the ocean in our house riff and enjoy a cocktail at the Ocean Bar. Scubalodge has a PADI Dive School and shop and the well known breakfast basket and weekly barbecue! Laid in the "quartier Latin" of Curacao, many restaurants and bars are walking distance, as is the city centre, the cruise terminal and all musea and shopping center. Explore the real Curacao in Otrabanda, the "pontjes brug" and the fruit and local market. Or take your rental car and explore the Island and all of its 70 beaches!!! Scubalodge, welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scuba Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scuba Lodge And Suites
The Scuba Hotel Willemstad
Scuba Lodge & Suites Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scuba Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.