We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise in the paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DolphinHeart House Accomodations

Save Saved
You added DolphinHeart House Accomodations to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
DolphinHeart House Accomodations
Lagun A 16, Willemstad 0000, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A paradise in the paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

When i was planning my vacation to curaçao, i was in a big doubt about the place of my stay, i wasn't decided if i wanted a place in downtown, to have all the places at hand, or if i would prefer to be away, so i can get more rest and peace. Furthermore, there wasn't a place that i could see as a best choice, cause each one had their positive and negative points. I was afraid for instance, to get a place in downtown and it smells bad due to the oil refinary (it proved to not be true anyway when i got to downtown, at least that week) and at the other hand, i didn't want to drive long distances every day to get to the tourist locations.

A friend of mine that was getting along insisted that dolphin heart house was worth, and as i was disappointed with all other places and liked a lot of the house, i decided to be there, even having to drive long distances every day... That later proved to be one of the best decision i've made in my life. We were getting the main house, it's meant to be for 6-8 people, but we were 3!

When we arrived at the street that the house was located, we passed by the house without noticing it, and we keep searching for it. My surprise was that the hostess of the house did notice us, and followed us by car, stoped and asked if we were the ones that would occupy the house. Lucky she was that attentive! Thanks to her we saved a good time!

So we were finally in the house, luckly again, the hostess knew to speak portuguese too (she lived in portugal), so she gave us a lot of details of the island. Our first impression of the house was that it was too big for only 3 people, in other words, we loved it! The neighborhood was quiet, the place was pleasant and well maintained.

In the morning, we've woke up and run directly towards to the balcony. That was an amazing view, we had the entire ocean in front of us! That was the reason why we rented the house, the reason we decided to be far away from everything, and i can assure you it was worth! That may be the best vision a person can get in the island, just in home.

That same day, we run down to that ocean to snorking and got to see a school of fishes (you can see it every day, it's wonderful). We've brought just one gear to snorking, but later on we've discovered the house had a trunk with a lot of useful things to snorking and relax on the water, do not miss it, it's located right in the gate you pass through to get to the ocean.

Thanks to the balcony having table and seats, we had our breakfast always there, so every morning was a funny event, cause besides the amazing beautiful view, there's birds singing and tagging along after our food, iguanas down there also waiting for our food, a amazing beautiful view and we got even to see dolphins once!

The house has a safe you can put your value things on, a good fridge that gives you broken ice by it's door, a regular stove and all the things you can possibly need to cook, plates, glasses, forks and knives, towels, a clothes line and even a hammock at the balcony. Beware of the kitchen, it has ants, but it do not bothers me. All the rooms had air conditioner (even though we thought it wasn't freezing that much). I felt like i was really in my place.

There's a good beach at foot distance and the ocean just in front of the house, everyelse you would like to get it's best to go by car, remember, the paradise is far away from almost everything. By the way, the owner has a car you can rent by a reasonable price, even though we rented ours at the airport.

If you want a advice, i highly recommend this place to you stay at, do not mind for the distance of the tourist points, you'll may prefer to stay at the dolphins heart house, it's a nice place!

My review is related to the "Main House" of Dolphin Heart House, i don't know how the studios are, but by the guests smile, i would give a try. I hope i could help you about your decision (give me a helpful vote if so =D), have a nice trip!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wieringerwaard
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We loved our stay at Dolphin Heart House!
We had a fantastically breathtaking view from our own terrace over the Caribbean Sea and a couple of times we spotted a group of dolphins.
Dolphin Heart house is located on a quit spot, is clean and the apartments are provided with everything you need.
The pleasant owners, Marian and Erik and their hostess Teresa are always ready for you to make it as comfortable as possible.
We will certainly come again next year and many years after! We really loved it and recommend Dolphin Heart House to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolvega, The Netherlands
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

If you love snorkeling/diving and swimming in the caribbean sea this is a perfect place to stay!
Enjoyed the brilliant sunsets from the terrace and the ever changing seas...Stayed in one of the studios downstairs for 6 weeks. There are 2 studios next to each other so you will have neighbours but there is enough room to sit privately.Upstairs is the mainhouse with it's own wide porch and the same beautiful oceanview! Our hosts - Erik and Marjan and their assistants Theresa and Doran did everything to make our stay a pleasant one! In which they succeeded for more than 100%. We felt it as a safe place to stay and will surely return in the near future!
Small note - you do need a rental car as you are situated about 35 minutes drive away from Willemstad and to go siteseeing / and to beaches.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed one week in one of the two studios. The accommodation is located directly on the Caribbean Sea and as said by others the sunsets were beautiful. There is a chance you can see dolphins swimming by. There is a lot a space to sit and relax. You can just take the stairs into the water and you can take a shower after swimming in a separate shower. Erik and Marian were really helpful, you can just ask them anything about the Island and nice restaurants and beaches. It’s a quiet place to stay, we slept really well. Marian and Erik thanks for everything! Marielle and Wouter

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We just want to say in one word, PERFECT. Everything you can image, such as beautiful sunrises, nice atmosphere in the small and quiet village, dolphins when being lucky and of course the seeview and the beach at the Lagun, it is fabulous. We stayed at the mainhouse and the interior was good. The terrace was brilliant with a lot of seats were you can relax.
Erik and Marian are friendly and hospitable and they will make your stay complete.
Do not believe the overly negative reaction about the burglary.

The only thing we can suggest as negative is that staying with young childeren is not recommended because of safety matter. Enjoy your holiday at dolphin heart house because otherwise we will do it again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

3 burglaries in one month, unsafe electricity, bad cleaning, and not homy. That is the summary when we think back to the Dolphin Heart House on Curacao. We wish others a happy en untroubled holiday, en recommend to look a bit further for other accommodations.

A short list of some of our disappointments:
- De studio is a bit TOO scarse: nothing on the walls, mouldy kitchen cabinets, mouldy bed sheets, moist bathroom and incomplete inventory
- No cleaning materials, but enough vermin (like a lot of ants). When we left it was cleaner than when we arrived… because we cleaned it.
- The stairs to sea is been broken. The way it has been ‘fixed’ is very unsafe and clumsy, we didn’t dare using it., neither did our neighbours. Too bad, because it was an important charm of the house, and reason to rent it. Apparently the sign ‘use at own risk’ is there for a reason.
- Electricity problems; the ground fault switch kept switching off. Unfortunate when you have a full freezer and fridge. In stead of repairing the cause of the disorder, the ground fault switch was taken out. Later that week a transformator melted (which was in our studio 2 days before), with luck without severe consequences.
- Complete lack of understanding by the owners after the burglary, en no compensation of the extra costs after we decided to leave, to finish our holiday on a safe and untroubled location, with better burglary prevention (like a window-frame that is attached with more than 4 little screws – see photo)
The positive sides of the Dolphin Heart House are the view and the tranquillity. That’s it. The booking agency ‘Klein en Sfeervol’ (Little and Cosy), can better change it’s name in Klein (‘Little’), because cosy had nothing to do with the inside of the studios.

But if you want to enjoy your holiday in the same area, we would recommend Bahia Apartments, in the same street (it’s where we ended up after we ran away from the Dolphin Heart House, accepting double expenses). Nice apartments, good view and great service, for the same price. And even better: it’s safe.

Have an untroubled holiday, and DON’T book at the Dolphin Heart House!

Room Tip: Don't pick ANY room here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DolphinHeart House Accomodations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DolphinHeart House Accomodations

Address: Lagun A 16, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 59 Specialty lodging in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DolphinHeartHouse is a Unique OceanFront AccomodationExperience the peace and beauty of simply magical sunsets and impressive Caribbean night starry skies.Be enchanted by the waves and the sound of the Caribbean Sea in all her colorful beauty....and perhaps (the) Dolphins passing by. Dolphin Heart House is a free-standing house located directly Oceanfront at the Caribbean Sea Coast in the idyllic and authentic fishing village 'Lagun'.It's the perfect location for those seeking peace and rest (stillness) in a natural environment, far away from everyday hectic living. The Dolphin Heart house comprises of the Main House, suitable for six to seven persons and 2 studio's each suitable for 2 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your DolphinHeart House Accomodations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DolphinHeart House Accomodations Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DolphinHeart House Accomodations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.