We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Honeymoon Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baoase Luxury Resort

Save Saved
You added Baoase Luxury Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baoase Luxury Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Winterswijkstraat 2, Willemstad 00000, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last Minute July Special
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Willemstad
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Best Honeymoon Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

My husband and I just stayed at the Baoase for our honeymoon and everything about the place was amazing! We were in Aruba for the first for 5 days of our honeymoon and we are so glad we ended our honeymoon in Curacao at the Baoase. The resort was everything I had ever imagined our honeymoon would be. Everything about the resort was wonderful -the staff, the food, the views, the rooms - it was actually difficult to leave the resort because everything we wanted and needed was there.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a romantic, relaxing getaway. I would also recommend the picnic on the beach. We scheduled this for dinner one night and of course it started to rain as we headed down to our dinner. I was so bummed but I should have know the staff at the Baoase would have a back up plan. They decorated a secluded covered "cabana" (that's the best word I can think of to describe it) on the beach with candles, torches, flowers, pillows and blankets - it was very romantic. We told the chef our favorite foods and spices and he created a tapas menu just for us - the food was amazing! We had a bottle of wine, dined on our fantastic meal, listened to music (playing faintly so we could also hear the waves crashing into shore). This was the best night of our entire honeymoon.

We definitely plan on going back someday and that day cannot come soon enough.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    24
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
149
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Baoase was recommended by friends but it was beyond our expectations! The combination of Caribbean atmosphere and Asian details and architecture makes it very special, idyllic and romantic. The interiour and furniture is of natural materials and warm colors; trendy in an elegant style. We really forgot our busy jobs during our stay, especially when we had the massage at the beach side. Staff was very helpful, actually they can arrange (almost) anything for you! We enjoyed to be so close to nature; the coral is beautiful and the sea eagle seemed a regular customer. It is like a true oasis!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We only stayed at Baoase for three nights due to unavailability the final four nights. In hindsight, I regret not booking further in advance because our other lodging during our honeymoon did not even come close to comparing to the exclusivity and serenity of Baoase. We were upgraded from a suite to a three bedroom villa. The villa specifically and resort in general were stunning. The architecture and landscape really surround you in the Balinese style. Our only complaints, and they wouldn't prevent us from returning, were the mosquitoes and the AC unit in the master bedroom was difficult to set at a comfortable level. Being able to eat every meal on the private, quiet beach was well worth the price. The food was some of the best we ate on the island. Definitely have the office schedule a couple's massage on the beach. Just make sure the staff doesn't accidentally crank up the music in the middle of your massage!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Much has been said about this place. Most of it good, some bad. What I can say about the good is this place is very unique. None of the rooms are the same. Everyday you will have a diffrent expierience. Everyone at this place is nice and genuine. Granted they dont have the most training but we made friends with everyone that worked there over our 8 day stay. The food Rik cooks is amazing. We ordered custom, off the menu stuff everyday and he delivered. His brother Ronald took us on a snorkeling tour of the island. Such a nice guy. Everyone was just so cool. Yes our bill was screwed up and their computers arent so good nor does everyone know how to use them. Who cares. We felt like we celebs.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Baoase is a unique and beautiful resort, with Balinese Buddhist theme that enhances the relaxing and serene Caribbean beachfront. It is not a "party" report and not really the place to go meet other people. There were only a few people sharing the private beach, great for truly unwinding. The beachside massage is highly recommneded. In addition, the beachside bar/kitchen is outstanding, with the food, in my opinion, qualifying as gourmet-level. The staff are extremely friendly and flexible, very willing to quickly handle even non-routine requests. Overall, we had a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

My husband and I just came back from our honeymoon where we stayed at Baoase for 10 nights (we also stayed 5 nights at Hyatt but I'll write a separate review on that).

We are so happy that we chose to stay at Baose for our honeymoon. One pleasant surprise was that our suite was upgraded to a 3 room villa which was of course added value and the villa is soo beautiful, especially the little pool deck where we spent many afternoons in the nice shade reading books and talking. The villa is top notch and includes pretty much everything you could ever want (except from maybe a ipod-dock but I hope they will put in that eventually). We have stayed at many five stars hotel but the room in this was by far the nicest.

One thing we really liked was the fact that it didn't feel like the hotel tried to "bleed you" out on money, for example they'll always bring fresh tap water with ice which in warm weather really saves you a lot (might seem a bit small thing to think about since the room costs a bit but we felt that the food, prices and all the little things that was included really gave us more value for the money! The hotel is very small and it was not that many children around when we were there, i do think that if there are a lot of children some of the magic tranquility that we had might be lost which is a risk i suppose at any hotels.

The service was sometimes, as others have pointed out, not "luxury professional" standard in the sense of the staff's experience. However, we never had to wait for long for anything and what the staff might lack in professional training they gained back in attitude. They always fixed everything for you with a smile and if the hotel didn't have what we ordered (for coctails etc) they would runt to the store to get it for you!, which sometimes lead to that you had to wait a bit but hey, its vacations who's in a hurry?To sum it us, the luxury at this hotel is more genuine than "formal" (you get to see the staffs own personalities and they're just not trained "puppys" which is refreshing :)).

The girl planning all the activities is amazing, she arranged a wonderful picknick for us which i could highly recommend. I could go on and on about the wonders of baose but i guess there's limited space for me to write to I'll finish of with some tips: 1) book a sunset picknick with couple massage 2) eat at fishalishous (great food) 3) don't miss the dolphin swim!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

My wife and I spent 5 days/nights at Baoase over July 4 weekend and were pleasantly suprised when we found out that we were upgraded to a 3 bedroom villa (private jacuzzi, outdoor terrace with dining area, full service kitchen, 2.5 bathrooms, shared infinity pool with other villas) from a suite due to construction. The resort is beautifully constructed with all the privacy and amenities one would expect for the price.

Although I would agree with many of the positives from previous reviews, I will highlight some negatives that we found during our stay. There is no parking if you rent a car and if you do, you would have to park outside on the street at your own risk. We rented a car to travel around the island on our last day from the Hertz location at the Breezes Resort a 5 minute drive away. They came to pick up and drop off. Since there is no complimentary shuttle service, it costs $35US each way to travel to/from the airport. If you arrange with the resort with their preferred car service it would cost $55US each way.

All the amenities within the villa are exquisite with a full service kitchen, two dining areas, second floor private outdoor shower/tub, etc. However there is no iPod docking station (which is a rarity in my opinion in this day and age), the enterainment system within the villa is hard to use with the wall controls in each room, and not all the lights were functional. Wireless internet is spotty and non-existent after 11pm as that is when the resort office closes. Not major items and I could live with these, but there was a glaring item related to the villa that stick out for me. Our private jacuzzi was located below the neighboring villa's 2nd floor private shower/tub. Whenever the neighboring guest took a bath and drained the tub, the water would overwhelm their drain and would drain down into our jacuzzi like a waterfall. Needless to say we did not use it. What was amusing was that when we were given a tour of the villa by the resort staff the first day, she explained that the murkiness of the jacuzzi water is due to the cleaning detergent being used and that the staff had not finished cleaning. Really??? Also the massage shower in the master bathroom did not work except the overhead rain shower head. That was rather disappointing.

As for the resort, the beach and lagoon is smaller than the pictures depict. However, since the resort is small, visitors will definitely feel very secluded and undisturbed. Kayaking and snorkeling gear are provided although you would have to swim out of the lagoon to see anything while snorkling. My other complaint is that the resort staff was very inexperienced. I would have to agree with the previous reviewer that they all seemed to be summer interns from Holland and although offer assistance in dining reservations or excursions, the results vary. Dining at the resort restaurant is similar. It typically takes 15 minutes before anyone greets you with the offer of drinks or menus. My wife and I spent two afternoons on the beach and neither time were we approached by the staff with the offer of water or drinks. Our theory is that a) the resort really wants to give its patrons complete privacy or b) since English is not their native language, they avoided conversation or service.

If you travel to Punda or Otrobanda from Baoase during the day, I would recommend taking the minibus which costs only $3 US for 2 people. It costs $15 by taxi to come back. There is also a supermarket within walking distance so that you can buy local groceries to make full use of the kitchen. Bring bugspray (both are provided at the resort within the villas as the mosquitos come out in force at nights) and be prepared to discover iguanas, lizards and hermit crabs roaming through the resort which we found to be pleasant discoveries. Overall, we would still rate our experience at Baoase as wonderful and wish we just had better service to match the accommodations and price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baoase Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baoase Luxury Resort

Address: Winterswijkstraat 2, Willemstad 00000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baoase Luxury Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens on the pristine waters of the Caribbean Sea, Baoase Luxury Resort in Curacao, is the ultimate island retreat! Named to the 2010 Hot List by Conde Nast Traveler, and Winner of the 2011 Travelers Choice award from Tripadvisor for Top 10 hotels for Romance in the Caribbean and Mexico, Baoase is an unforgettable experience that promises total relaxation, luxurious comfort, and impeccable service. This stunning brand new resort is surrounded by meandering free form pools, waterfalls, swaying palms and an idyllic private beach. Reflecting the qualities of an elegant home, the residential style villas and suites at Baoase are decorated in a refined Asian style and provide a relaxing ambiance complete with modern amenities. Villas and Suites also offer free connection to wireless internet and all indoor areas are air-conditioned whereas the porch has ceiling fans. Suites feature a spacious balcony/terrace with stunning sea view, each has its private garden with Jacuzzi. The interior design and its facilities are unique. Furthermore they boast a flat screen TV, DVD and Dolby surround system, coffeemaker, mini fridge, and wireless internet. The Master Villa is the Baoase's top accommodation. It comes with views that reach all the way to the buildings of downtown Willemstad, Curacao's capital. The villa also has its own private infinity pool, complete with a "luxury cave" that includes a Jacuzzi, a bar and card table and a relaxation area. Also included in the Master Villa is a chef, butler and the use of a private beach. From water sports to sailing, diving or fishing excursions, your every request will be taken in to consideration to help make your vacation the most memorable. Baoase luxury Resort will surely bring Heaven to Earth. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Baoase Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baoase Luxury Hotel Willemstad
Baoase Luxury Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baoase Luxury Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.