We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon - not worth it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baoase Luxury Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Baoase Luxury Resort to your Saves list
Baoase Luxury Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Winterswijkstraat 2, Willemstad 00000, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Honeymoon - not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I went to the Baoase for our honeymoon. I never review places, but in this case I feel a need to inform my fellow travelers...so here is what we experienced on our honeymoon in Curacao at the Baoase:

- the resort is very pretty, but it is also VERY small. You can sit down at the restaurant or on the man made beach and see the entire premise of the resort. If you like to adventure or walk around you will be very bored...
- if you don't get a rental car expect to pay a RIDICULOUS amount of money for a "taxi" which is really someone from the resort in the resort car driving you where you want to go. We have a bad experience with this as we were shocked to find out we were charged $30 dollars for someone from the resort to drive us 5 minutes down the road. (Literally 5 minutes)
* We booked a dolphin tour through the hotel, and were not told we had to pay at the dolphin place (which we also werent told we had to find our own way there, it was not walkable nor did they offer any type of shuttle or ride there) After having to take their "taxi" at $30 to the dolphin place we then realized we had to pay at the location -- we had booked everything through the hotel and everything else during the trip was charged to the room, so knowing we were going to be in the water we didnt bring our wallets/purse. We then had to call the resort and they charged us another $30 for someone from the resort to drive the 5 minutes down the road to pay... When you are paying thousands of dollars to stay at a luxury resort, I would not expect to be nickel and dimed like this ( this is really about the principal and the way guests are treated and not the extra $60). When we brought it up to management that they charged us $60 in "taxi" trips that totalled probably 15 minutes in the car, they said they would NOT take any charges off.

Additional negatives:
- there is nothing around the resort to walk to or adventure out to. The area around the resort is really run down and you do not go walking around at night.
- get a rental car - if you have a rental car you can drive to some of the other beaches, resorts or the main towns nearby, you can snorkel, go out to some local restaurants, etc.
- the general pool is really not a pool for lounging around. You go in or out, and its in a shaded area.
- Curacao is a desert island, so if you are expecting tropical and lush, you shall be quite unhappy.
- DOGS barking. For two nights we couldnt sleep due to the areas local dogs barking all night long. Even with all our windows shut and ear plugs in we had a hard time sleeping.
- the hot water in the shower lasted about 15 minutes MAX
- the mini bar fridge only opened after scraping across the wood shelf it was located inside of.
- dinner service very slow - we had a 3 hour dinner one night (not by choice), and decided to eat in our room after that so we could eat and then go enjoy the rest of our evening
- took four days for the resort cleaners to clean one of my husbands shirts

Positives:
- the food was delicious at the resort as well as the drinks (but all are very expensive)
- the beach butlers, especially Thom, were great.
- the breakfast staff was always very quick and friendly
- the beach chairs/cabanas are very nice and the cusions are perfect for relaxing!

Overall we wouldn't go back and don't think it was up to the 5 star standard. Additonally when you are paying such a high premium for a "luxury resort" you dont expect to be nickel and dimed. The area around the resort is also one of the biggest concerns/let downs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baoase_Luxury_Resort, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Lexa S,

Greetings from Baoase Luxury Resort!

Thank you for your review and sharing your experiences. In complete honesty, we are surprised about your somewhat negative review. This because we were not informed from your side about any of those points (except the taxi ride), in order to either react or respond immediately. I have therefore listed my answers and explanations on your comments below:

1. Baoase Luxury Resort is a hideaway resort that promises pure relaxation and tranquility.
If you were looking for adventures, we would have been happy to arrange our private tour
guide for you.
2. The taxi ride we have offered you was executed with our luxurious limousine and only
varies little in price from a standard taxi of the island. When we booked the reservation at
the Dolphin Academy for you, we have sent you a confirmation. This confirmation clearly
states that the amount of $178 has to be directly paid at the Dolphin Academy and the
amount of $ 20,- is being charged on your room account. When we received the phone call
from Dolphin Academy that you did not pay at the entrance, we were informed to pay within
15 minutes without your dolphin encounter is being canceled. Claire, our Front Office
Manager, specifically told the agent to let you do the encounter at 11:00 and that she will
personally come and do the payment for you. For this prepayment we have added 9 % tax,
which we will have to pay to the local government of Curacao. This is the reason that the
amount of $ 16.02 was added on top of the $ 178,-. The amount that has been charged on
your room account was $ 200,- (including the extra ride to the Dolphin academy). For the
service and loyalty we stand for we did not charge you the full amount of $ 30,-, which you
mentioned in your review.
3. The technical issues in your room, were communicated and fixed directly by our
maintenance department. From the hotel perspective, we would have appreciated this
information to an earlier point in order to be able to react during your stay.
4. The speed of our restaurant service fully corresponds with our restaurants concept, where a
visit becomes a culinary experience, surrounded in a romantic and peaceful environment.
Guests that prefer a quick bite, we advise either to order room service or to inform our
restaurant staff to dine in more speed.

I hope that the above mentioned explanations are clear and that you accept my detailed answer and reaction.

Should you have any further questions or require more detailed information, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime again.

Please be informed that we are continuously focusing on improving our hotel procedures and to bringing our standards on another much higher level.
We appreciate your remarks for improvement and were honored to welcome you as our guests.

We hope we can welcome you in the near future again.

Kind regards and a big thank you from the entire Baoase team!

Oliver Zahn
General Manager
Baoase Luxury Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    26
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
162
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

If you are not a scuba diver/snorkeler, find another island. Baoase is the only jewel on this island. The resort is spectacular, but the island is run down, food average and casinos a joke. For a honeymoon with your spouse, nothing beats this resort!!!

Room Tip: any room is awesome!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baoase_Luxury_Resort, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear 2enj0ylife,

Greetings from Baoase Luxury Resort!

Thank you for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor.
We are glad you are recommending fellow travelers a Honeymoon at Baoase Luxury Resort.

We want to thank you for having stayed with us at the Resort and we hope to see you as a guest in the near future again.

Kind regards from the entire Team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager
Baoase Luxury Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Beautiful beach area, very relaxing, food was excellent. Staff attends to all your needs, just find a spot on beach and kick back all day. Live in Las Vegas, food and service in Vegas doesn't compare to the excellence of Boase.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baoase_Luxury_Resort, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Warren R,

Greetings from Baoase Luxury Resort!

We really appreciate the fact that you took the time to write a review about your stay at our resort.
Fulfilling our guests needs is what we aim to do every day. We are happy to hear that Baoase surpassed the food and service in Vegas.

We hope to see you soon again for another relaxing vacation at Baoase.

Kind regards from the entire Team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager
Baoase Luxury Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My (new) husband and I cannot say enough good things about this resort. We went in late April and had the best vacation of our lives. We stayed in a spacious suite, but loved going downstairs for breakfast and dinner on the beach everyday. Splurge on the 'breakfast included' package. You won't regret it! The staff was so sweet and always wanted to accommodate our needs, whether it be a massage, manicure or fruity drinks by the beach :) We also had our own private jacuzzi. The landscaping is gorgeous and there are cute turtles and iguanas on property. Also, the convenience of the fantastic restaurant right outside our suite was perfect. I wouldn't go anywhere else in the Caribbean!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baoase_Luxury_Resort, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Kelsie W,

Greetings from Baoase Luxury Resort!

Much thanks for your time to write such a nice review on Tripadvisor.
Our breakfast is indeed included in the resort package. We are glad you took the opportunity to enjoy our breakfast and dinner on the beach.
The Baoase staff did their very best to give you and your husband a lifetime experience.

It was a pleasure having you and your husband as guests at our Resort. We look forward to soon welcoming you and your husband at Baoase again.

Kind regards from the entire Team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager
Baoase Luxury Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here during easter week together with my husband. We have travelled quite
a lot and this was the best place that we have experienced in the Caribbean.
From the time you arrive until the time you depart nothing is to much trouble.
The staff, the food and the setting are of the highest quality - excellent!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baoase_Luxury_Resort, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Ngendelev22,

Greetings from Baoase Luxury Resort!

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Baoase Luxury Resort with us.

Very nice to hear that you and your husband had a lovely Easter week. It is a tremendous compliment to read that we are the best place you and your husband experienced in the Caribbean.
Personalized attention ,attention for detail and giving you memories for a lifetime is what we stand for.

We are sincerely hoping to welcome you both back to our resort in the near future!

Kind regards from the entire Team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager
Baoase Luxury Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My boyfriend surprised me with a romantic getaway for our anniversary, and what a getaway it was. Tucked away in the middle of a residential area, Baoase is a true oasis which allows you to escape from the everyday hustle and bustle of the island. The attentive friendly staff, breathtaking surroundings, and eye for detail make it an unforgettable experience. The romantically set up sunset picnic was the icing on the cake, and something I can recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baoase_Luxury_Resort, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Kolkc,

Greetings from Baoase Luxury Resort!

Thank you for sharing your unforgettable experience of your anniversary with us on Tripadvisor.
Undeniably, Baoase Luxury Resort is in fact tucked away in the middle of a residential area and offers a magical private setting and relaxing ambiance.

Your positive comments will definitely be shared with our Baoase team and we appreciate immensely that you have recommended our Romantic Picnic to everyone in this review.

Our goal has certainly been achieved and we hope that we can celebrate your anniversary with you and your husband again next year! We truly hope to see you soon.

Kind regards from the entire Team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager
Baoase Luxury Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

If personalized service, exceptional accommodations and casual gourmet dining appeal to you, Baoase Luxury Resort should be on your vacation radar. It's a well hidden resort close to Curacao attractions and cultural centers, yet removed from frenzy of Willemstad.

Here you are welcome. Here you are family. Within days you'll be on a first-name basis with staff. Here they go the extra mile to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. As an example, at breakfast one morning our waitress asked if we'd slept well. My husband jokingly commented the mattress was too soft; within the hour a brand new mattress had been installed in our suite.

The resort is small by design. It overlooks the calm waters of a lagoon yet offers a panoramic view of the Caribbean. You'll appreciate the size and intimacy when lounging on the uncrowded beach, as pelicans demonstrate their diving techniques in the lagoon. This is a good time to sip Mimosas.

Dining at Baoase is casual elegance at it's finest. The food is incredible and the menu is varied; hours will pass before your final course is served. Seafood is a specialty but not to worry if you're not into fish, the chef will appear at your table to discuss alternative dishes and prepare a meal to your liking.

Special thanks to Oliver Zahn, General Manager of Baoase, for making our stay an experience to remember. He is the "lucky soul" who does what he loves and loves what he does. It's not often you find a GM working shoulder to shoulder with his staff. He's also one of the most personable, knowledgeable and dedicated individuals we've ever met. Baoase is lucky to have him.

If you want a truly relaxing vacation, total serenity and private surroundings, I recommend the Baoase Luxury Resort - it's a true Zen experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baoase_Luxury_Resort, General Manager at Baoase Luxury Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Obliv82,

Greetings from Baoase Luxury Resort!

We really want to thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful and detailed comment of your experience with us on Tripadvisor. Your compliments and your loyalty are our best rewards and your comments are definitely as accurate as it can be.

What caught our attention the most were the points: personalized service, exceptional accommodations, casual gourmet dining, here you are family, first-name basis with staff, intimacy and the uncrowded beaches.

In conclusion we do our utmost best to satisfy every specific need of our guests and therefore we thank you for acknowledging our efforts. Our staff will be delighted to hear all the compliments given in your review.

In regards to the compliments directed to me, there aren’t enough words to express my gratitude. It was an honor to have been able to meet, accommodate and to be of service to you.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future and provide you once again with a true “Zen” experience.

Kind regards from the entire Team,

Oliver Zahn
General Manager
Baoase Luxury Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baoase Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baoase Luxury Resort

Address: Winterswijkstraat 2, Willemstad 00000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baoase Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens on the pristine waters of the Caribbean Sea, Baoase Luxury Resort in Curacao, is the ultimate island retreat! Named to the 2010 Hot List by Conde Nast Traveler, and Winner of the 2011 Travelers Choice award from Tripadvisor for Top 10 hotels for Romance in the Caribbean and Mexico, Baoase is an unforgettable experience that promises total relaxation, luxurious comfort, and impeccable service. This stunning brand new resort is surrounded by meandering free form pools, waterfalls, swaying palms and an idyllic private beach. Reflecting the qualities of an elegant home, the residential style villas and suites at Baoase are decorated in a refined Asian style and provide a relaxing ambiance complete with modern amenities. Villas and Suites also offer free connection to wireless internet and all indoor areas are air-conditioned whereas the porch has ceiling fans. Suites feature a spacious balcony/terrace with stunning sea view, each has its private garden with Jacuzzi. The interior design and its facilities are unique. Furthermore they boast a flat screen TV, DVD and Dolby surround system, coffeemaker, mini fridge, and wireless internet. The Master Villa is the Baoase's top accommodation. It comes with views that reach all the way to the buildings of downtown Willemstad, Curacao's capital. The villa also has its own private infinity pool, complete with a "luxury cave" that includes a Jacuzzi, a bar and card table and a relaxation area. Also included in the Master Villa is a chef, butler and the use of a private beach. From water sports to sailing, diving or fishing excursions, your every request will be taken in to consideration to help make your vacation the most memorable. Baoase luxury Resort will surely bring Heaven to Earth. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baoase Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baoase Luxury Hotel Willemstad
Baoase Luxury Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baoase Luxury Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.