We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baoase Luxury Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Baoase Luxury Resort to your Saves list
Baoase Luxury Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Winterswijkstraat 2, Willemstad 00000, Curacao   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Barbados
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Five Star Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the most lovely resorts that we have visited in the Caribbean. It is luxurious in an Asian/Caribbean way. The decor is modern with Indonesian influences. Our two storey villa was well appointed with a lovely pool running the length of the villa.
The Beach Butlers were amazing, always close by to bring you a towel, cocktail or whatever you may need. Around 4:00 they would appear with a tray of appetizers. One day tempura shrimp, another day beef skewers...etc...so YUMMY!
We did dine in one evening and three of the four dinners were superb, one was good. Breakfast has a vast array of choices, the pastries and breads are fabulous.
We did have a couple of maintenance and housekeeping concerns which were addressed quickly.
The beach is beautiful and at night is lit with small fire pots.
This is the height of casual luxury with excellent service.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    32
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
57
201
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent five days at Baoase Luxury Resort and thoroughly enjoyed the exceptional beachfront, beautiful villa, and super staff. After a few initial hiccups related to maintenance in the villa (fan not working in upper bedroom, several burned out light bulbs, safe missing in one bedroom) we were most impressed with the efforts of everyone on property to make our stay there absolutely amazing. They were always there to meet our requests and rectify any problems we encountered. We toured the island and did a snorkelling expedition with Carlos and enjoyed both. Be sure you're aware of the total costs when you sign up to avoid rather costly surprises. This is one of the loveliest resorts we have found in the Caribbean and I would recommend it highly to anyone looking for luxury.

Room Tip: If travelling with another couple I would highly recommend the two bedroom villa which was absolutel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hi again tripadvisors readers......I am writing to let you know that we have had today the most magical moments ever lived before.
Baoase Resort is a hidden paradise where white sandy beaches meet luxury. It is surrounded by blue waters and an exotic atmosphere. We spent the day relaxing at the beach, sunbathing while Jean Pierre, served as with kindness and extreme pleasure. He made us feel comfortable and cared all the time.
Included in the fee are different kinds of beachbites you'll enjoy very much .
A fantastic experience we'll live again when visiting the island again.... We strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Strongly recommended.. Ask for Jean Pierre to serve on you. He is a great guy. !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'll preface this review by saying that my impressions of the resort were colored somewhat by the inexplicable problems my partner and I encountered prior to our actual arrival. The short version of the story is that we had to move our original reservation up by a week, and only through a LOT of back-and-forth on the phone and via email were we able to accomplish booking a room for our new arrival dates. Purely by chance, we decided to stop by the Baoase one day before our scheduled check-in, and we were flabbergasted to discover that in spite of all the communication, the internal reservations system had not been updated to reflect our new dates (our old ones were still in there). Alarmed, we pulled up all the email correspondence to show to the manager on duty, who informed us that as the final email from his colleague did NOT explicitly state our check-in date (because, of course, we had arranged THAT on the phone with the resort), he was unable to say whether or not we could actually procure a room for our stay. Fortunately, everything was resolved by the time we arrived. The room we stayed in was the deluxe colonial room, located just above the manager's office. It was gorgeous, if a little noisy (from noise outside the resort), and since we weren't planning to spend much time in the room anyway, it suited our needs. The beach is beautiful, with plentiful seating and the most amazingly friendly and accommodating "beach butlers" to assist you with anything you might need, and all the meals we had at the on-site restaurant were excellent--I concur with previous reviewers that the quality of food was on-par or superior to what you'd find in a high-end restaurant in the U.S. There was also a lovely spread provided in our room upon check-in (bottle of champagne, homemade bread, hors d'oeuvres, etc.) so we were well-fed throughout our stay!
And, to echo another reviewer, I would have to say the couple's massage my partner and I had was not very good--neither masseuse was particularly strong, and the location of the massage hut (on the beach) meant that I was constantly worried that other guests were, um, seeing more of me than perhaps I would have liked!
In terms of service from the restaurant and office staff, we were pleased--everyone was uniformly nice and friendly without being over-the-top. It's just a shame that the stress associated with changing our booking--being told on the phone, "oh, the room you originally had isn't available--you'll have to take the one that costs twice as much" but arriving to find that our original room WAS, in fact available!--and the stress of feeling like we had to "prove" to the manager that we'd actually changed the reservation (when the lack of communication was CLEARLY on their end)--tempered our enthusiasm. I would recommend this resort, to be sure--but I would also strongly advise that travelers confirm, and reconfirm their booking prior to arrival, particularly if you've made any changes to dates/room types, and to arrive with hard copies of all correspondence and reservation-related materials in hand...just in case.

Room Tip: The deluxe colonial room is on the small side, but come on--you're in Curacao to go to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This January, my husband turned 40. I wanted to take him on a special trip so I started doing my research. After a lot of consideration given the criteria of a direct flight from Miami, no more than three hours away, luxurious, family-friendly, safe and culturally interesting I found curaçao. I'm on curaçao, I found Baoase.

After a bath or disastrous trip to the islands of Turks and Caicos a while back, I was in no mood for what I could only describe as a cruise ship on land (See previous review). Baoase that was the antithesis to that.

Intimate, personable, excellent food and outstanding service Is what greeted us in this little Dutch/Caribbean outpost just off the northern shore of Venezuela.

We rented a three bedroom villa which was beautifully appointed. Our three-year-old son had a great time jumping directly from our terrace into the crisp infinity pool.

On the date of my husband's birthday. The staff made a big deal and congratulated him and put up balloons and a birthday banner. He was also sent a lovely strawberry shortcake as a surprise.
Everyone treated us like family. We stayed four nights and the hotel and it's surroundings had enough for us to do so we weren't bored.

As examples of how the staff went beyond their call of duty to accommodate us the chambermaid unpacked our entire suitcases even though it is not hotel policy. The restaurant staff were able to make smaller plates based on requests for our three-year-old without making any fuss.

The food at Baoase was outstanding. I am a discerning eater in that I like value for money when I eat. I don't mind paying $1000 a head at Masa but I will balk at a $15 smoothie. The quality of food at the resort only restaurant was that of any fine food establishment in the world. We went out for dinner a couple of nights that we might as well have stayed in the resort as the food there was far superior. On the eve of my husband's birthday, we had a romantic dinner on the beach which consisted of the four course tasting menu. It was perfectly portioned and paced. We enjoyed every bit of it and left without feeling like a stuffed whale like you sometimes do when you've had a tasting dinner including the amuse bouche, tasting menu and petit fours.

If I could possibly complain about anything, it would be what they described as "luxury airport transfer" for which they charged $120. What greeted us at the airport was a nondescript Kia sedan from the early 2000s. However, the hotel management drove us back to the airport in a Mercedes SUV and even procured a cars eat for our toddler.

We also booked a couples massage and I notified them that I was pregnant. The spa staff was clearly not trained in performing prenatal massages and it was so uncomfortable I could barely wait for my appointment to be over. My husband – who was not pregnant, also was not very happy with his massage. I recommend skipping the massages, or going somewhere else.

We all had a trip to remember and we will happily come back.

I used to live in St. Barts and the level of luxury and service within the resort was reminiscent of that. The best thing was that it lacked all of the pretense and attitude.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlaar, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

just spend an amazing week at Baoase... even thought it's expensive, you get what you pay for. service is excellent, the bar/restaurant offers delicious food and does it with style.

We drove around the island of Curacao looking for good beaches, only to come to the realisation that the hotel beach is the best (cleanest) on the island. There's also plenty of space on the beach... we always found a lonely spot, and there are plenty of very comfortable beach loungers.

For snorkeling you'll have to swim out of the small land-made bay to get better views, though.

Also big thumbs up for the staff: very friendly & professional.

One downside is that the evening restaurant only has fancier (and expensive) food on the menu. I would have appreciated a less-fancy menu for small eaters such as myself. Now we had to rely on room-service for less-fancy food (sandwiches, burgers, salads, ...). As there are no other restaurants within walking distance from the hotel (walking at night is disencouraged), you're sort of trapped at the resort unless you're willing to pay the 30$ cab ride.

Room Tip: bayan tree room has no outside salon, just 2 smaller seats. other villa units have entire outside li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day stay at Baoase and what a place. The Vill was unrivalled for luxury, cleanliness and decoration. Private splash pool which was perfect after a long day.
The restaurant staff couldn't have been more friendly and attentive and the food was consistently excellent.
A lot of effort has been put in to making this place what it is and they've certainly pulled it off!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
1.1 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#4 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
#3 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
1.2 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
4.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
2.0 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baoase Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baoase Luxury Resort

Address: Winterswijkstraat 2, Willemstad 00000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baoase Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens on the pristine waters of the Caribbean Sea, Baoase Luxury Resort in Curacao, is the ultimate island retreat! Named to the 2010 Hot List by Conde Nast Traveler, and Winner of the 2011 Travelers Choice award from Tripadvisor for Top 10 hotels for Romance in the Caribbean and Mexico, Baoase is an unforgettable experience that promises total relaxation, luxurious comfort, and impeccable service. This stunning brand new resort is surrounded by meandering free form pools, waterfalls, swaying palms and an idyllic private beach. Reflecting the qualities of an elegant home, the residential style villas and suites at Baoase are decorated in a refined Asian style and provide a relaxing ambiance complete with modern amenities. Villas and Suites also offer free connection to wireless internet and all indoor areas are air-conditioned whereas the porch has ceiling fans. Suites feature a spacious balcony/terrace with stunning sea view, each has its private garden with Jacuzzi. The interior design and its facilities are unique. Furthermore they boast a flat screen TV, DVD and Dolby surround system, coffeemaker, mini fridge, and wireless internet. The Master Villa is the Baoase's top accommodation. It comes with views that reach all the way to the buildings of downtown Willemstad, Curacao's capital. The villa also has its own private infinity pool, complete with a "luxury cave" that includes a Jacuzzi, a bar and card table and a relaxation area. Also included in the Master Villa is a chef, butler and the use of a private beach. From water sports to sailing, diving or fishing excursions, your every request will be taken in to consideration to help make your vacation the most memorable. Baoase luxury Resort will surely bring Heaven to Earth. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Baoase Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baoase Luxury Hotel Willemstad
Baoase Luxury Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baoase Luxury Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.