We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baoase Luxury Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Baoase Luxury Resort to your Saves list
Baoase Luxury Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Winterswijkstraat 2, Willemstad 00000, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Taste of Luxury Package
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Willemstad
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Your search for the perfect getaway has ended. Stop your research and go book Baoase now. My wife and I just returned from our week long honeymoon there. Our trip was absolute perfection. We stayed in Villa 5 and it was beautiful.

We had a difficult trip down as we were stuck on the American Airlines flight with the loose seats. So, instead of arriving at 2:30, we missed the whole day and did not arrive until after 10pm. We were in terrible moods upon our arrival and did not expect to enjoy anything. Within 30 seconds of being on the resort, our moods immediately changed! We were starving and they had welcome drinks and food waiting for us.

It is such a warm and relaxing environment. The property is spectacular and extremely well maintained. The infrastructure is great, feel free to drink the tap water!

The customer service and attention to detail is unparalleled. The entire staff new who we were and quickly came to understand our likes so they could create a unique experience for us. The food is amazing and the restaurant will quickly be ranked #1 on the island soon. The kitchen new of my bride's gluten and dairy allergies, so they purchased special bread, almond milk, and other ingredients to cater to her needs.

We truly enjoyed ourselves and can't think of a more perfect honeymoon experience that we could have had.

A helpful travel trip to Curacao: we traveled from NYC to Curacao, with a lay-over in Miami with American Airlines. American Airlines is having some major problems across their entire company and we suggest that you avoid booking your air travel with them. There are only two daily connections with AA out of Miami, one at 11:40 and one at 5:40pm. If you miss your connection, you are at the mercy of this schedule and the limited availability. Because of AA's problems, we almost missed a few days of our honeymoon. If you cannot get a direct flight to Curacao from your first departure city, I suggest that you book a direct flight to Aruba and get a local connection from there. There are a few local airlines with plenty of availability. So, if you miss your original connection in Aruba, you will likely get on the next one within an hour or so.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    26
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
157
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I spent the final two nights of our honeymoon here, but wish it had been longer. The suite was simply amazing, the service excellent, and the food and drinks were so good that we didn't even leave the resort. The only drawback is that the location is very removed from anything else and limits your ability to see much else during a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My new wife and I loved the Baoase resort. It is a beautiful place for a recently married couple to relax after the wedding and enjoy the beach, great food, amazing weather and lovely staff. I thought the island was on the up and that it will continue to improve every year. It seems like there is a lot going on.
The hotel itself is wonderful. The lagoon they have created has enough private spots that you feel like the you have the place to yourself and it is extraordinarily well maintained.
As i mentioned the staff are fantastic - young, friendly, energetic and some of the nicest people you could wish to meet. The guests are a good mix of people, some dutch, some from the rest of europe, a few americans. All very friendly though.
Overally I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing and slightly off the beaten track place to go for a romantic break.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms but if just 2 of you get one of the beach front suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I can't wait to go back! Awesome staff!
Beatiful place! The rooms are impecables! It was done with lots of love and heart thinking about the GUEST!
A truly amazing experience!!!!! Way to go Baoase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!'

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We just were wowed by The Baoase Resort. From the delightful management manner, to the exquisite design elements, and a perfect environment for those looking for a quiet exclusive appeal. The food was top notch and beyond our expectations, and we are extremely well traveled world wide. I cannot say enough. Our family will return there without question! It is absolutely unique and ideal for adults, couples, and older children who can appreciate the beauty, the tranquility, the five star plus cuisine, and simply the hands off management style that caters to those that sincerely are independent and know what they like and what they want. Extremely detail oriented as needed.

We shall return!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong whatever you choose to be honest. For families the villas are exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I visited Baoase on our honeymoon. We selected the resort based on previous reviews and a write-up in the NY Times. We were not disappointed – incredible service, great food, and an ideal location. We were thoroughly pleased and would definitely go back when we have the chance! Here are the details …

We booked our stay more than 6 months ahead of time, and the resort contacted us several times to follow-up on billing, get our flight details, and ask us a few questions to personalize our stay. A few days before our trip, we received an email alerting us that we’d been given a free upgrade to a suite (we had reserved their Deluxe Colonial Room). This upgrade was just the first of many examples of great service.

When we arrived at the resort, we were given a tour and then shown to our room. In our room, we were greeted with a welcome gift: a bottle of champagne, two non-alcoholic cocktails, and an array of meats, cheeses, breads, and dips. The suite itself (#3) was gorgeous … a bright open space that was still very private. The suit included several nice touches: 1) An excellent open shower, 2) a huge, very comfortable bed, 3) a flatscreen TV that could be raised and lowered into a storage cabinet at the foot of the bed, 4) a good sized balcony with lounge chairs, table, and hot tub. Like some other reviewers, we had some initial troubles getting the hot tub to heat up to the desired temperature … but we were able to easily fix the issue by powering the hot tub off and then back on again. The housekeeping and turndown service was excellent. The room was made up every morning while we were at breakfast or on the beach. In terms of the turndown service, we returned from dinner every night to find candles lit, the air conditioner turned on, music playing, the bed turned down, and a small box of treats on our pillows.

The resort itself was gorgeous. Everything was very new and well maintained. The Bali-themed decorations and furniture were high quality and brought a nice air of luxury to the resort. Lounge chairs, hammocks, and cabanas surrounded the private beach, providing ample places to sit (we spent most of our time on the Bibi Island, a man-made island that serves as one of the breakers that encloses the private beach). Waiters from the bar and restaurant habitually brought us complimentary pitchers of ice water, fruit, and other small appetizers when we lounged around the beach area. We did not order any drinks from the bar, however (we bought liquor, beer, and wine at the local grocery store, ~3 min walk from the resort), and had drinks in our room / on our balcony instead.

The food at the resort was incredible. We ate breakfast there everyday (included in the price of our room). Each morning we were greeted with an array of breads, meats, cheeses, spreads, and juices. We were also able to order off the breakfast menu, which included well-portioned gourmet dishes. For dinner, we ate three times at the Baoase restaurant. Of the 6 entrees that my wife and I had between us, only one was not very good (a chicken dish, which was overcooked). Of the other 5, 3 were great and the other 2 were absolutely incredible. We shared appetizers every night and once again, only one was somewhat disappointing. In short, having eaten at many top restaurants in New York City, I can confidently say that the food at the Baoase restaurant was top notch and well worth the price.

Finally, my wife and I scheduled several activities through the resort: a sunset cruise with open bar, a couples massage, a snorkeling trip, and a full-day tour of the western part of the island. All were very good and we even received the snorkeling trip as a gift from the resort.

All in all, it was a great stay with exceptional service. I would highly recommend Baoase for honeymoons / anniversaries and even for groups of friends or families looking for somewhere quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My new wife and I have never felt so pampered in our lives. The service here is extraordinarily friendly, and the resort grounds are uncrowded and gorgeous. I had high expectations for this place, and they were definitely fulfilled. A wonderful stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baoase Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baoase Luxury Resort

Address: Winterswijkstraat 2, Willemstad 00000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baoase Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens on the pristine waters of the Caribbean Sea, Baoase Luxury Resort in Curacao, is the ultimate island retreat! Named to the 2010 Hot List by Conde Nast Traveler, and Winner of the 2011 Travelers Choice award from Tripadvisor for Top 10 hotels for Romance in the Caribbean and Mexico, Baoase is an unforgettable experience that promises total relaxation, luxurious comfort, and impeccable service. This stunning brand new resort is surrounded by meandering free form pools, waterfalls, swaying palms and an idyllic private beach. Reflecting the qualities of an elegant home, the residential style villas and suites at Baoase are decorated in a refined Asian style and provide a relaxing ambiance complete with modern amenities. Villas and Suites also offer free connection to wireless internet and all indoor areas are air-conditioned whereas the porch has ceiling fans. Suites feature a spacious balcony/terrace with stunning sea view, each has its private garden with Jacuzzi. The interior design and its facilities are unique. Furthermore they boast a flat screen TV, DVD and Dolby surround system, coffeemaker, mini fridge, and wireless internet. The Master Villa is the Baoase's top accommodation. It comes with views that reach all the way to the buildings of downtown Willemstad, Curacao's capital. The villa also has its own private infinity pool, complete with a "luxury cave" that includes a Jacuzzi, a bar and card table and a relaxation area. Also included in the Master Villa is a chef, butler and the use of a private beach. From water sports to sailing, diving or fishing excursions, your every request will be taken in to consideration to help make your vacation the most memorable. Baoase luxury Resort will surely bring Heaven to Earth. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Baoase Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baoase Luxury Hotel Willemstad
Baoase Luxury Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baoase Luxury Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.