We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the middle of Willemstad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baoase Luxury Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Baoase Luxury Resort to your Saves list
Baoase Luxury Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Winterswijkstraat 2, Willemstad 00000, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 4 Pay 3 Special
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Paradise in the middle of Willemstad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My new wife and I have never felt so pampered in our lives. The service here is extraordinarily friendly, and the resort grounds are uncrowded and gorgeous. I had high expectations for this place, and they were definitely fulfilled. A wonderful stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    30
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
183
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our stay at Baoase Curacao:

My girlfriend and I stayed at this resort 2 weeks ago and upon arrival we were shown to our room which was the Deluxe Colonial Room. We immediately noticed a faint sewage odor coming from the bathroom but, as we were very tired from our trip, closed the bathroom door and went to bed.

However during the night, the sewage stench became worse and unbearable and kept us from having a good night sleep. In the morning, when the front desk was staffed, we immediately informed front desk personel about this negative experience and they moved us to another room, a suite which was fine and up to standard.

However, upon check-out the 1st night in the Deluxe Room was charged to our bill. We protested this upon check-out but the Operational Manager was of the opinion that because they moved us to a suite, which was the only available room by the way, that this was sufficient. He did not hear our complaint in full but yet his decision was made right there and then not to honor our request to remove the 1st night's charge. We told him that we will deal with it in writing which we did upon arrival back home.

Our first email was not answered, to the 2nd email we were promised an answer within 48 hours. After 72 hours, we finally received an answer from the Operations Manager and again our request to take the 1st night of our invoice, was not honored. As a luxury resort, this is not the correct way to deal with clients' complaints. It completely ruined our experience and left a very bad impression in terms of credible complaint handling and the manner in which this resort does business (renting out unfit rooms and charging for them).

The resort itself is average in terms of being dubbed a "luxury resort". Not comparible to other luxury resorts in the Caribbean.

Paul & Maria

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This place was so private and the service was so impeccable, I honestly don't know how they stay in business. During our 8 day stay we felt like we had the resort to ourselves (granted it's the slow season). I've never been in a resort that felt so intimate and yet still managed to provide such high-class amenities. From the reservation process all the way to the farewell send off, our expectations were exceeded. Baoase made our 20th anniversary something we will never forget.

Reservation: Reservation process was as easy as sending an email. Correspondence was always promptly and thoroughly responded to. No question was ever left unanswered. I was quite surprised to receive a brief pre-trip survey about a week prior to check-in. This ensured our stay was exactly what we wanted it to be. The best surprise, however, was getting an email about 5 days prior to our stay letting us know we’d been given a free upgrade from a suite to a villa. This was the first time I had ever been upgraded so far in advance.

Check-in: Check-in was as smooth as you could imagine. Jill took us on a brief tour of the resort and then showed us our villa. They had an unbelievable spread prepared for us. In addition to the welcome drinks, we had a beautiful floral arrangement, a bottle of prosecco and a lovely meat/cheese tray. This was such a welcome sight after a long day of travel. The villa itself was breathtaking.

Our villa: We had Villa 4, which is in the front of the resort and in my opinion one of the most private. Our entrance to the endless pool was in the back corner and for most of our stay no one else appeared to be staying in the other 3 villas that surround the pool. Even when a family did eventually check in to the room next door we rarely heard them and the landscaping provided plenty of privacy on our porch.

Our villa included a master bedroom, 2.5 baths, full kitchen, outdoor seating area, and indoor and outdoor dining areas. We had an indoor shower, an outdoor rain shower as well as a shower by the pool. Instead of a bathtub we had an outdoor mineral pool (water was changed every 2 days). The room also included a CD player with speakers both inside and outside the villa.

Housekeeping was provided daily and they did an excellent job. I will say the “do not disturb” sign did not always keep them away. A few times when we came back from breakfast they were cleaning even though we had put the sign out. They did ask if we wanted them to come back later, but we were happy to sit on the porch and let them finish. If this is something that might bother you, best to say something to the reception area. I’m sure they would take care of it.

Turndown service, which included candles inside and out, music, a small pastry and inspirational quote on the pillow, was provided every night generally between 6-7. If you’ll be in your room at that time just call reception and they can arrange for a later time. The first night, which was our anniversary, they added rose petals in the bedroom. They also appeared to do some light cleaning in the evenings as well, although we were told cleaning was only done once a day.

Dining: Breakfast was included in our rate and it was wonderful. Each morning included an assortment of milk, juices, coffees (warning it’s very strong), prosecco for mimosas, a smoothie, fresh pastries and a small platter of cheese/meats. In addition, there was a full menu to choose from. Highlights of the breakfast menu were the parma ham, egg and brie quesadilla and several varieties of eggs benedict including lobster and salmon. As far as I could tell you could order as much off the menu as you wanted. We often took our pastries back to the room to snack on later as the meal was quite large.

Due to the above-mentioned large breakfast we didn’t eat lunch often. One day we ordered a bread and cheese tray off the lunch menu and it was delicious. There is also a decent grocery store 1 block away from the resort, so you can stock up on snacks and beverages there as well.

For dinner we ate on the beach almost every night. The food was fantastic, although Chef Renee did say he has trouble getting fresh produce and does order a lot of his food from Holland or America. I found the portions to be small, but intensely flavorful and certainly filling. Each night started with a chef’s amuse-bouche which was always interesting. Highlights of the dinner menu where the cream of mushroom soup, the tuna with tempura shrimp and vegetables, carpaccio beef salad and table side steak tartar. We also had 2 excellent fish dishes, brill (with amazing fried risotto cakes) and sea bass done with a tomato compote. I was usually too full to enjoy dessert, but they do make their own ice creams and sorbet and they were wonderful. The wine list is very eclectic (South Africa, France, US, Italy, South America) and has many bottles at a reasonable price point (30-50 USD). They also have several half bottles and well as wines and champagne by the glass. Mixed drinks for top shelf liquor generally ran about $12-$14 and were made well. Also, tap water in Curacao is fine, so no need to have bottled water at dinner unless you prefer it. Just be sure you specify a pitcher of water or you will pay for bottled water.

Amenities: The endless pool was lovely and most days we had it all to ourselves. There is a small cave/tunnel that leads to a spa within the pool (green button on the wall to turn on the bubbles). The beach area is very nice and larger than expected for a resort this size. Lots of private areas and more than enough chairs to accommodate all guests. Beach service includes chairs, towels, water and fruit. Beverages are simply added to your room. The resort wasn’t busy during our stay so we found beach service to be timely. I could imagine on busier days it might get slower, but it’s a quick walk to the bar if you’re in a hurry. To be honest our room was so nice we spent most of the time on the porch and in the pool and didn’t go on the beach nearly as much as expected. Also, bug spray is provided as the mosquitoes can be an issue at night. I actually used Deep Woods Off Botanical lotion. It smells great, isn't greasy and works well. My husband used the spray they provided and said it worked well. I will say the spray for the porch is quite smelly so you'll need to give it time to dissipate.

The best experience we had at the resort was the in-villa cooking. Chef Renee spent nearly 6 hours demonstrating a variety a cooking techniques right in our own kitchen. It was very informal and was more like taking a cooking class where you got to do food and wine pairings. He spoke to us twice before deciding on the menu to see what we were interested in. I definitely got the impression it would be tailored specifically to your desires. For us we wanted more of a cooking lesson. If you wanted a more formal meal I’m sure he would have accommodated that as well. He was incredibly friendly and wonderful to interact with on such a personal level. It was a once in a lifetime experience to spend time with a chef of his caliber.

As far as other services, they were certainly offered to us (there’s a big book of activities you can select from), but we had a rental car and chose to explore the island on our own.

Checkout: Checkout was as easy as you can imagine. We had a bill in our room on the last night. We signed a final invoice when we stopped by reception to drop off our room key. All of the reception staff walked us to our car and waved good-bye as we headed to the airport. One note, on the last night I had mistakenly thought our flight was in the morning and was making arrangements for breakfast. One of the security staff actually caught my mistake and prompted me to re-check our flight times. I was shocked they would be that thorough and they even gave us a late checkout to allow us a leisurely final morning. Now that is going above and beyond.

In summary, this is an amazing resort with wonderful staff who far and away exceeded our expectations. I would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for time away to reconnect with loved ones and enjoy the peace and quite that Curacao has to offer. My only fear is this experience has ruined us for finding future vacation spots. Many thanks to all the staff at Baoase who made our 20th anniversary such an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: If you can afford the villas they are amazing. The rest of the resort is so nice though, any room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We spent 8 days during our honeymoon at Baoase. The friendliness and attentiveness of the staff was the most impressive attribute of the resort. Since the resort is so small the staff gets to know you and gives you very personal attention. My wife and I stayed in ocean front suite # 1. Everything was great from the moment we got there. We were given a tour of the grounds which ended with champagne and a cheese plate in our suite. We had a private deck with a hot tub. The private beach is relaxing, and because the resort is so small, you feel as though you are the only guests there. The staff checked in every so often to make sure we didn't need anything. We had a relaxing couples massage in a cabana on the beach and a private picnic one night on a blanket down by the water. Transportation to the rest of the island wasn't an issue. For between $22 and $35 round trip we went to a sunset cruise, Willemsted, and a number of restaurants.
Pretty much every meal was great and they have an extensive wine list. We had breakfast included which consisted of breads, meats, cheeses, and juices. On top of that we were able to order whatever we wanted off the menu at no charge. I preferred the peanut butter cashew french toast. For dinner you can ask for a cabana or table right on the beach. The executive chef Rene was really friendly and he offered to prepare a special 4 course meal for us.
I would recommend this resort if you are looking to relax, eat some great food, and spend some quality time with your significant other. If you were looking for a good bar scene or some night life you are going to have to go off the resort which isn't too hard to do.

Room Tip: The ocean front suite is close to the ocean but you do not have direct access to the beach and you o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a wonderful week at this lovely resort on the ocean. We swam and snorkeled on the property's lovely beach and had massages in the cabana on the beach. The functional and decorative rooms were very well appointed and we had an enormous outdoor bath tub and shower. The staff was EXTREMELY wonderful, very well trained and very service oriented, as well as being kind and quite cool. The property was quite beautiful with great attention paid to detail and any arrangements one can possibly desire, from a fishing trip to a pedicure to a diving expedition, can be arranged. The only ding was the food. Much of it was too old-school European. As a big foodie, I do wish we had been offered local fish, fresh vegetables and fruits.... but there wasn't much of this anywhere on the island, as, sadly, most everything is shipped in...

Room Tip: The private suites are gorgeous (more expensive, surely) but worth it. The Banyan room was also ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We went on our honeymoon to Curacao and stayed for 3 days in Baoase, in the Banyan Tree Room. Everything in the resort is very luxurious, the staff is super friendly and will help you with anything that you need and a lot of attention is paid to little details that really takes your vacation experience to the next level. It is very peaceful and calm, a real retreat to relax. If you do not like tranquillity, this is not the place for you. The beach area is just lovely, with nice hammock and comfortable beach chairs. Breakfast and dinner are very high quality and taste delicious! We also took an island tour to the Westhoek with Carlos, such a nice and cool guy that will go the extra mile for you.It is an expensive resort but it is money well spent! We would definitely come here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My family and I spent 10 day at the Baoase Resort End of April 2012 in the Banyan Tree Loft Room. We got the good feeling to make the right choice during the reservation process itself by email. As we were not sure if the room and it s access by stairs would be suitable for me, the manager on duty did not hesitate to make pictures for us, so that we could decide whether or not it would be OK or not. At arrival, you really feel to be the only guest everybody has been waiting for since ages as two managers welcome you by opening the car door at arrival at the resort front portal. The room was as described on the internet site. We have loved to enjoy to start the early evening with a drink sitting in the lounge on the covered terrace and feeling the positive energy of the magnficient banyan tree just above us..
Access to the beach, restaurant, the bar and most of the resort areas can be accessed by wheelchair. Furthermore, you always meet some staff member being more than happy to help and make your stay as smooth as possible. The private beach is a paradise and a real peaceful place to spend the day for reading, dreaming or having a swim in a "wavesless" warm sea. This is a place to be for restful, "easy" and very relaxing times in a very confortable environment. My wife and I will come back for sure and will then go for a Ocean View Suite...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baoase Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baoase Luxury Resort

Address: Winterswijkstraat 2, Willemstad 00000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baoase Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens on the pristine waters of the Caribbean Sea, Baoase Luxury Resort in Curacao, is the ultimate island retreat! Named to the 2010 Hot List by Conde Nast Traveler, and Winner of the 2011 Travelers Choice award from Tripadvisor for Top 10 hotels for Romance in the Caribbean and Mexico, Baoase is an unforgettable experience that promises total relaxation, luxurious comfort, and impeccable service. This stunning brand new resort is surrounded by meandering free form pools, waterfalls, swaying palms and an idyllic private beach. Reflecting the qualities of an elegant home, the residential style villas and suites at Baoase are decorated in a refined Asian style and provide a relaxing ambiance complete with modern amenities. Villas and Suites also offer free connection to wireless internet and all indoor areas are air-conditioned whereas the porch has ceiling fans. Suites feature a spacious balcony/terrace with stunning sea view, each has its private garden with Jacuzzi. The interior design and its facilities are unique. Furthermore they boast a flat screen TV, DVD and Dolby surround system, coffeemaker, mini fridge, and wireless internet. The Master Villa is the Baoase's top accommodation. It comes with views that reach all the way to the buildings of downtown Willemstad, Curacao's capital. The villa also has its own private infinity pool, complete with a "luxury cave" that includes a Jacuzzi, a bar and card table and a relaxation area. Also included in the Master Villa is a chef, butler and the use of a private beach. From water sports to sailing, diving or fishing excursions, your every request will be taken in to consideration to help make your vacation the most memorable. Baoase luxury Resort will surely bring Heaven to Earth. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Baoase Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baoase Luxury Hotel Willemstad
Baoase Luxury Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baoase Luxury Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.