We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BonBini” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Bini Seaside Resort

Save Saved
You added Bon Bini Seaside Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bon Bini Seaside Resort
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Bapor Kibra Z/N | P.O. Box 4100, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
north carolina, usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BonBini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at Bon Bini during January 2014. The cottages are very nice, roomy, and it is so wonderful to have a great kitchen, stove, refrigerator, microwave. We had leisurely breakfasts and lunches at "home" watching out for parakeets and tropical birds flying from tree to tree. And colorful iguanas in the grass. (They like lettuce). Grocery stores are easy to get to once you have mastered the street map. The tropical gardens and pool area are lovely. Keep an eye out for flowering Cashew trees - the nuts are not edible but the flower and fruit is interesting. Mango trees all around. The staff is very friendly and helpful; you can pop in and ask them questions and they don't mind. Bon Bini is nicely situated in front of Mambo/Seaquarium-beach, snorkeling is very good, we drifted along the coral sea wall from near the seaquarium back across to the opposite end of Mambo one afternoon (the breeze will carry you along gently). All kinds of colorful fish. I left my raft by the pool if anyonew wants to use it - it's yours! Would love to go back again to BonBini.

Room Tip: We were in 224, very nice, and away from the road. Very quiet and a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I enjoy self-catering holidays on islands which retain their Caribbean charm. We have favorite bungalows on Guadeloupe, Grenada, Tobago and Curacao. When in Curacao we stay at the Bon Bini, a gem of a resort on an exceptional island.

If you enjoy a beach with lots of other Americans, the Marriott, the Hilton, the Seascape or one of the other large hotels is for you. The Bon Bini is different.

The Bon Bini Seaside Resort is a collection of impeccably maintained and appointed bungalows on a hillside across from one of the nicest beaches in the Caribbean. The grounds are filled with trees and bushes which are home to an impressive variety of bird species. Among them are orioles, troupials, bananaquits, warblers, doves, bare-eyed pigeons and Caribbean parakeets. Putting some crushed up crackers or some sugar on the table on your porch will give you an opportunity to see lots of them up close. If you are a bird lover, the Bon Bini is the place for you! There are also iguanas and whiptail lizards, many of the latter sporting beautiful blue-green colors with white spots. Both species like grapes and pieces of bananas. The Bon Bini is a great place for nature lovers.

The bungalows have large, well equipped kitchens. The living room is spacious and comfortable with lots of windows to pick up the prevailing breeze. The bedroom is good sized and has very effective air conditioning. The beds are comfortable.

The Bon Bini furnishes guests with passes to Seaquarium Beach which is directly across the street. The beach has a collection of beach bars and lounge chairs. The snorkeling is exceptionally good and convenient for those who are not strong swimmers. Snorkeling hint: crush up some crackers in a zip-lock bag, and add enough water to turn it to mush. When you squirt some of this out into the water it will bring lots of fish to you.

And the Bon Bini staff is wonderful.

Curacao is a very safe island. I have never had a concern for my safety while on the island. Most mornings I would hike a trail from the Bon Bini to Jan Thiel beach and back - a fairly good hour-long workout that I would not feel safe doing on many other islands. No one has ever asked me for money on Curacao or pushed a souvenir on me.

I highly recommend The Bon Bini for anyone who wants to unwind in a beautiful, natural island environment. I can't wait for our next visit, which will be our sixth stay at the resort.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the portion of the resort near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gangelt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent 3 weeks here in April and had a wonderful time, The bungalows are only 5 minutes walk from Mambo Beach (Tickets are available free of charge in the reception) and 15 minutes from the Sea Aquarium. The accommodation is very spacious, but in our bungalow everything was somewhat tired, they have a rolling refurbishment programme running but it's just a matter of luck whether you get a modernised one or not. The staff are fantastic, friendly and helpful and do their very best to ensure you have a good time, We will be going there again.

Room Tip: If travelling from Europe, find someone who can read Dutch and book through a Dutch website. You wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oirschot, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed at Bon Bini during the first two weeks of November 2011. Although a little dated, the bungalows are very nice. They are very well kept clean as well as the nice tropical garden surrounding the bungalows. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Bon Bine is nicely situated in front of Mambo/Seaquarium-beach. We can recommend Bon Bini,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We recently returned from our first trip to Curacao. We had looked at many options for our stay, including vacation bungalows, villas, and homes. We decided to stay at Bonbini based on a recommendation from a family member who lives and works in Curacao. We had booked the bungalow for 11 nights out of a 12 night stay on the island, they were booked for the last evening but we ended up being able to stay the last night which helped us out a lot.

The booking process was very easy, they were prompt in returning email and all the information they provided was accurate. The price we ended up paying was exactly what we were quoted. We arrived at the resort on Sunday afternoon, the office was closed but the keys were left with the security guard and we had no problems getting in. We were pleasantly surprised with the size and cleanliness of the bungalow, very spartan but had everything that we needed for our stay. There were two mid-sized bedrooms, one with a king size bed (my parents stayed in this room), and another bedroom with two queen size beds for my wife and I and our two young children. Both bedrooms had televisions and bathrooms with showers. The beds were very firm which took some getting used to, if you are looking for a soft bed you will be disappointed. However we found that we had very busy days and had no trouble falling asleep, although we did wake up a little sore in the mornings.

The kitchen was well stocked, there was a coffee maker and toaster, and pots and pans, plates, etc. and cutlery. We ate around half of our meals at the bungalow and it had everything we needed. It would have been nice to have a BBQ for outdoor cooking, but overall it was fine.

The remainder of the bungalow was a sitting area with couch and loveseat, and an eating nook with four chairs. There was also a small table and chairs if you wanted to eat inside. We spent most of our time on the deck enjoying the view of the Caribbean and the great sunsets. There was two lounge chairs and four deck chairs, perfect for our situation. There is also a laundry facility at the resort, worked well for us.

With our two young kids we spent a lot of time either at the beach or at the pool. It is a small vinyl lined pool, great for the kids and the area was very clean. This is not a busy resort so there was never problems with the pool being crowded. The location of this resort is fantastic, just across the road is Mambo Beach, it is busy but nice sand, have to pay for either your lounge chairs or the palapas, but if you go early you can find something fairly easily. Entrance to the beach is included with your bungalow. Great beach for kids, there is a wave break that makes it very calm and safe for the little ones. The weekends were very busy at the beach, we stayed away as we could see by the parking lot that it would be packed. Typical public beach, they want to sell you food and drink and frown on you bringing your own, but no big deal as you could find burgers, etc. at a decent price.

There were a few minor things that were negative about the resort. They had WIFI, but it was very unreliable and I often had trouble connecting, but we were on holidays so it wasn't a big deal.... We also had no hot water for part of the stay, they said they were upgrading, but when we did mention the problem they were quick to get it going again. Also, the office is closed for part of the days and all day on Sunday, but once you know that you can plan accordingly.

Overall for us the positives far outweighed the negatives. This is a no frills resort, but it is clean, the staff are great, and the location is perfect. It is very close to the Sea Aquarium, there are some good local restaurants, and the Breezes Casino is just down the road. If you are looking for a luxurious bed and fancy surroundings, this isn't the resort for you. But if you are looking for a clean, safe place to stay with the basic amenities at a great price, I would recommend Bonbini Seaside Resort. We will certainly consider it for our next trip.

Thanks to all the staff at Bonbini for our stay, we enjoyed it a lot and have tons of great memories!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

Curacao is not the tourist mecca of the Caribbean. It catered to offshore banking and oil while other island built grand hotels.

Curacao lacks the natural sand beachs, instead it got corral, rocks, cliffs, cactus and everything thorny to prick you.

Since Curacao is better than Holland in December the Dutch are happy with it.

The Bon Bini is more of a basic cottage than a resort. For example the pool is vinyl above ground, tenants love the laundry building, and you might get a glimpse of the ocean out your windows. The appliances are old with propane gas. My hot water heater tended to need a restart. The folks in the office were nice, but they seemed to have little experience with "resort" amenities, but they aren't charging resort prices. Many are staying monthly or waiting on work visas, etc.

Plan to drive for food, but there is a grocery store nearby, and some grocery stores will send a shuttle bus to pick you up.

The free passes to Seaquarium Beach across the road are great. This beach has lots of amenities and food, and great parties Saturday night. My wife and kids spent many days are Seaquarium Beach. Topless sunbathing is allowed and usage varies.

My room did have WiFi (US$28/week) from UTS Telecom.

I stayed in other hotels in Curacao and they all suffer from hospitality. Seems happy smiling faces isn't the nature of the Dutch. I was frequently asked if interested in drugs or sex (which is legal) by locals which I wasn't interested in and they usually politely left me alone.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

My 11 year old son and I visited Curacao and stayed at Bon Bini for 7 nights in April, 2008. While I agree with all the previous reviews; ants, needs, updating, TV hard to work, etc. These were all minor issues with the price and location of the facility. It was great to have our own place to cook, etc. We were able to do so much due to staying at Bon Bini.

I felt safe there, and once I realized the office hours, I did plan accordingly,

I would return should my travels take me back to Curacao.

  • Liked — Privacy, location, full kitchen.
  • Disliked — Bugs, no hot water, bungalow needs updating.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bon Bini Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Bini Seaside Resort

Address: Bapor Kibra Z/N | P.O. Box 4100, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bon Bini Seaside Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bon Bini Seaside Resort you will experience the ultimate tropical vacation. Relax in your cottage while you're enjoying the view of sky-blue sea or the tropical gardens. The near the Caribbean sea located Bon Bini Seaside Resort is quiet, atmospheric and accessible for everyone. The resort consists of 28 spacious cottages and each with a cozy interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bon Bini Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Bini Seaside Hotel Willemstad
Bon Bini Seaside Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Bini Seaside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.