We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trupial Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Trupial Inn to your Saves list
Trupial Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Groot Davelaarweg 5, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Willemstad
Willemstad, null, Netherlands Antilles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We tried out this hotel since we were looking for a central place to stay due to early morning appointment and we nailed it with this hotel. Stayed here in June for 2 nights and it exceeded my expectations. Nice updated room, clean, beautiful garden and a quiet pool.
And the price was amazingly convenient.
I would really recommend this place to others.
Oh yeah, and it has free Wifi!

Room Tip: Try out the pool in the afternoon. You'll have it for your own since it's not used by many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    51
    14
    6
    11
See reviews for
27
25
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

It is in a good neighbourhood. On walking distance you have zuikertuin and bloempot mall. The hotel is nice, lovely rooms. In the morning you can hear birds, which i liked alot. They have a cozy spot with dim lights and a red sofa, romantic you can say. They have this not so big but still cool pool with swimmingpool bar. The casino is not really attractive. The staff is friendly and yes i would come here again with pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Don't know why all the bad reviews.....great place, good service, great bar. Yes, no really hot shower, but so what, was sun burned anyway. Casino, was a little Janky, but everything was great!
Did not eat here, but food looked good. Great pizza oven, cold Amstel Bright.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

For some research my daughter and i went to this hotel. It is a bit far from Punda and Otrabanda. There is a shuttle that can bring you to the centre of Willemstad. But it is only 2 times a day. In the morning at 08.30 and you have to make a reservation for it at the desk. And at 13.30. It can pick you up at 13.30 In Punda or at 16.30. There is no shuttle to the beach, and this is really a bit far. Public transport is horrible in curacao. The staff from the hotel is very helpfull and the room is clean. Only no hot water to shower, glad the temp outside is warm so it is not a big deal. The cleaning is also good. THe coffee maker is small but will do. There is also a refridgerator. But what is missing was the plates and knifes. So bring them for yourself if you have a regulair home. The car hire at the reception is ok. They only bad thing about this hotel is the huge amount of mosquito's. It is not soo strange because there are plants everywhere.
The pool is small but nice. The restaurant has a small cart but is good enough. Only the pasta was not our favorite. You can also order from the restaurant and they will bring it to your room. Breakfast is good but a bit expensive for what you get. Overall i would certainly go back, because this hotel is also located near the ring from willemstad, and therefore enough parking space and the possibility to go out. And the AH grocery is not far from the hotel. (not walking)

Room Tip: we had room 13 but there are a lot of mosquito's. this one was close to the parking place . But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I travel for a living with my job and this was a work trip. My stay was from Nov 11 to Dec 11. As such I do not expect many luxuries. However I do expect a certain level of service and cleanliness. The bed is very firm and if you like firm mattress then this is a minor issue. There is no breakfast in the hotel that is worth the price they charge. I am aware this is an island and as such all food is imported, however due to the over priced menu for what was given I found it easier to just eat at the local McDonald's. The location of the hotel is central and for a work stay it is in a good location for this specific job however for any leisurely stay I would not recommend this hotel. It is a 15-20 min drive to the beach, there is claim to have a shuttle but it is not a shuttle, instead it is a bus that leaves in the morning and returns at night.

Major down sides
• Restaurant prices are overpriced for the quantity and quality of food provided.
• Cockroaches found in general area in room and two in my bed.
• Mosquitos are an issue inside rooms and outside.
• Showers in various rooms do not drain properly leaving for standing water.
• Service is slow when responding to a room issue
• Service is unhelpful when finally responding and are sometimes condescending.
• No beach access
• No fitness center
• Limited outlets in rooms, no outlets near bed

Upsides
• Centrally located next to a mall and a pharmacy.
• 20-30 min drive to the airport
• Rooms are spacious

Room Tip: Some rooms are lower (elevation) than others. the ones that you have to step down to seem to be more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very poor and staff is unwilling to assist. No electrical outlets by the bed - so you cannot sit in bed with a device plugged in. Restaurant is full of flies - mosquitos in the room... pillows are flat

Room Tip: Very poor and staff is unwilling to assist. No electrical outlets by the bed - so you cannot sit in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights during a business trip.
The rooms are recently renovated and functional.

Bathroom with large shower but no hot water unfortunately, just barely lukewarm.
Clean towels every day. (could get replaced by newer towels, some are a bit greyish)
Sleeping comfort was good; good quality matrass, quiet, air conditioning in good position.
Too small and filthy hairdryer. The cleaning lady should take the dust of things as well!!!
Services: free WIFI in room and outside
Daily cleaning was sufficient.

Service front desk:
One morning, when it was raining for hours, I called reception and asked for an umbrella. They told me they would bring it over as soon as it would stop raining or I could come get it myself….????? What's the use of an umbrella when the rain has stopped or when I'm already wet because I have to come get it myself??? It illustrates the working mentality in Curacao unfortunately.

I asked them to arrange check in at the airport for me and print the boarding pass. Instead of taking care of this for me they offered me their desk and computer to do it myself, which I appreciated but I'm used that the front desk takes care of this for me.

There was major construction going on outside (pool bar and restaurant) but this didn't bother me to much because I was away most of the time. If it would be my holiday destination I would be very unhappy with this. The pool is too small and there are no sunscreens.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
1.8 mi away
The Ritz Studios
The Ritz Studios
#12 of 29 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
2.0 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
2.0 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#4 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Plaza Hotel Curacao
#23 of 29 in Willemstad
3.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
#24 of 29 in Willemstad
3.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
4.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trupial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trupial Inn

Address: Groot Davelaarweg 5, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trupial Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Trupial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trupial Hotel Willemstad
Trupial Inn Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trupial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.