We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oase van rust” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trupial Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Trupial Inn to your Saves list
Trupial Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Groot Davelaarweg 5, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“oase van rust”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

For some research my daughter and i went to this hotel. It is a bit far from Punda and Otrabanda. There is a shuttle that can bring you to the centre of Willemstad. But it is only 2 times a day. In the morning at 08.30 and you have to make a reservation for it at the desk. And at 13.30. It can pick you up at 13.30 In Punda or at 16.30. There is no shuttle to the beach, and this is really a bit far. Public transport is horrible in curacao. The staff from the hotel is very helpfull and the room is clean. Only no hot water to shower, glad the temp outside is warm so it is not a big deal. The cleaning is also good. THe coffee maker is small but will do. There is also a refridgerator. But what is missing was the plates and knifes. So bring them for yourself if you have a regulair home. The car hire at the reception is ok. They only bad thing about this hotel is the huge amount of mosquito's. It is not soo strange because there are plants everywhere.
The pool is small but nice. The restaurant has a small cart but is good enough. Only the pasta was not our favorite. You can also order from the restaurant and they will bring it to your room. Breakfast is good but a bit expensive for what you get. Overall i would certainly go back, because this hotel is also located near the ring from willemstad, and therefore enough parking space and the possibility to go out. And the AH grocery is not far from the hotel. (not walking)

Room Tip: we had room 13 but there are a lot of mosquito's. this one was close to the parking place . But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    38
    13
    6
    10
See reviews for
24
18
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I travel for a living with my job and this was a work trip. My stay was from Nov 11 to Dec 11. As such I do not expect many luxuries. However I do expect a certain level of service and cleanliness. The bed is very firm and if you like firm mattress then this is a minor issue. There is no breakfast in the hotel that is worth the price they charge. I am aware this is an island and as such all food is imported, however due to the over priced menu for what was given I found it easier to just eat at the local McDonald's. The location of the hotel is central and for a work stay it is in a good location for this specific job however for any leisurely stay I would not recommend this hotel. It is a 15-20 min drive to the beach, there is claim to have a shuttle but it is not a shuttle, instead it is a bus that leaves in the morning and returns at night.

Major down sides
• Restaurant prices are overpriced for the quantity and quality of food provided.
• Cockroaches found in general area in room and two in my bed.
• Mosquitos are an issue inside rooms and outside.
• Showers in various rooms do not drain properly leaving for standing water.
• Service is slow when responding to a room issue
• Service is unhelpful when finally responding and are sometimes condescending.
• No beach access
• No fitness center
• Limited outlets in rooms, no outlets near bed

Upsides
• Centrally located next to a mall and a pharmacy.
• 20-30 min drive to the airport
• Rooms are spacious

Room Tip: Some rooms are lower (elevation) than others. the ones that you have to step down to seem to be more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very poor and staff is unwilling to assist. No electrical outlets by the bed - so you cannot sit in bed with a device plugged in. Restaurant is full of flies - mosquitos in the room... pillows are flat

Room Tip: Very poor and staff is unwilling to assist. No electrical outlets by the bed - so you cannot sit in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights during a business trip.
The rooms are recently renovated and functional.

Bathroom with large shower but no hot water unfortunately, just barely lukewarm.
Clean towels every day. (could get replaced by newer towels, some are a bit greyish)
Sleeping comfort was good; good quality matrass, quiet, air conditioning in good position.
Too small and filthy hairdryer. The cleaning lady should take the dust of things as well!!!
Services: free WIFI in room and outside
Daily cleaning was sufficient.

Service front desk:
One morning, when it was raining for hours, I called reception and asked for an umbrella. They told me they would bring it over as soon as it would stop raining or I could come get it myself….????? What's the use of an umbrella when the rain has stopped or when I'm already wet because I have to come get it myself??? It illustrates the working mentality in Curacao unfortunately.

I asked them to arrange check in at the airport for me and print the boarding pass. Instead of taking care of this for me they offered me their desk and computer to do it myself, which I appreciated but I'm used that the front desk takes care of this for me.

There was major construction going on outside (pool bar and restaurant) but this didn't bother me to much because I was away most of the time. If it would be my holiday destination I would be very unhappy with this. The pool is too small and there are no sunscreens.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Booked through travel agency for 1 week. First thing, when i checked in they charge me the whole stay, they did not give an invoice. Because of my type of job i had to check out 2 days early, so i gave reception the appropriate advise. To my surprise they told me they do not refund money to reservations booked made by travel agency. Had to speak to the manager which did not do anything to help me out because hotel policy. Very unprofessional staff...limited restaurant offering.first time and last time staying in that Hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

we stayed there in late september 2013, the entrance and restaurant were still under construction. and the restaurant had a very limited menu, the food wasnt the best anyway
nice swimming pool. Colorful deck chairs outside each room but the mosquitoes spoil it by constantly biting and swarming around you.
Bed was very comfortable but overall the room could have been better presented
the toilet was blocked four out of the seven days we stayed, at one point the shower drain overflowed and flooded out into the room
Front desk staff are friendly and helpful. maintenance or up keeping of the rooms is inadequate.
there is a daily shuttle bus into the town which is quite a distance away from the hotel
locally there is a few restaurants with tony roma being the best of these within walking distance

In all honesty if i return to curacao i would seek accomodation elsewhere as there is better to be had at the price

Room Tip: try to get rooms in the 30's the 70's seem to have worse mosquitoes and drainage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

When we were there in August, the entrance and restaurant were under construction. The ground is well maintained. It has a very nice swimming pool. Colorful deck chairs outside each room are cute and pleasant. Beds are very comfortable (4 stars). Front desk staffs are friendly and helpful.
There are some not so good things. Given that the rooms were renovated within the last 2-3 years, maintenance or up keeping of the rooms is inadequate. The tile grout and caulking around the shower stall are dirty (brown and black). There are also stains on the wall in front of the sink (not too pleasant to look at when brushing teeth). Two stars for the bathroom. The housekeeping staffs never smile or say good morning. In fact when the cleaning person found out that we were in our room (around 11 am), instead of saying that she would come back, she wanted to come in to clean the room. With all the renovation, this hotel has potential, if the management can do a better job in its up keeping.
By the way, it is helpful to rent a GPS. Although the hotel is conveniently located east of Punda (10 minutes drive), it is not that easy to find. Curacao has NO signs for street names. Google map would not help at all when you don't know what street you are on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trupial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trupial Inn

Address: Groot Davelaarweg 5, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trupial Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Trupial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trupial Hotel Willemstad
Trupial Inn Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trupial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.