We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trupial Inn

Save Saved
You added Trupial Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trupial Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Groot Davelaarweg 5, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 27 hotels in Willemstad
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Trupial Inn was a decent hotel to stay in Curaçao. For the price I have no major complaints. The grounds were beautiful and the pool was nice. The main complaint we had was the room service was a little slow and we had a small spider problem. Dispute all that we would stay again at this hotel. Isaac messed up our travel plans, but the hotel staff kept our room, even though we were a day late. That says a lot for the customer service. Plus, the area the hotel was located was very nice. The fact that it was in a residential area did not bother us, it actually added to the charm. Plus, the hotel is centrally located so we could get around the hotel with no drama.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    33
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
18
16
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Trupial Inn is a good hotel for those travellers who do not feel the need to stay at the beach and like to be flexible in their choices. You can be at the beach in 15 minutes and in town in 10.

With shops around the corner and the circular road just a few meters away, you can easily stay here for a longer period of time. Rooms with cooking facilities are availible and every room has aircon plus a good shower, flatscreen TV, coffe maker, fridge, ironing board and safe. The pool is great for kids. The bar and restaurant are up market. I avoided the casino. Not my thing.

I enjoyed the clean rooms and modern facilities. There was ample parking space. The family with kids next to my room enjoyed the place as well. The pool was great for the kids and the staff is very kid friendly. I would take my family there for sure.

As a business hotel Trupial Inn is a real winner. Affordable and central.

Next time I go, I will see to it Trupial is booked again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Nicolas, Aruba
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I recently stayed at Trupial Inn, it's still in the renovation and construction phase, but nonetheless the rooms are nice and cozy and very modern decor. The gardens a beautiful tropical paradise. The whole place has been modernized and has this cool metro look. Cozy couches. There are shuttles to and from Punda twice a day. I would definitely go back. Btw heavenly beds!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

First and most importantly: Forget the pictures on tripadvisor! The Trupial Inn was flooded in November 2011 and has been update to a more modern decor. The Jimmy Buffet Caribbean charm in the bar and restaurant is now a more metro look with cool blue lighting under the bar and sleek couchs around. The restaurant is also sleekly designed. Honestly, I was disappointed since I was thinking more casual caribbean than modern but hey, be flexible.
The restaurant had good food and Irene, the food and beverage director played hostess the night we were there. She was very helpful and knowledgable about the island and the hotel. There were three of us and we had coconut shrimp, chicken souflaki, and the red snapper special, respectively. Snapper was the best but all dishes could have done with a little less cooking time or less time under a warmer as they were a bit dry. Side salads were well done and fresh. Spinach mash potatoes, a local dish were better at the Old Market downtown. Free glass of wine with each entree was a nice touch.
The rooms are same theme, modern and well done. Flat screens and our room had two very large beds. I swear they were kings or at least a "real" Quinn ( vs the "hotel queen" which is something between a full and a queen). A/C worked fine but like many hotels seemed to push less cool air in the middle of the night.
Location is totally the opposite side of Willemstad than the Marriott (see my other review). I found the service at Trupial Inn superior to the Marriott. Front desk reception and our time in the restaurant were far more pleasant experiences. I think the staff may actually like their jobs. At least they smile. The bar provided a small plate of appetizers and bug spray. Gotta love that!

Room Tip: They have front porch area with two adirondack chairs and a table. Nice but mosquitoes will eat you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012 via mobile

we are very satisfied. rooms are new_renovated.clean.very clean.green area.palms. flowers.birds. great hotel_bungalows.a bit far to punda and beach. the best option is to rent a car to see the island. if not the hotel offers free shuttle service to the beach and the city_everyday. simply love it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

After the flooding the whole place has been updated quite nicely. At arrival however it was not indicated where the reception was located, luckily some other quests told me. I didn't really feel welcome at the reception and after having dinner (which was quite good) I couldn't book the food on the room. Also I couldn't pay with card and they couldn't change cash; the staff was not really in the mood for helping me and it was more my problem than theirs.

The breakfast was very limited, very little choice, bread still cold from the freezer, no butter and an extreme lot of flies. For 15 dollars you can have a very complete breakfast in one of the many restaurants in town.

For me the last time that I will visit it

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I was rather desperate in getting a last-minute deal and my travel agent recommended this hotel/ resort in the urban area of Willemstad. I booked a Deluxe room for two persons for 7 nights.
The entrance and many other parts of the resort are still under construction as the area got flooded more than a year ago and ever since a lot of work has been put into rebuilding the resort. And the owner can be proud of the results so far: it all looks pretty new and fresh.
Housing on the resort consists of small blocks of four rooms (all on ground floor level) and all have a small veranda on the front. The room itself consists of a queen size bed, large tv set with plenty of channels, a shower and toilet and a separate sink (why not placed in the shower?) and a microwave, refrigerator and water cooker. Cleaning services were ok, but apparently not according to a regular check list (complimentary teabags and coffee was not restocked, floor cleaning not on a regular basis).
As I had breakfast included in my deal I got to have my breakfast at the restaurant area. A nice mix of continental breakfast and a local touch (all kinds of chicken dishes). In general the breakfast buffet is ok, but don't expect any surprises. Personnel could be more service-oriented. Service with a smile so to say. The smile was missing at times. It seemed work, not a passion to serve the customers.
I soon found out that the resort is also frequently used by airline personnel. And since the resort wasn't fully booked there was little way to avoid their conversations about work and work-related issues.
The shuttle services provided by the hotel to the city centre and the beach (Seaquarium beach) was ok.
In the near vicinity there are plenty of bars and restaurants (Japanese, Indonesian, Chinese) if you want to skip the rather expensive hotel restaurant. Zuikertuintje and Bloempot shopping malls provide for some shopping (hi-end shopping) and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trupial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trupial Inn

Address: Groot Davelaarweg 5, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trupial Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Trupial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trupial Hotel Willemstad
Trupial Inn Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trupial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.