We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs room renovation - coming soon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino to your Saves list
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   John F Kennedy Boulevard, Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking Special
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
Michigan
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Needs room renovation - coming soon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Stayed one week in March. The rooms need renovation and we were able to tour the recently completed demo room, which was fantastic. They are supposed to be completed next year but on island time, who knows if that will happen. The location, value and cleanliness were great. The food was average at best and the service was spotty, even by island standards. The bar staff weren't that happy to serve you and while we had a couple of good servers generally the wait staff were not very attentive. The service we received at the downtown marriott was far superior.
The overall facilites were good and the location was excellent. The linens are updated but the furniture in the rooms is 30-years old. Our bad actually collapsed during our stay and the staff did show up promptly to put it back together. If you can get past the average food or don't set your expectations too high in that area then you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    730
    200
    81
    50
See reviews for
420
939
58
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

The hotel is beautiful and at a great location. We had an oceanfront room with virtually private huts just steps from the room. We had taken advantage of a promotional 40% discount so it was quite a bargain. Some have said that the rooms need updating, but who cares. They are clean, well kept and more than adequate. After all, you are only in the room to shower and sleep. The buffet breakfest at Portofino was excellent and reasonably priced at $16.50 per, plus tax & tip. We did not have dinner at the hotel at all, preferring to explore local restaurants. We had done Aruba for 25 years + and were pleased by the lack of para-sails, bannana boats, booze busses, shopping malls and hassles in getting a hut and towels, etc., plus the overall friendliness of the staff. The greatest part for me was the fantastic snorkeling just 50-75 yards off the beach right in front of the hotel, plus the many other snorkeling spots all along the coast close by. Curacao is a vibrant, friendly island, pretty much what Aruba was 15-20 years ago.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this resort in early February of 2010 and we loved it. The pool is amazing and the beach is gorgeous. We loved that the dive shop was on site and we rented snorkeling equipment and my husband went diving three times. The Board Room Beach Bar has happy hour and it's the most amazing spot to watch the sunset. I loved having a swim-up bar also, whether I was getting a cappuccino or a frozen mojito the staff was always very attentive. Tijan (goes by T.J.) is incredibly helpful and would always come over, shake our hands and ask if we needed anything. He can usually be found at the bar by the pool and he is a real asset to the resort. The food was great (the nachos and Mexican night were our personal favorites). Our room was always very clean and the toiletries were always well stocked. If you don't want to splurge on a big breakfast in the Portofino restaurant, you can grab a quick coffee and a bagel in the Voila delicatessan. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

We stayed at the hotel with friends. Staff is excellent. Facility rating of 3.5 stars is spot on. Rooms are a bit smaller than one would like with perhaps a need for some new furniture. The setting of the lobby, pool, and beach areas is very well done. The staff is uniformly friendly and helpful. The pool and beach lounge chairs (plastic) need to be relegated to the beach. Marriott - c'mon, buy some real lounge chairs with cushions. The dive center at the end of the beach area is convenient with a very friendly staff. All in all, a great value for the money with uniformly good service and quality. I would also recommend they change the bar configuration as no one uses the inside bar. The girls said the spa was an embarrassment. They walked to the one at the Hilton next door. There's a new Hyatt opening on the island in April, farther out of town to the east in Spanish Waters. As a side note, don't miss going to Asia de Cuba for Friday or Saturday dancing, great bands and a great scene. Also, Mambo's at the beach east of town, especially Hemenway's at the eastern end has a great setting and live Latin music. Golf at Blue Bay, the course is beat with poor upkeep, perhaps two or three great holes; I'm sure the new Hyatt course will be the one to play.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

There are not a lot of American type resorts in Curacao and this one is on a great spit of beach. Sunsets are just beautiful - especially during happy hour. If you like snorkeling and/or diving there are an endless number of places all around the island. Snorkeling off the beach of the Marriott was decent - it's a series of breakwater boulder walls that are getting populated with some coral and a diversity of fish. We drove a lot of the island and it remineded me of parts of Texas - very dry, with scrub brush and lots of cactus. The resorts are kept tropical by lots of sprinklers...

We paid $55 to rent a car for 24 hours. This seemed expensive, but we checked on-line and prices were the same. The rental was at the hotel so we did not have to travel anywhere and drove the car to the airport to depart.

The hotel rooms are dated and we heard Marriott only leases the property and is trying to sell the hotel which may explain the lack of room renovation. Grounds are beautiful and well kept. Casino, just for those of you intertested, is lame and lots of broken slot machines (we tried to play while killing time waiting for a shuttle). We saw the Renaissance casino when we popped in to use their restroom in Willemstad Punta and it is much nicer.

Food is decent. Don't expect to find haute cuisine on a Dutch Island and you'll be fine. Breakfast buffet had a great selection of food.

We had one really bad meal after reading many reviews to go to "Hooks" restaurant. My friend's fish of the day was dry and my shrimp tasted, well, old - for lack of a better term. I stopped eating after two, and thankfully did not get food poisoning. The waitress saw neither of us ate, but asked her obligatory "How was your meal?" We politely responded, but got the full bill anyway. This happened to me once years ago in the Bahamas Sheraton resort and the waitress comped us the meals we could not eat. We left her a massive tip. But my advice is to go to Hooks to drink maybe, but not to eat seafood. Side note:out front of the restaurant there was a large amount of smelly standing water that was either from the kitchen or bathrooms. In my mind I want it to be the kitchen.

If you are in a ground floor room and experience mosquitoes, ask to move to 3rd floor. This worked for us.

If you are going to relax and snorkel, this is a nice place. Just remember it is a Caribbean island and the hotel is not at the level of the "big city Marriott" standards. I am not sure I would go again, but we had a nice time.

P.S. - Fodor's is wrong in their guide - THERE IS NO FREE WIFI. You must may $15 per day for in room service and then you get "free wifi" in lobby.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

We stayed at Marriott Beach Resort in Curaçao and we loved the place. The atmosfere was very nice, friendly staff, good food , great breakfast.
Had a Great Time and Definitely Recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

This was our first trip to the island. We choose this hotel since it was a Marriott. Overall the experience was great. This trip was wonderful! The only things that I really have much to comment on with regards to the hotel would be the prices for drinks, shuttle service and the food at the hotel. Our room was great, the maid service was awesome (they left us a nice note each day) and the overall experience was great. We would definatly go back to this.

Cons-

Drinks are VERY expensive there. Soft drinks are all bottles and can so you pay per drink even when the fill a plastic cup with 1/2 the bottle or can. We went to a local supermarket and bought our own.

Breakfast Buffett- The meat (bacon, sausage) was barely cooked most days. We were afraid to eat it for fear of getting sick. You only get tea or coffee with the breakfast, soft drinks are not included and they don't tell you this!

Shuttle- The shuttle to town only goes 2 times a day. 9AM and 2PM. We ended up taking the taxi most days becaue the shuttle options were to limited. We did rent a car for two days to sight see on the island and we did not have any trouble finding parking in town.

Rooms-There were no refridgerators in the room

Beach-The beach directly behind the beach is rocky.

Pros-
Pool was big and very clean and nice - a few more umbrellas would be nice

Rooms were comfortable- Maid service was awesome, they left us a nice note every day!

Breakfast Buffett- They has a good variety of food to offer including made to order eggs and omlets.

Location-It was reasonabily close to town, cab rides were short and easy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Address: John F Kennedy Boulevard, Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Bay Casino are located directly on a private beach in Willemstad, Curacao. Spend your days basking in the sun at our resort pool or beach, or experiencing all history and adventure Curacao has to offer through our on site Tour and Car Rental desk. Once the sunsets, you will experience amazing dining by sea at our beachfront restaurant Seabreeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Hotel Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort And Emerald Casino
Marriott Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Hotel Emerald
Marriott Curacao
Willemstad Marriott
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.