We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with certain shortcomings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino to your Saves list
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   John F Kennedy Boulevard | Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th nt free & $50 daily
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel with certain shortcomings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel has its own private beach, a great pool and very confortable rooms. Staff is great and always willing to help and give their best. One thing that was not so good was that sometimes people at the beach are a little bit loud (loud music) and staff did nothing to keep the noise level down. Another thing that bothered me was that since there was a corporate convention they closed part of the pool for an event, leaving a small part of it open for other guests. Finally, forget about late checkout. They gladly offer you access to the fitness center and other facilites but you must checkout by 11am.

Room Tip: ask for rooms in the third level. Mine was in the first level and since many people use it for getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    823
    224
    88
    54
See reviews for
483
1,059
60
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and stayed at the Marriott Beach Resort in April 2014. The hotel grounds are very nice and well maintained and the service level is exceptional. Breakfast buffet was included and never failed to impress with delicious variety. We had several meals at the bar around lunch time and the food and drinks were consistently good. We had a steak dinner once at night at the beach restaurant. Though the view and the service were excellent, the food was quite disappointing. We opted to go to Willemstad for all our other dinners and had good experiences. The hotel is a short cab ride from Willemstad which was very nice.

The beach was a bit rocky (when you get in the water) and the water a bit rough, but the walk on the beach was very beautiful.

At night, there was nice music in the lobby and casino area where you can get some drinks and relax.

Wifi was also good throughout most of the resort.

All in all, I definitely recommend this hotel. I would avoid eating dinners there given that Willemstad is so close by. You would get much more variety and choice there.

General comments about Curacao, nice people, but it's a bit pricey overall for all the activities and restaurants. Also, Curacao is always windy as we were told by locals. I was amazed that most people speak four languages!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo R, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 3 days ago
It is a great inspiration for us to know you have really enjoyed your stay overall and experienced our resort. Please accept our apologies for not being able to deliver to your food and beverage expectations. We are reviewing our restaurants concepts, menus and execution. Changes will be made addressing your feedback. I hope you consider coming back to our destination and continue with your discovery of Curacao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samoens, France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I am glad we left our cruise early to discover curaçao,the Marriot beach resort a total pleasure to stay at,from all the staff to the roomy reception area ,a great beach a beautiful pool,choice of restaurants we tried them all just wonderful.
Enrico luise the executive chef totally took my breath away with the best lobster that I have ever tasted in my sixty year life & I owe him an apology for doubting his culinary abilities ,a humbling experience to talk to him .
Our room was perfect we had a room that over looked the pool and the beach from our balcony .
I advise beach shoes as I found it more comfortable to walk into the water with them,the water line had some stone and coral at times , water was as warm as the wind just lovely
We took a taxi and visited the Hato cave and then we went on to see the wild flamingoes on the lake all free and not in captivity,
The town is only about 7 km away , use the free shuttle or take a taxi for 15 $

Room Tip: It's quitter away from the pool,if you want total silence but the pool looks so nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo R, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review; it is indeed a great inspiration for all of us to know you have really enjoyed your stay; used all of our restaurants and was pleased with Chef Enrico’s cooking skills. We are passionate for what we do every day and your comments are indeed the drive to keep us improving. It is a blessing to have great memories and be able to share with you loved ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing , great resort ,superb staff, excellent rooms. Hats off to all staff and management. special thank you to Yvette (fantastic) also Kenneth,jeanine,anabells,perth,nagel,wberth
Also verny,sonaily,Thom

All of these people need a great praise from their dedicated service

Room Tip: We had 1st floor - infront of ocean or sea fantastic- no bugs walk right out to water- beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo R, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Amazing comments!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you. We are thrilled to know you have enjoyed every minute of your days in Curacao and our staff was able to exceed your expectations. Yvette, Kenneth, Jeanine, Anabelle, Perth, Nagel, Wberth, Verny, Sonaily and Thom will be very happy to know they have touched your hearts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I just got back from the Marriott in Curacao. The week long stay was fantastic. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. Rooms are clean but a bit dated. Beds and pillows are very comfortable.
But it was the staff and their "your stay is important to us " commitment that is so impressive. I wish I could remember all the names of all the great staff there. If your around the pool area, look for Delroy, he will take great care of any questions or needs you have. At the main floor lounge, talk to Edsol, he will go out of his way to make you want to come back. He even had the chiefs come out and do up a custom meal for our group of 5. Yes the meal was top shelf too.
There is a morning and afternoon shuttle to get you in and out of Willemstad.
There resort was 95% full when we were there, and you would never know it. Felt half full actually.
The Yellow tour desk is another story. Let's just say, there is lots of room for improvement.
If you are there for snorkeling, go see Tom at the resort dive shop. It will save you a lot of money over dealing with Yellow tours. We did not and paid the price. We never thought to talk to the dive shop about snorkeling. We also thought the resort would have recommended him when we chatted about snorkeling.
In my opinion they need to remove yellow tours and take that in house. The caliber of the staff between the resort and Yellow tour is drastic.
If you looking for a nice vacation, in a place not everyone has been to. This is the island and resort for you.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo R, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 3 days ago
I was so thrilled to read your review; and confirm our staff is engaged going the extra mile to please our guests. I will share your review and thank the entire team for a job well done especially Delroy and Edsol were stars. Please accept our apologies for not being pleased with Yellow tours. I will contact them and share your feedback. Thanks again for visiting our destination and for staying at our resort. I am glad we have given you good memories to be shared with your loved ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We quite enjoyed our stay!
We went All-Inclusive for a week in April 2015. It was definitely a good idea if you want to really enjoy your stay. We read so many reviews of everyone squealing about prices and trying to nickel and dime their way through the stay.. just really can’t be bothered! AI was definitely the way to go. It was well worth it for us and we just had normal breakfast, lunch and dinner and some drinks while at the beach, nothing over extravagant and it was well worth it.
One thing is that it would be nice if menus did change for those on AI as otherwise it is the same every meal. It is also odd sometimes the items they don’t have; the hotel seems to leave items on menus they have not had in some time Eg Mahi Mahi . It would be nice If the servers would tell you up front before you decide what you want and then they have to announce they don’t have it. This also would be a nice reason for the hotel to have a menu that changes day to day or at least a few different items above and beyond the regular menu each day. The only specialty night menu we did was the Beach BBQ. The hotel wrote Beach BBQ Bash or something similar. This was a let down as we assumed it would be like most resorts in the Caribbean where tables are along the beach and you get sand on your feet and the BBQ is out there with music and torches are lit and it is kind of fun. Theirs was just sit by the same Seabreeze bar and pick of a menu and the food was actually the only disappointing meal of the week. Surprised at that one. Breakfast is typical buffet items and nice they give you a decanter of coffee and one also with hot water for tea. Enjoyed that.

Others commented on the speed of service at restaurants - it was hit and miss for us. Honestly, when on vacation we really don't mind slow at all because we are just relaxing on the beach otherwise anyway ...but we would mention that when you ask for a beer for lunch and there are 6 staff standing in the bar area talking and in the meantime your salads come and you finish the salad and still no beverage
..and the and staff are still talking and laughing ...that is a bit ridiculous. Other than a few incidents like that actually the service we found very nice. Especially at Portofino. Their menu also ran out of items we originally selected on 2 of the 5 nights we ate there.

Note that the hotel and likely Curacao don't seem to know what recycling is...let alone do it. Even the beer bottles go in the trash. If you have an insulated mug to use...it would cut down on trash on the island.

We always wish smokers would not throw their butts in the sand on the beach. They take forever to degrade...and it isn’t fair to the people who rake the beach because the butts are too small to get picked up. Maybe solution is for hotel to provide ashtrays on beach?

Snorkelling really fun! LOTS to look at. We didn't understand why some said not good and others good in reviews before we came here. Put it this way - if you can swim and know what you are doing…the snorkelling will entertain you for some time (see pics attached). Really enjoyed. And we have been to many islands and snorkeled many places and it is decent here. Variety of fish species is amazing. Sadly saw lion fish too. One can also snorkel down the cliff area by the Hilton. Interesting too. Nice too but more life exists in front of Marriott.
The beach was nice and we really enjoyed the swimming (never went in pool) and hot weather!

One layout of the hotel we found a bit strange was that there are only bathrooms back near the lobby for the whole pool and beach section. One would think they would have some washrooms closer to the beach. I would suggest this to hotel management.

The wifi is so handy. Fast & works lobby and pool and beach areas. There is even free wifi in the main city if you take the shuttle to the Willemstad area with the hotel (provided by the Curacao gov’t). We did this one morning (2 shuttles run/day) and really liked walking around. The movable, Queen Emma Bridge opened and closed when we were there so it was quite interesting to see.

The number of palapas on the beach is great since they added more. Hotel seems very clean in general.

The fitness center is nice for the Caribbean. Aside from equipment, it has change rooms and hot tub and sauna lockers and towels...which you can also use after you check out on day of departure.
Regarding electrical outlets, it would be nice if there were more electrical outlets that fit N. American electronics. There was only one in our room and none in the fitness center at all.

One item we noticed was the amount of cleaning that went on in general areas of the resort daily. We thought that the resort was very clean and staff worked hard to keep it that way - and it shows. Very nice!

We definitely enjoyed our stay; actually liked it more than we thought we would. We would return and recommend the place, but would surely go on All-Inclusive again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo R, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your great review; we are pleased to know you have a fantastic vacation and the All Inclusive package was a way to go. Please accept our apologies for not being able to deliver a consistent service in our restaurants and bars. We are reviewing the food concepts in each outlet, menus to make sure our guests will have variety and will not be bored. Your observations have been shared with our operations team and improvement will be made. Thanks again for being very detailed in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were greeted with a local beer and juice for the kids and they had our room keys all ready so no need to go up to the check in counter! We had a beautiful view from our ocean front room. As many have noted the beaches are a tad rocky but the water is clear and a beautiful blue. Stunning sunsets while enjoying happy hour. The breakfast buffet was very good with the omelet station and fresh fruit. We had numerous meals at the Emerald Lounge where the food and service was the best! Iwan was extremely friendly and gave us numerous tips of enjoying the island. Everyone is complaining about the service charge (15% on everything) and we were told by a waiter that it IS a shared tip for the servers (but only given out 2x a year). As a platinum member, the WIFI was free and the range reached all the way to the beach! A fabulous vacation!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo R, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your great review; we are pleased to know you have a fantastic vacation. Thank you for your loyalty with Marriott; we were honored to serve you. Every country has different systems when dealing with service charge distribution. Some have them included, some not, some increases the percentage based on number of guests per table. Our hotel is unique; the existing system was created prior to Marriott and we were not able to change that. The associates have decided to receive the distribution twice a year. Look forward to have you back in Curacao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Address: John F Kennedy Boulevard | Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Bay Casino are located directly on a private beach in Willemstad, Curacao. Spend your days basking in the sun at our resort pool or beach, or experiencing all history and adventure Curacao has to offer through our on site Tour and Car Rental desk. Once the sunsets, you will experience amazing dining by sea at our beachfront restaurant Seabreeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Hotel Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort And Emerald Casino
Marriott Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Hotel Emerald
Marriott Curacao
Willemstad Marriott
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.