We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in paradise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino to your Saves list
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   John F Kennedy Boulevard | Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% with VISA
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing in paradise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Hotel was beautiful but rooms are a bit dated. We had a lovely room beachfront, which we would recommend doing. Very diverse crowd, mixture of Dutch, Venezuelan, and American tourists. Lots of honeymooners! Hotel was advertised as a great family vacation, however, we spoke to many families with small children and they didn't agree. Service was excellent, very friendly island! Restaurants were ok, but there are plenty of local places to eat on the island, which we would recommend doing. Nice beach, but no water activities on site. Great pool with swim up bar. Worth renting a car a couple of days to explore the island. You can rent at the hotel. Cab rides to the city are a 15 minute ride and we recommend spending some time in Willemsted as well as Punda for lunch/dinner. Overall a very relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: Choose beachfront with a balcony! We upgraded to a beachfront suite halfway through our stay and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koen H, Director of Operations at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear 1NANA1,
When you close your eyes around our pool and beach area and just listen, you can indeed hear so many languages, varying from dutch, german, english, spanish, portuguese and our off course our native papiamentu.
We love catering to the needs of guests from all corners of the world and this is what makes Curacao also a great destination. It offers something for everyone.
We are happy to have contributed to your relaxation and vacation experience and hope to see you back soon.
Regards,
Koen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    888
    246
    95
    55
See reviews for
526
1,152
64
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our week long stay at the Marriott. We did our research beforehand and knew we wanted to stay at a hotel with a good beach (and read that the rooms were dated). We LOVED this resort. Yes, the rooms are dated (but extremely clean) but the beach, pool and facilities make up for the rooms (at least for us it did). The snorkeling right at the Marriott is really great and having the dive shop next door is convenient. The beach is a little bit rocky in certain areas, but there are spots to walk in that are sandy. The cafe has great coffee and breakfast sandwiches if you don't want to do the breakfast buffet and we went to Centrum, the local supermarket to stock up on breakfast items and snacks and beer for the beach. The staff are all very friendly and accommodating. The restaurants are all good and each of the bars have a happy hour at different times each day. As other reviewers have noted, cabs are very costly, so I would recommend renting a car. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and we are looking forward to returning next summer!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koen H, Director of Operations at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Banks821,
It's always summer here, so we cannot wait to welcome you back to Curacao soon!
You shared some great tips and I am happy to hear you enjoyed the on site food and beverage options.
Our rooms are dated but it is our mission to keep them super clean and in great working order. Thank you for choosing Curacao as your vacation destination.
Please email me at koen.hietbrink@marriott.com if I can assist arranging a return stay.
Te oro! (See you soon)
Koen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

In planning a trip to Curacao, we debated quite a bit between staying at the Marriott or the neighboring Hilton. After combing through reviews, we chose the Marriott - and upon our arrival in Curacao, I am grateful for this decision. While our stay at the Marriott was good, it could have been much better. The property very much needs an upgrade; it looks quite dated and not nearly as "high end" as it appears in photographs - in particular, the rooms desperately need updating. And while there were some truly wonderful staff members, overall, we found the staff at the hotel to be rather cold/unfriendly. I'd also suggest Marriott offer more diverse dining options on-site at the hotel; the options can be rather limiting. Lastly, it may not be a realistic suggestion, but this hotel would greatly benefit from an adults only pool - the amount of children at the pool (and the accompanying noise) greatly took away from the relaxing feel of being on vacation. Overall - we loved Curacao, but would probably consider other hotel options if we returned to the island.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koen H, Director of Operations at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Jennifer,
Thank you for choosing the Marriott for your recent vacation.
I appreciate you sharing the opportunities for us to work on to make the good, great!
I know we have great associates that love their job but obviously consistency in service will be the key to our success.
I have shared your feedback on menu variety with our F&B team. We do have specials on every day of the week, ranging from our BBQ night, Lobster night, Meatlovers night, Mussels night and we are very excited about our Burger Bar we just opened during lunch at the pool area.
I hope to be able to update you on the plans we have for the future; there are a lot of excitement changes upcoming.
If you have any other questions or concerns, Jennifer, please feel free to always email me at koen.hietbrink@marriott.com
I look forward to the opportunity to host you again and show you the great experience I know we are capable of delivering.
Regards,
Koen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

If you choose to go to Curacao you will not have to much time to spend in the room. We had a room with sea view, being upgraded because we were in our honeymoon. The view was amazing, yet, as everyone else were saying, the rooms are outdated.
Any room shortcoming you'll have will be balanced by the great hospitality of everyone you'll meet on the island, from hotel staff to locals all around the island. Great beach, excellent restaurants and beautiful landscapes. Don't miss Kleine Curacao, outstanding wild beach!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koen H, Director of Operations at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Andrei,
I think it is so amazing you found this little piece of paradise and travelled to see us all the way from Romania.
Congratulations on your honeymoon and thank you for making us part of this once in a lifetime experience.
From what I read I have a feeling that you will be visiting our region again Andrei.
If I can assist in any way, please feel free to contact me directly at koen.hietbrink@marriott.com
Regards,
Koen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

It was my first time in Curacao, and I loved it. The service and front desk were excellent. Ms. Nadisha Suarez, at the front desk was very friendly and helpful, she made me feel at home. I enjoyed the live music, every evening at the main lobby and the staff were all friendly. Location was close to the airport and minutes away from the downtown shopping área. I will definitley come back and stay here next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouellaB5, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Christopher P,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. Of course I am thrilled that you enjoyed the service you received from the team. I can assure you that Nadisha will be recognized for her efforts in making your stay memorable. Our location is indeed " the best of both worlds" as we are centrally located close to Down Town and close to the airport.
I look forward to personally welcoming you back next year.
Sunny Regards,
Louella Brezovar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The property gives you an amazing feel as you pull into the drop off area. The lush landscaping goes right into a lobby welcoming area any hotel would be proud of. The view when you walk up the short stairs of the beautiful blue water is incredible. You are soon greeted by a very warm and friendly staff. They were all smiles and very helpful throughout our visit. Nice touch with the welcome drink (beer for us) when you check in. As we continue looking around we couldn't help but think we made the right choice.

This however changed a bit once we reached the room. We were given an upgraded room (to Garden View) which had a nice view of the hot tub overlooking the ocean. That is where the good ended with the room. The room was dated as said in other reviews. This was expected and not a surprise. What was a surprise was the cleanliness of the room. There were stains all over the carpet, coffee table, curtains, ceiling and shower curtain. The ceiling was dirty around the ac vent and looked like an area of neglect. The coffee table had a large grey stain by the coffee pot which ran onto the floor, it was dry but should have been seen.

The linens were clean and inviting though. We didn't bring it up to the staff as we were only there for a short stay and didn't spend much time in the room.

The staff is absolutely great though. We arrived back a little late one night and were all hungry. The front desk said that everything was unfortunately closed but he quickly said to give him a minute and proceeded to open the gift/coffee shop and allowed us to purchase some pre-made sandwiches.

The grounds do make up for the room short comings though as long as you are like us and plan on being outside enjoying them.

Room Tip: Public wifi is free if you can access the lobby wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouellaB5, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear aray213,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am very happy to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations and greeted you warmly upon arrival and treated you so well during your entire stay. I appreciate your candid feedback about the rooms. I can assure you that we continue to address these opportunities and are hoping to be able to announce some other exciting room upgrades in the near future as well. I look forward to personally being able to welcome you back in the future.
Sunny Regards,
Louella Brezovar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We booked this resort for a great rate and the photos looked good. We had previously stayed at the Santa Barbara Beach Resort but wanted to be closer to Willemstad. The resort itself is ok but the rooms are icky (see photos). The room was very outdated, our patio looked to a fence with one lawn chair and one banquet chair and the bathroom was not great. To upgrade was over $100 more a night so we moved to the Santa Barbara Resort which we know is great! The whole place needs a deep clean and fresh paint. Also odd that chairs in rooms, restaurants, etc never match! However, the reason we stayed a few days was the GREAT customer service. Every person we met was delightful, helpful and fun! From the front desk, to bars to the bell staff... Amazing!! With a little facelift, this could be a great place!
The beach and pool areas are beautiful!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouellaB5, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear EHennMN,
Thank you for taking the time to write your candid review. I am very happy that you experienced GREAT customer service and that our team was delightful, helpful and fun. We aim to exceed our guests' expectations with our service.
We are indeed in discussions about a full room renovation and hope to have exciting updates to share in the near future. Once completed we hope to be able to welcome you back to experience the total package.
Sunny Regards,
Louella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
3.0 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#4 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
#3 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
2.9 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
4.1 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 29 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Curacao
Hilton Curacao
#17 of 29 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Address: John F Kennedy Boulevard | Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Bay Casino are located directly on a private beach in Willemstad, Curacao. Spend your days basking in the sun at our resort pool or beach, or experiencing all history and adventure Curacao has to offer through our on site Tour and Car Rental desk. Once the sunsets, you will experience amazing dining by sea at our beachfront restaurant Seabreeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Hotel Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort And Emerald Casino
Marriott Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Hotel Emerald
Marriott Curacao
Willemstad Marriott
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.