We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent hotel with beautiful beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino to your Saves list
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   John F Kennedy Boulevard, Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking Special
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
Brasilia, DF
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excelent hotel with beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I loved the hotel. The area is so good,the privative beach is so beautiful(blue ocean with colorful fishes) and the employees are so educated. The hotel has good restaurantes but the prices of food are too expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms in front at the beach are too expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouellaB5, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Cristiane M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am very happy that you loved our hotel and our staff and hope to welcome you back very soon.
Warm Regards,
Louella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    719
    199
    80
    50
See reviews for
411
929
57
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Loved the open air lobby and restaurants. Hotel had a small resort feel even though it was large. No crowds, and plenty of space on the beach. Rooms were fine, but could use some updating. Staff were fabulous...US Air lost our luggage in Aruba and we would not have been able to locate it with out the staff's help. Beach was a little rough although we couldn't tell if it was the norm or due to weather. Not much within walking distance, but for a 2-3 day stay there is no reason to leave. Taxi into town was cheap enough. "Concierge" was useless, but is more of an excursion/car rental service. Front desk staff more than made up for the concierge desk's short comings (actually...the front desk was functionally the concierge). Comfortable beds, quiet rooms, free wifi in common areas, passable TV reception. Would gladly go back.

Room Tip: Ocean view and Garden view had...the same view. Save a few $$ and get garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouellaB5, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Him-and-her19335,
We appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback. I am thilled that you enjoyed your vacation in paradise and of course I am very happy that the staff was able to assist you in retrieving your luggage for you from the airlines. Should you wish to elaborate more on your "Concierge" comment than I would definitely welcome that feedback at "louella.brezovar@marriott.com".
I would also gladly welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Louella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our stay was fantastic and personalized. Our arrival was greeted with a birthday serenade, they knew we were celebrating my birthday, and prepared the room with balloons and flowers.
We stayed on property like an "all incisive", so got to know the staff pretty well. Lysandy served us at the Board Room and Luxe as well, made sure we were well quenched. Raysa kept our chamber well stocked with water and fresh towels. Meals were delightful with Yvette, & Lilly in the Protofino Restaurant. Monica served the perfect Romantic Dinner with Fabian's assist, all with our feet in the sand! Night caps were with Sunny at the swim up bar. Wonderful, wonderful!!!! Thank you

Room Tip: The Garden Room is great with Partial ocean view and private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koen H, Director of Operations at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Dezinergal,
Congratulations again with you birthday. We enjoyed the celebration just as much as you did, as we truly love the opportunity to organize and throw parties.
I am so happy many of our team members stood out for you and I will ensure to thank them all for their great efforts making your special vacation even better.
I look forward seeing you next year so we can throw you another party.
See you soon.
Regards,
Koen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is the 5th year in a row we have stayed here. I must say the service improves each year. The lobby is beautiful. The actual property is in a good location, nice private beach and big pool. 20 minute drive from the airport, 10 minutes to the city and 10 minute drive to Centrum grocery store. The pool does get crowded and seats can be limited. The rooms are dated and do need updating, a 90s look. We had a great room location, ocean and pool view, a corner room. Food is expensive as are the drinks, typical for a beach resort. We like the dive shop on the property, Caribbean Sea Sports (a separate review). Voila deli is convenient for coffee, snacks. Gelato, and quick breakfast. We enjoy staying here each year. We will plan returning next year.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floors with private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouellaB5, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear PA nVegas,
Thank you so much for your loyalty to our resort. We truly appreciate your business and hope to keep welcoming you back for many many more years to come. I am thrilled that you feel the service is getting better each passing year. it is a key focal point for us. Without our guests we would not be here. Please stay pending for some updates aobut our hotel. We are hoping to be able to announce some "upgrades" soon.
I will be waiting for you on your next trip to Curacao.
Sunny Regards,
Louella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We recently stayed at the Marriott and were blown away by the friendliness of the staff and our experience overall. Upon arrival we were greeted by Terrence and Quincey who helped us immensely during our trip, offering recommendations and ideas which turned into amazing experiences. We were checked in by Aldrin who was very friendly and even offered us a drink as a welcome!

We dined a couple of times at the Emerald lounge and received outstanding service from Edsel as well as Portofino for breakfast where we were taken care of by Rudsel. Sandly, a bartender at the pool and The Boardroom pointed us toward one of our best excursions of the trip.

The only downside we had during our 7 days was some very slow service at Portofino one evening for dinner. Overall our time in Curacao was amazing and we owe a lot of that to the staff at the Marriott for their hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouellaB5, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Dave V,
It is thrilling to read your review. I am so proud of the team and the fact that they were able to "blow you away" with their service. Terrence, Quincy, Aldrin, Rudsel, Edsel and Sandly will be recognized for providng you with the amazing service you described in your review. It is always our goal to exceed the expectations of our customers. I look forward to welcoming you back personally to the Curacao Marriott in the near future.
Sunny Regards,
Louella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The resort is beautiful and well-kept. The staff is friendly and pays attention to details to make the stay comfortable and pleasurable. A lovely gesture is the complimentary cool drink when checking in. I was a little disappointed with the Portofino restaurant staff (arrogant) and quality of the food (that is also overpriced.) I love swimming in the sea and this was difficult due to the current, high waves and rocks in the water. Overall, however, it was a very positive stay at the Curacao Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouellaB5, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Herman JSF,
Thank you so much for your review. I am very happy that your stay overall was a positive one. I was a bit distressed to read about your Portofino experience and I can assure you that I will personally follow up on this feedback. It is always our intention to exceed the expectations of our customers.
Kindly note that for the last 3 days we had a bulldozer doing significant work on our beach to address the rocks and re-distribute the sand for the comfort of our guests. Mother Nature tends to move things around on our beach throughout the year (wind, water etc) and each year during this time we give her a hand and "re-arrange' things to accomodate our guests.
I appreciate the time you took to share your feedback and look forward to personally welcoming you back to Paradise in the near future.
Sunny Regards,
Louella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

After returning from our 12 day vacation to Curacao, I can't wait to return! From check in to our last lunch before leaving we were always treated like we were the only ones at the resort. The costumer service is superior! Aldrin at checkin made sure we had a room that suited our needs, Prisca checked in daily to make sure we were having the best experience. One afternoon I was hungry and asked for BLT, Prisca personally went to kitchen with my request and delivered it to me on the beach, she was always smiling and offering anything we needed. During our daily visits to the Board Room on the beach we met Monique, the bartender, who gives service with a smile a new standard. She always offered new drink ideas and made special shakes for our son. One day Monique brought us mangos from her own tree at home. The personal service at the Marriott Resort and Emerald Casino is something that will bring me back time and time again. Lelieth, at the Portifino restaurant, had so much energy and enthusiasm, it made you feel like you were right at home with family eating around your own table. The food at the resort is not top of the line cuisine, and a bit pricey for what you get, but it was good. One afternoon my husband broke his sun glasses and needed super glue for a quick repair. Ranada at the front desk brought in a new bottle of super glue when she started her shift that day. Ranada saved the day!
Curacao is a safe island, but to add to that sense of security, the guard Kurtly was always there with a friendly smile and great conversation about the island.
In my review I gave the hotel property a 4 out of 5 because it is a bit dated but extremely clean. The hotel itself really needs to be updated, but the superior customer service outshines the fact that the resort rooms need updating. I hope when I return there will be some improvements to the rooms. The property itself is very lush and well maintained even though the island itself is very dry and dessert like.
As far as going off the resort, again it is a very safe island, but it is expensive to take a taxi 30$ round trip. My husband was charged 50$ to go to the Ostrich farm which was not worth it at all. The beach at the resort is private and very quiet, unlike the pool that is beautiful, but can get a bit loud with all the kids. At one time the pool had to be shut down due to a "diaper" accident. Aside from that the pool and beach are both beautiful places to relax or have an adventure. Snorkeling right at the hotel reef makes it easy for the entire family to enjoy!
I can't wait to return to paradise!

Room Tip: ocean front suite room 384- quieter with outstanding views- ocean and palm trees right out all windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouellaB5, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Fun 43,
Let me start by saying that I really like your TripAdvisor name. Life is all about working hard and then really having FUN. I appreciate the time you took to write the detailed review and am very happy that your 12 days with us were such a success. Needless to say I am thrilled to read that Aldrin, Prisca, Monique, Lelieth, Renata and Kurtly were so helpful during your stay. Please be assured that they will be recognized for all their efforts in making your stay so memorable. We cannot wait to welcome you and your family back to paradise again very soon!
Sunny regards,
Louella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Address: John F Kennedy Boulevard, Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Bay Casino are located directly on a private beach in Willemstad, Curacao. Spend your days basking in the sun at our resort pool or beach, or experiencing all history and adventure Curacao has to offer through our on site Tour and Car Rental desk. Once the sunsets, you will experience amazing dining by sea at our beachfront restaurant Seabreeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Hotel Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort And Emerald Casino
Marriott Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Hotel Emerald
Marriott Curacao
Willemstad Marriott
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.