We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Relaxing Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino to your Saves list
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   John F Kennedy Boulevard, Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Willemstad
Grayson, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Most Relaxing Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Flying into this Country was amazing, the colors of the water are truly beautiful. The airport was extremely easy to maneuver through. The Hotel lobby is all outdoors which overlooks the pool , and ocean.( Truly breathtaking.) The hotel staff were extremely nice and utmost helpful on suggestions of places to see. Renatta at the front desk and Monique at the board room bar on the beach not only suggested places to go but helped with reservations, and inquired after on if we enjoyed the places we visited.
We rented a car for one day and felt very comfortable driving, this was we were able to experience more than just the hotel , (taxis are a bit pricy. )
Great diving/snorkeling the fish are amazing in the crystal clear water. The beach area/ ocean is Rocky so bring some water shoes :)
One of the things I kept saying was how nice and happy people seemed to be on the island.
If your looking for total relaxation this is the place to go!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear TravelingTess68 ~

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your great review and the favorable comments about our great location, friendly staff and breathtaking water views of our turquoise blue ocean.

Hope you come back soon,

Best regards

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    705
    197
    77
    48
See reviews for
397
902
54
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I just spent six days at this location. We chose to stay at the Marriott since it was centrally located to all the snorkeling beaches in the island. The guest services are impeccable and the staff is caring and friendly. The public areas make you feel you are in paradise. Great snorkeling right off their beach, relaxing beach, beautiful pool area. However, the guest rooms and bathrooms do need updating. We had an ocean view room. The room and the bathroom were spacious and comfortable, but they showed wear-and-tear with a 1990's Holiday Inn vibe.
On our first night there, we dined in Portofino Restaurant. Perhaps since it's off season they did not have their best menu but we found the food to be standard large hotel chain fare.
Regarding location, it is an easy shot from the airport and centrally located to go snorkeling around the island. But, even though it is only a 5-10 minute drive from Willemstad, there are few restaurant choices around the Piscadera Bay area. Definitely rent a car.

Room Tip: Ocean view or ocean front since the other rooms face the gardens or parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear FredMiami ~
Thank you for your positive feedback about our staff and great snorkeling. As you mentioned we have a great location and one of the best beaches in Curacao with a natural coral reef that is ideal for great diving and snorkeling right from our beach.

Thank you for staying with us

Best regards

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Had a great week at this great resort. From the food to the staff I would recommend this hotel to family and friends. The pool is overlooking the ocean with and amazing view. I especially would like to recognize the engineering team( Andy Santana, sherman Janze, and Haydy Obispo for making the my stay enjoyable. Thanks,

Alex Rogers

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky S, Marketing Coordinator at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Alex R,

Thank you for your positive review!

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you recommend our resort to others. It is great to read your very kind comments about our engineering team. I can assure your review will be shared with them all!

Thank you once more and hopefully we can welcome you back soon!

Nicky Spijkerman
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently returned from 5 nights at the Marriott Curacao and were very pleased with our stay. We often stay at Ritz Carltons in the Caribbean using Marriott points, and chose the Curacao Marriott because we were looking for a better value. We were not disappointed!

Rooms: As other reviews have mentioned, the rooms are a bit dated, but our ocean view room was clean, spacious, and in good condition. It had all the amenities you would expect (safe, iron, sizable mini-fridge for beverages and food if you are looking to stock up and save a few dollars). My only gripe was a very minor one, that the chairs on our balcony appeared to be old conference room chairs and we had no table on the balcony. There is not free wifi in the rooms, but there is free wifi in the lobby in all of the public areas of the resort, which is where we spent most of our time so this was no big deal.

Resort: The resort is as beautiful as the pictures suggest and the property is in good condition. We enjoyed the infinity pool and since there is no buffer between the pool and the beach (we assumed they do not need to worry about storm surges being outside the hurricane belt) you can sit by or in the pool and still enjoy the view and the sound of the waves. When we were there is was very windy, so we appreciated that the beach has umbrella huts and the pool umbrellas are drilled into the ground--no jockeying to get an umbrella that would then fall over or blow away. I intended to take advantage of a spa service but did not end up doing so. Location is convenient just 10 minutes from the airport or to downtown Willemstad.

Food: Sufficient variety and quality average to above average, so we only left the resort once to eat. Coming from a big city, and having traveled abroad and to resorts frequently, we found the prices for food and drink to be highly reasonable for a beach resort (though good to be aware of the service charges and taxes that will be included on your bill). We preferred Portofino for dinner at Seabreeze poolside for lunch. We appreciated that the Voila delicatessen provided an alternative for a light breakfast or snack, as well as coffee, bottled water, beer, and wine, all at reasonable prices--you are not stuck with an expensive breakfast buffet.

Service: Friendly and fast across the board! When we travel abroad we are used to service being slower than in the US. Don't expect "island time" here, drinks and food arrive quickly and we had no trouble with checking in/out and getting a taxi. We did have a slight glitch at checkout when my husbands Marriott credit card would not swipe on the card reader and they were not able to enter the number manually so that we could earn points, but that was not a big deal and the staff were highly apologetic nonetheless.

Finally, the resort seems to attract travelers from different countries, and a mix of singles, couples, and families. You won't feel out of place in any case. Overall, this was a really great value and we would recommend for a relaxing trip.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear 042581 ~
Thank you for your great comments about our rooms, food and beverage and attentive staff, we are glad that you experienced not just a good service but also fast and diligent.

We are happy to see also that you think it was a great value and lots of quality and we hope that you come back soon to visit us.

Thank you

Best regards,

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Had a wonderful week here and so pleased I chose this resort. The staff could not have been more friendly and genuine. They make the resort so special. We were even greeted with a cake in celebration of an event we were there for.

Be sure to ask for "Lilli" to be your server at the Portofino. You won't be disappointed.

Food at Portofino and Emerald has been the best resort food I've had of the 12 islands I've visited. Consistent and delicious. Not so true with Seabreeze. Must be a different chef because quality can't compare. Others agreed.

While rooms are not what I would consider luxurious they were clean and comfortable. We had an ocean view beachfront - room 301.

I agree with other reviewers, bring sea shoes because there is a ridge of coral rocks at edge of sea. But it certainly didn't detract from the beauty of diving into the stunning water.

The only negative I would propose about this hotel is the spa area. For a resort destination I was sorely disappointed. It's no more than two rooms off the fitness room with a dungeon like atmosphere. My daughter and I would have indulged in services had it been a tranquil, beautiful spa one would expect of Marriott on a Caribbean island. Other guests mentioned this as well. I think they are missing an income source!

But overall the highest praise I can give is that I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear TSperry ~
Thank you for such a positive feedback about our hotel, I will congratulate our Italian executive chef Enrico Luise about your positive experience in our food and beverage outlets.

We agree with you in regards our spa experience, We call it a fitness center because we don’t want to mislead calling it a Spa but at the same time we try to offer a health club with all the services and facilities that our guests require in order to keep their routine.

Once again thank you for your favorable comments; we look forward to welcome you one more time.

Best regards

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Curacao Marriott. Location was wonderful, just a 5-10 minute drive to down town. The hotel was beautiful! Everyone was very nice and helpful. Prisca was very friendly and even planned an entire day for our family of 5. The rooms were clean and much to my surprise I had a view of the ocean even though I only paid for a garden view. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Huse23 ~

Thank you for your great review about our hotel, we appreciate your favorable feedback and we hope you come back soon.

Best regards

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We used marriott's property for the day when visiting the island. The beaches and water were pristine. The property was perfect as well, would def stay here when we return. The hotel is also walking distance to many restaurants and shops, great location overall!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear JDM210 ~

Thank you for your great review, we hope you can stay with us for a full stay and enjoy our white sandy beach, great bars and restaurants and the hospitality and attention of our friendly staff.

Thank you

Best Regards

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Address: John F Kennedy Boulevard, Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Bay Casino are located directly on a private beach in Willemstad, Curacao. Spend your days basking in the sun at our resort pool or beach, or experiencing all history and adventure Curacao has to offer through our on site Tour and Car Rental desk. Once the sunsets, you will experience amazing dining by sea at our beachfront restaurant Seabreeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Hotel Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort And Emerald Casino
Marriott Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Hotel Emerald
Marriott Curacao
Willemstad Marriott
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.