We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Save Saved
You added Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   John F Kennedy Boulevard, Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off in Paradise
Ranked #5 of 27 hotels in Willemstad
Florida, New York
1 review
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The stay was great. We had a few problems but the front desk handled them professionally. Best hotel on the island. What made it awesome was the bartenders at emerald lounge especially Nadim! You need to stop by and see him.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear ceduda12 ~
Thank you for your great comments about Nadim, will give personally thanks for making your experience when visiting us great.

I will contact you on a separate mail to learn more about your overall stay and what we can improve or correct any issue for the enjoyment of future guests.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your feedback.

Best regards

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,788 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    815
    666
    186
    74
    47
See reviews for
380
844
49
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a rocky start to our vacation but the bartenders at the Emerald Lounge were beyond fantastic!! Nadim is so awesome and made our stay so much more enjoyable!! Make sure you stop by there for a drink!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Kelli_Duda ~

Thank you for your great feedback about our hotel and our service at Emerald Lounge where you can enjoy great food, drinks and the best ambiance.

I will contact you on a separate mail to learn more about your overall stay and what we can improve or do better in regards arrival of our guests to the resort.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your feedback.

Best regards

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint Maarten
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here while on a recent business trip. Comfortable room, decent size. Balcony, in-room coffee maker and enough onsite entertainment /restaurant options for a short stay. Did i mention there was world cup soccer on every tv set in the lobby area - perfect if you want to keep up with the games! Free wifi in lobby, in-room there is a charge. Maid service was good; the maid that took care of my room left short hand-written notes behind each day. This added a nice little personal touch in a relatively large hotel.
The only issue i had with the room was there were limited 110volt power outlets in the room. I counted one that was empty. The majority of the outlets were 220volt.

Well worth the stay though!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Perohla ~

Thank you for your great comments about the resort and our housekeeping staff that goes the extra mile to personalize each guest stay.

We appreciate your feedback in regards the 110/220V in the room and rest sure we will give candid feedback to our team of maintenance and engineering.

Thank you for staying with us.

Best regards

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There may be better places to stay in Curacao for food and luxury, but the customer service here is such a standout that this would definitely be our choice on a return trip. From the evening we arrived, we felt as if we had been assigned a special team to take care of us. On the second night, we sat on the pool deck overlooking the ocean. When I walked across the deck to the Seabreeze Restaurant to order dinner, Martes, the waiter, told me they didn’t serve food where we were sitting. I said I would come get it myself. He then insisted on bringing it, and continued to wait on us for the rest of the evening. The next night, we ate at the Seabreeze again, this time at a table on the deck overlooking the beach. After ordering drinks and dinner, we waited an hour and 15 minutes. Drinks came, but no dinner. Our waitress kept telling us it was coming, but it didn’t. Finally, in frustration, we went to the bar and threw ourselves on Martes’ mercy. He and our waitress quickly discovered the glitch that the order had not made it to the kitchen. We had our dinner within 5 minutes and were not charged for it. Martes kept an eye on us for the rest of the week and flew to meet our needs. Word circulated among the management/supervisor team. During our entire stay, we had VIP treatment wherever we went in the hotel—Simone at the front desk, food supervisor Prisca, bellman Terrence, supervisor Greg, waitpeople Martes and Vanessa—you are all truly amazing and should be recognized for the quality of your service. The food, while not great, was very good, with a few exceptions. On meat lover’s night, I had the best baby back ribs I’ve ever eaten. We also had a very delicious dinner at Portofino (another of the Marriott restaurants). Jessica, the dessert chef, makes flan and key lime pie that should not be missed. As for the room itself, the towels are tired and need to be replaced. The beds are very comfortable with delicious, silky bedding. Leave your soap and shampoo home. Marriott has top-notch products and is generous with them. Our towel service was uneven (on various days, no face cloths, hand towels or bathmat), but a quick phone call brought us two days of towels in minutes. The room was clean, and housekeeping seemed to know when we were leaving. No matter how long we were out, the room was done up when we got back. Overall, I have to give this Marriott 5 stars because of the customer service. There’s very little that can go wrong in a hotel that good service can’t make better. One suggestion, however, is that there is a dire need for more umbrellas and palapas (straw umbrella huts). The sun is too strong to be on the beach without an umbrella. People claim them early, and there aren’t nearly enough to go around. Please fix this. The trade winds are a blessing, but they make for rough surf all the time. This doesn’t affect the excellent snorkeling, however, as there is no undertow. The swim to the reef and back is easy.

Room Tip: We did an American Airlines package. Got a great price but no view. We expected this, however, and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear JGandCG ~

Thank you for your fabulous comments about our friendly and attentive staff, we agree 100 with you anybody can sell a bed and food but the difficult side of the equation is to sell genuine and professional, attentive customer service and that's exactly one of our mission every day at this beautiful resort.

Thank you and hope to see you soon

Best regards

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I just came back from a cruise in the Caribbean. One of our ports was Curacao. We decided to purchase DAY PASSES to the Marriott Beach Resort! BEST DEAL EVER! $25 per person - cheaper and more relaxing than ANY EXCURSION offered by the cruise line. It was amazingly breathtaking and we had access to everything. Pools, beach, swim up bar, spa - you name it. The staff were so polite and helpful we fell in love with the resort. Aldrin and Odette at the front desk went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. JO (the hotel shuttle operator) even took us back to the port when we HAD TO LEAVE! We will definitely be back to stay for awhile. The beach and amenities are TOP NOTCH!

Room Tip: We took taxi from port to resort - about 10 minutes away at most. $15 total
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sherry H ~
Thank you for your quick stop at our resort, we are glad to see that in just one day you became one of our fans! I will encourage you to take a look at our Facebook page where you can find relevant and updated information about our facilities.

Hope to welcome you in a future complete stay.

Best regards

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There are countless resorts on any number of islands in the Caribbean that have decent rooms and a nice beach. What sets the Curacao Marriott appart is their people. The staff is phenominal here. They were friendly, welcoming, extreemly accommodating of our special circumstances (honeymoon and gluten-free diet (Thanks Chef Nico, you rock!)).
Prisca at the poolside bar/restaurant (Sea Breeze) and Nadim, Ryan and Carlos at the sports bar (Emerald Lounge) became friends over the course of our 9 day stay. I can't speak highly enough of their level of service, friendliness, and fun that they added to our trip.

This was my second time staying at this particular resort and I can't wait for the third. The resort grounds and restaurants are very well designed and decorated. Everything looks great. The food was awesome and drinks even better. The rooms are standard fare for this price point, but we were told that new ownership was going to be fully renovating them.

Curacao itself has great public and private beaches on the west side. Jaanchies restaurant in the northern tip of the island is a must! The food is super fresh and very good, but the atmosphere of the place is out of this world. My wife and I loved it. There are an outrageous amount of stores and shops in Otrobanda and Punda, if you like that sort of thing. My favorite was the diving with Caribbean Sea Sports. They have their base of operations on the beach right in between Marriott and Hilton. Their staff is also great and the house reef is beautiful and full of life (you can snorkel this as well). Mushroom Forest had more coral formations but the life was more spread out.

I can't wait to come back and bit my friends again. Thank you for an amazing experience!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Justin O ~

We appreciate your great comments about our friendly and attentive staff and we are happy to see that we were able to accommodate your needs.

We hope to welcome you for a third time!

Best regards

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the minute we stepped off of the shuttle from the short ride from the airport, every person was so friendly and accommodating. That service was consistent throughout the hotel and from the staff. They certainly know how to make someone feel welcome in their resort.

Some of the Emerald Lounge staff that were instrumental in making the stay so positive, not limited to the following:
Nadim,
Carlos,
Luis,
Iwan,
Nicolás from the kitchen

Thank you to all of you who made it such a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Despite having chosen a 'resort-view' room, we were able to see the ocean pretty clearly. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear igamboa~

Happy to hear your anniversary was a success, thank you for the great comments about our property and staff.

We appreciate your high rating and hope to see you back very soon at our resort celebrating the next anniversary.

Thank you

Best regards

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Address: John F Kennedy Boulevard, Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Bay Casino are located directly on a private beach in Willemstad, Curacao. Spend your days basking in the sun at our resort pool or beach, or experiencing all history and adventure Curacao has to offer through our on site Tour and Car Rental desk. Once the sunsets, you will experience amazing dining by sea at our beachfront restaurant Seabreeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Amex, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort And Emerald Casino
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Hotel Willemstad
Marriott Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Hotel Emerald
Marriott Curacao
Willemstad Marriott
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.