We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino to your Saves list
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   John F Kennedy Boulevard, Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Willemstad
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Just returned back to reality from our 5 night vacay at this lovely gem in the Caribbean. From the moment of arrival until we departed we had smiles on our faces. Renata went out of her way to greet us every time we returned from an outing and was so sweet and very personable. Prisca stopped what she was doing to visit with us and check to make sure our every need was met every time our paths crossed. Martis (at the pool bar) makes the best frozen drinks. Honestly, they were the best drinks we have had in our lives and we are not spring chickens.

Our room was perfect. Second floor balcony beach front...no problems with it at all. Very clean, comfy beds and linens, coffee on the balcony each morning watching the bluest, clearest water lap at the fluffy sand. Gorgeous sunsets.

The casino staff (Shanella et al) were so great though never got the concept of letting US win rather than the house. :) Nena / Diana / Liliana...all people who made an impression. The staff in the Portofino was very helpful.

I celebrated my birthday while there and every staff member either sang to me, hugged me, or gave me birthday wishes all day long. I have 3 cards signed by every staff member with well wishes, and had group singing, private singing and desserts sent to me twice that day. And, the thing is...all this is from their hearts. None of this was put on or phony. These are genuine people.

When making dinner reservations for us off property, the concierge/front desk staff made sure we were given VIP treatment wherever we went. Louella and the management at this Marriott take great pride in their property and it shows. The staff in different departments were undergoing training each day we were there and when quizzed about what they learned, it was always some aspect of customer service...how to anticipate guest's needs.

From the towel hut to the bell staff, every one of the people love their job and it shows. (The only rude people we talked to were other tourists.)

Don't hesitate...book. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Tell Renata what type of room you would like...quiet, private, festive surrounding...she will find y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koen H, Director of Operations at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Sue,
Thank you for your great feedback on your experience with us on Curacao.
I am sure you enjoyed your birthday with us because we just love celebrating and do not miss any opportunity to throw a party.
Next year again? :)
I really appreciate the hosts that contributed to your experience and I will ensure to personally recognize them in our stand up meeting.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at koen.hietbrink@marriott.com if I can assist you in any way. I am at your service.
Sunny regards,
Koen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    705
    197
    77
    48
See reviews for
397
902
54
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Particularly the Chef R.at Portofino!!!!!! best meal ever!!!!
Location was perfect- snorkeling superb! Staff was always accommodating and friendly. It was a much needed relaxing retreat. The massage and facial at ocean's edge by a skilled and friendly A. was the icing on my
Birthday cake!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koen H, Director of Operations at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Snowhi 1027,
It is great to hear about your experience at our resort.
I personally recommend the snorkeling to all of our guests as well as it is truly a great asset of our property and so close by.
I would love to hear the full names of R and A so I can personally thank them for the impact they had on your stay. You can email me at koen.hietbrink@marriott.com
I look forward to personally welcoming you back on Curacao soon.
Sunny regards.
Koen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We would like to thanks Marriott Curazao staff. They made our celebration memorable The service was impecable. We held a special dinner at the beach. They prepared a delicious cake for the 50 anniversary of our group of friends. We would like to mention Shounaris and Lis they were very friendly and helped us in many ways.

Food in all restaurants was very good. They served some island specialties that were tasty

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koen H, Director of Operations at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear VaferTouring,
Congratulations on your 50th anniversary and thank you so much for spending it with us together with your friends.
It is always a pleasure and honor to create an event special to your group and to your needs.
Thank you for highlighting Shunaris and Lis for their service.
I look forward welcoming you back to Curacao soon. Please email me at koen.hietbrink@marriott.com if I can assist you in any way.
Sunny regards.
Koen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

When you drive up the Marriott's driveway you are immediately taken with the stunning setting. The open lobby architecture affords an incredible see-through view of the lobby, pool deck, and beautiful beach and ocean. Yup, you're on vacation!

Every single person who helped us - front desk, bellman, waiters in the restaurants - was incredibly friendly and helpful, going out of their way to smile and accommodate our special needs.

The breakfast buffet was quite extensive and delicious, and the beach is lovely for a swim. As a scuba diver it was quite convenient to have a dive shop right on property.

We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Tony_VV

We appreciate very much your great review about our stunning sense of arrival, glad to hear your breakfast experience was awesome and our friendly and attentive staff was able to accommodate all of your needs with a big smile all the time.

Please come back soon

Thank you

Best regards

Jose Castillo
Director of sales & marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

After initially being booked at a nearby hotel for our 25th anniversary and finding it lacking in many areas, finding the Marriott and having the friendly front desk staff be so accommodating and finding a beachfront, walkout room, close to the pool and other amenities for us was a dream come true!

Other than the exception of a single staff member, the staff on the whole were courteous, kind, patient and accommodating. Special thanks to Daixa at the Front Desk for the handwritten anniversary card sent along with champagne to our room. Thanks also to Pooja for finding out info on the local churches in the area. Our biggest thank you goes to Terrence Rombley who has multiple roles at the hotel but was a true gem to meet and get to know a bit during our 9 day stay. His big smile, welcoming manner, sincerity and love of his job was evident throughout our stay and The Marriott is truly fortunate to have him on their team.

The well tended gardens, beautiful oceanfront and pool was a pleasure to come back to at the end of each day. I felt secure with a security guard roaming throughout the grounds and enjoyed some of the best snorkeling on the island right in their own 'manmade' bay. After a day snorkeling & swimming it was also very fun to visit Cerita out at "The Boardroom" for her daily drink special. Though the hotel was almost full I never found the pool or beach jam packed with people and there was always lots going on whether it was a beachfront wedding, Miss Universe Curacao contestants visiting or the nightly entertainment at the pub.
My husband & I had an absolutely fabulous time there for our anniversary and would definitely highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Beachfront, walkout room was great if you wanted "first dibs" on the lounge chairs right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales and Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Shelley W ~
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, glad to hear that you enjoyed our beach front location, natural coral reef which is excellent for snorkeling or diving and also the great ambiance you experienced by having many theme nights, culinary events and live entertainment.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for giving us the preference while comparing us to the other hotel, we hope you come back soon to have another great time.

Best regards,

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Great hotel and the service was impeccable. Great beach, beautiful sunsets and very family friendly. Can't wait to go back. There are several good restaurants on site, with an excellent sports bar called Emerald with plenty of US sports. The staff and service is outstanding. Other good restaurants outside the hotel in walking distance. Beach front is beautiful and not overly crowded with a dive a snorkeling shop located on the property. There is plenty of snorkeling right off the beach on the reef. Hotel is a 10 min ride to Willemstad which has lots shopping and some very nice restaurants that are right on the water. You are missing out if you don’t visit this resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales and Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Geg L~

Thank you for staying with us and for rating us such high, appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and for Prefering Curacao Marriott.

Please come back soon !

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort and Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Checked for only a night due to distance where I was working, but just than less than 24hrs in the compound, it felt great. The staff was super attentive and the room extra clean, no complaints on service neither in the breakfast service. Too bad it was too quick

Room Tip: Too fast to look around for a best room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear William G~

Thank you for your positive review; I agree 100% with you too short to enjoy all of our bars, restaurants, white sandy beach, pool and great ambiance.

Moral of the story.... You need to come back soon to enjoy a nice vacation.

We hope to welcome yo soon.

Best regards

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Address: John F Kennedy Boulevard, Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Bay Casino are located directly on a private beach in Willemstad, Curacao. Spend your days basking in the sun at our resort pool or beach, or experiencing all history and adventure Curacao has to offer through our on site Tour and Car Rental desk. Once the sunsets, you will experience amazing dining by sea at our beachfront restaurant Seabreeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Hotel Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort And Emerald Casino
Marriott Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Hotel Emerald
Marriott Curacao
Willemstad Marriott
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.