We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort on beautiful beach. Better choice than Hilton by far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Save Saved
You added Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   John F Kennedy Boulevard, Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night & $50 Credit
Ranked #4 of 24 hotels in Willemstad
Bolivia, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice resort on beautiful beach. Better choice than Hilton by far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We visited curaçao with our son age 24 and daughter age 28 using Marriott points. The beach is steps from the hotel and was calm and beautiful. Snorkeling off the beach was easy. The common areas are lovely. The kids in the pool were a nuisance. Marriott needs to do something to control unruly kids running the entire pool and the swim up bar. The bartender did his best but management needs to do more to provide separate areas for those under 16. It is a bit hard to find shade as many people place towels on chairs both at the pool and the beach all day. These people rarely return and rudely take up shade that others would enjoy. The rooms are clean and the service is attentive. This is not a st regis or four seasons but the grounds are manicured and the beach is awesome. We stayed the first half of our week at the Hilton. We all strongly preferred the Marriott (especially pool and beach and overall grounds) to the Hilton.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    717
    624
    181
    72
    47
See reviews for
330
762
44
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, Usa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is the third Christmas we have spent on Curaçao at the Marriott Beach Resort. It is lovely for many reasons. The staff members are extremely friendly, helpful, and aim to please every resort guest. One staff member, Gesmeline,has been welcoming us for three years. She is delightful beyond words and her personal touch make us feel like a king and queen. We love the pool and beach which are clean and beautiful. There is an on site dive/snorkel place with daily trips to various sites to observe the marvels of the underwater world. Even the cleaning staff is terrific, helpful and do their jobs well. The Marriott offered aqua classes with a recreation director named Michaelangelo; he was friendly and made the workout enjoyable. If you enjoy a small casino, this place offers a good diversion. The rooms are nice, but could stand an upgrade in the upcoming year or two. We tried the beach barbecue and it was tasty, but too pricey.
We hope to return to the Marriott again next year because it is one corner of paradise. The people here are the nicest we've met on our travels.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms with porches are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louella B, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Mary M,
Thank you so much for spending the Holidays with us and for your loyalty. We are honored and happy that you enjoyed your third Christmas with us.
Please be assured that Gesmeline and MinguelAngelo and the rest of the team will be recognized for their efforts in exceeding your expectations.
We will take your feedback of the Beach BBQ into consideration as feedback always allows us to review and improve our resort. I look forward to personally welcoming you back to Curacao and your Holiday Home in December 2014!
The very Best Wishes for the New Year to you and your loved ones,
Louella Brezovar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent the Xmas and was very pleased with both the facilities and the friendliness of the staff. From the reception to housecleaning, everyone was helpful.
Will return to this hotel next time we are in Curaçao.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eternal411
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We just came back from a 10 night stay at this Marriott. While it is true that it is not up to typical Marriott standards, it was not as bad as some of the reviews say. The service staff is excellent. The beach is great - beach shoes are necessary as there is much coral. The snorkeling at this hotel is OK, not great, due to a lot of wave action. The rooms are comfortable, and yes, they could use a two sink unit in the bathrooms. The pool is fine. Only complaint: the food choices are not great, and the food quality needs big improvement. The chefs all need to be retrained by true professionals. The dinners at Portofino were hit or miss. Some things were good, others not so. We had an all-inclusive - which is the ONLY way to go, as the food and drinks are very expensive, and not worth the cost. we rented a car and GPS (which is essential) and visited most of the beaches and snorkeled at these beaches. There is some very good snorkeling in Curacao. The best? Playa Klein Knipp beach at the northern tip, and the Tugboat snorkeling spot - absolutely outstanding. Jan Thiel beach - a fun place. Very few road signs, and the ones that are there are in Dutch. Yay Garmin! The rental car was dirty and did not operate well. National Car Rental needs to do a better job of cleaning and fixing their cars. the town of Wilemstad is pretty, but the shopping is expensive. Loved the pontoon bridge. Curacao is definitely worth visiting if you like snorkeling and beaches - go through Cheap Caribbean and get an all-inclusive in off season and you will get a good bargain. One more suggestion, skip the trip to Klein Curacao. VERY rough seas, and the snorkeling there was mediocre at best. the Mermaid tour was OK, - lunch on the island was very good, but the boat rocks terribly. don't be fooled - the trip back is almost just as bad! LOL

Room Tip: Stay on the top floors facing the beach - they are quieter.. There are elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

First time on Curaçao but it was a blast. This Marriott is a good one if you dont want it to be too crowded: so there is Always Place around the pool. Literally ALL staff was extremely Nice and helpful and gave you a welcome feeling. You can also rent a car on site which is a +++. The biggest asset for me: just outside the hotel is a fantastisch snorkling spot. What i liked less: there was no desk in the room, though it says so online. Also all food is expensive. So we went out for breakfast An dinner most of the times.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Sego5~
Thank you for your great comments about the resort and out attentive staff. I would like to clarify for future stays that we do have desks in our rooms but we intentionally took out the desks of some of our beach front rooms to make them even more spacious for the enjoyment of our guests, Those rooms are mainly rooms geared for vacation experience located right in front of our beach, still if any of our guests would like us to deliver a desk to the room, we will be more than happy to assist.
Once again thank you for your fabulous comments about our facilities and staff, coming from a senior writer make us feel very special.
Best regards

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

first off the Marriott is a very nice hotel, great pool, good food ( if not very adventurous or especially island flavored) & the best beach that we could find on Curacao !
That beach includes a protected reef with excellent snorkeling that you can simply wade into !
3 foot brain coral with in 50 feet of shore, sea wall at maybe 100 feet, fish, great and small in all shapes colors and varieties await even the more novice snorkeler.
The protected bay, meant the water was very calm more often than not ( Curacao like Aruba is blessed with wonderful 24/7 breezes that make for a very comfortable beach stay).
The fish also seem to change through out the day... so get wet and enjoy at all hours !
The hotel was clean, the staff wonderful, other restaurants were in a reasonable walking distance if not in a relatively straight line.
the historic downtown is an easy taxi ride away,(it's not a world heritage site for no reason... it's must see ) I can't tell you how much I enjoyed our stay but to say we'd be back in a heartbeat if Barcelona wasn't continually whispering in my ear and so many other amazing places I need to still see.
Definitely one of the most enjoyable Caribbean vacations we've ever had!
we only visited two other hotels while there, one didn't have a real beach but a pretty nice man made one ( of course no ocean, but very cool ) and the neighboring hotel whose postage sized beach left us curious about the value for beach lovers like us.
Go, Relax, Enjoy, and by all means get out & Snorkel !

Room Tip: Facebook the hotel ahead of your stay, they notice and will reply to you, they're also very hap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear JoeC1800 ~
Thank you for the great comments about our beach and natural coral reef, a pleasure for us that you enjoyed a real dive and snorkeling paradise (our private white sandy beach and curacao).

Thank you for staying please come back soon

Best regards

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Visited late Nov.
Had initially booked at the Hilton next door but the dive center was closed. Thank God we cancelled and went to the Marriott! We walked around the hilton and it is a dump compared to the Marriott. The Hilton is sub-standard for the name but the Marriott is what you expect. It is still fairly old but well maintained.

Reception: great. We were also able to get a late checkout.

Rooms: great. It was a garden view but you can still see a bit of the ocean. Cleaned daily and well cleaned. Very happy that the now have mini-fridge
Beach: nice sand, a bit rocky in the water. Could have a bit more shade and chairs

Pool: well maintained and clean. Pool bar had great drinks and food. We had diner once there is the halibut and red snapper was excellent. It is nice that they give you 2 beach towel.

Portofino restaurant: went twice, very happy both time. Great food. A tad expensive but you get what you pay for. The Lamb osso bucco was just falling off the bone. Excellent friendly service.

Lobby Bar: very good food and drinks. Awesome service. One thing I would like to add is that one evening, they had an inspection from an executive from the chain. I really hope they did well because they deserve it! Based on what we heard, he was happy when debriefing the waitress and then the cooks.

Coffee shop: great regular coffee and awesome expresso. Their sandwiches and paninis are great

Div center: great crew, great equipent including boats. They are safe and friendly. They have nitrox. Awesome snorkelling right on-site.

Shuttle: free shuttle to downtown twice a day. You need to reserve.

Casino: small and friendly, played a bit of blackjack and didn't have to pawn my wife so it was good! Free booze too.

We took a cab to the supermarket to get some juice and beers. Since beer is like 5$ a can at the hotel, you can have a 12 pack for 15$ at the supermarket. It is 30$ cab ride and the cab will wait for you for 20 mins for free.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcastillo82g, Director of Sales & Marketing at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Chavez1977 ~

Your review made me smile, I love those reviews that compare us with other sister hotels and still give us the edge :-)

Thank you for coming we appreciate your positive feedback.

Best regards

Jose Castillo
Director of Sales & Marketing
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Also Known As:
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort And Emerald Casino
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Hotel
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Hotel Willemstad
Marriott Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Hotel Emerald
Marriott Curacao
Willemstad Marriott
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino Willemstad
Address: John F Kennedy Boulevard, Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Business Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Bay Casino are located directly on a private beach in Willemstad, Curacao. Spend your days basking in the sun at our resort pool or beach, or experiencing all history and adventure Curacao has to offer through our on site Tour and Car Rental desk. Once the sunsets, you will experience amazing dining by sea at our beachfront restaurant Seabreeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.