We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience. Served by locals that hates foreigners Specialy people from U.S” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino to your Saves list
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   John F Kennedy Boulevard | Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th nt free & $50 daily
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pleasanton, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible experience. Served by locals that hates foreigners Specialy people from U.S”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The most unfriendly hotel I've ever seen. U have to beg for service. So rude and unprofessional. Looking forward for class action lawsuits. They hate you and your pet. The most awfull place if u r taking your pet. Constant harassment even there is no damn sign for pet not allowed. I have no idea how an American chain hotel can operate like this. The stupid security think they are police. Big noooo. Avoid or try it yourself.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louella B, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Cyrusak,
I do not often dissagree with our valued guests, however, I am afraid that I do need to disagree with you in this review. It is true that we do not always live up to the expectations of our guests and we always try to learn from our mistakes. I do, however, take offense to your comments that we are the most unfriendly hotel and that we can expect class action lawsuits. We are a Marriott and we as professionals have choosen to be in the hospitality business. We do NOT hate our guests. Our success would be shortlived. I am unsure about the pet you are referring to. We allow service animals at the resort. Should you wish to contact me directly please do so at: louella.brezovar@marriott.com.
Sincerely,
Louella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    825
    224
    88
    54
See reviews for
483
1,061
60
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week at the Marriott Surf Club in Aruba and then a week at the Marriott Beach Resort in Curacao. Two fantastic weeks but both were quite different. The Marriott Beach Resort is very beautiful and well maintained. The rooms are a bit dated but who goes for the rooms! The pool is very nice and there is plenty of beach. There are several options for food on site - Portofino's Restaurant, Sea Breeze Cafe, Emerald Lounge, National Bar, and the Viola Deli. The food was very good and the portions were large. compared to Aruba, Curacao is a bargain.

The pool was great and the beach was very nice with good snorkeling close to shore but be sure to wear your water shoes because of the coral.

Overall, we liked Curacao better than Aruba, less touristy, less people, better bargain, beautiful downtown, fantastic snorkeling. The Marriott was a great place to stay and the staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Good: The water is phenomenal for snorkeling and scuba diving. The oceanfront view rooms on the higher floors are pretty spectacular. The staff is very helpful and friendly as well.

The Bad: The food and restaurant service were way below average and way too expensive for what they were.

Particularly the Seabreeze restaurant was so overpriced. We ate dinner there once: got a Shrimp Caesar salad and a simple Greek Salad with two low-grade glasses of wine and the bill came out to $60! First of all the shrimp was not fresh, but frozen, it didn't even taste like shrimp anymore, and the dressing tasted and looked like they were store-bought. The two salads took them at least 30 - 40minutes to prepare? We had to keep asking the waitress for an update.

This happened often at all the restaurants where the workers didn't seem like they wanted to work or even know how to work, and yet they got an automatic 15% tip, which is added on all checks. Lame.

The Ugly: Voila café was even worse, everything in this store was about $5 at least: A big bottle of water, $5 !? A bag of chips $5 !? Add flavor for your coffee an extra $1 plus tax! This store is ridiculous and is only good for sandwiches and simple coffee.

Overall, it's definitely worth it to rent a car. Anywhere else was more affordable and better for food. There's a grocery store about 10 min away where you can get the same size water for about $1 not $5!

The decor is one of the other things that is totally lacking in this hotel. The design is very 80s/90s, but the view and the water does compensate a bit.

Room Tip: The oceanfront view rooms on the upper levels have amazing views and you can hear the waves from ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

UPSIDE: This hotel is very, very beautiful. The rooms are standard Marriott. The lobby and pool/beach area are spectacular. You could easily spend the day relaxing in the open air lobby/pool area that has free wi-fi. There are 2 moderately priced restaurants on the grounds that were not great, but good enough. You will need a car/taxi/shuttle to get to the main downtown attractions. The staff was very friendly and attentive. If you are looking for a party hotel this is NOT the place for you.
DOWNSIDE: The elevator was broken for 4 days. No big deal for us to walk up, but we are able bodied. ALL of the beaches on Curacao have rocks so bring your water shoes!

Room Tip: Garden view is a great value, you still get to see the water from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Being an extremely loyal Marriott customer, this property missed the mark by miles! The positives are that the island and beach are beautiful. The people, Marriott employees, are friendly but are more concerned with their personal lives and private conversations than they are interested in making sure things are running properly. The property needs work, it is worn and our guest room had a litany of issues! Bed was like the back of a turtle, the laundry was soured and always had a bad odor, nails coming out of the edge of carpets, and disrepair in general. One managers idea of correcting the problem was sending us a cheese tray, nice gesture but all I wanted was a clean comfortable room! The response, I have yet to receive a call from the general manager, was extremely disappointing and no where near Marriott standards! For us, we will find other places to travel to in the future. Sad because this should have been an outstanding trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louella B, General Manager at Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Vance T.
Please accept my sincere apologies for us "missing the mark by miles" during your vacation at our resort. It is always dissapointing to hear when we fail to deliver a vacation that our guests expect. I look forward to speaking to you regarding your stay in order to prevetn this from re-occurring. Please email me your phone number or email address at louella.brezovar@marriott.com so that we can set a time for a phone call.
Sincerely,
Louella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Curacao Marriott Beach Resort for our honeymoon in mid-April. We had a fabulous trip, despite the steep pricees on food and goods, and would love return to the island one day Overall, we were pleased with our hotel selection. The Marriott Beach Resort could not be in a more perfect location--it is nested perfectly in one of the island's many coves and boasts a large and luxurious pool, as well as a private beach stocked with chairs and giant umbrellas. While there were several travelers at the hotel, my husband and I were always able to find a spot to sit and soak up the rays (as far as I can tell, April is a great month to travel there!).

The only downfall of its location is that is at least 10 miles from downtown Wilmestad where the majority of casinos, restaurants, and shops are situated. However, the hotel graciosuly offers its guest a free shuttle that runs twice a day to the downtown area. Also, while it may appear that food options are limited at the hotel, there are several options in walking distance (you just have to know where they are--Pirate's Cove, Sjoulette, Tempo Doloe). If you're looking to just relax and have an easy going vacation then this is the play to stay! If you are more into exploring the local area then the Marriott Renaissance is a better option.

Overall, we were super impressed bu the hospitatlity and kindess of ALL the Marriott employees. With the exception of the Emerland Lounge, we enjoyed all the dining experiences we had at the hotel. The casino proved to be much more enjoyable than I thought...my husband had to pull me away from the slots!

Though the rooms could definitely stand to be updated (including better lighting, modern/US electrical sockets, refurbished furniture) and the food could have been more reasonably priced, I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a fun, easy going Carribean vacation!!

Room Tip: Pay attention to "ocean view" and "resort view" options when booking your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

ifare if u follow my reviews you already I am picky and have a different take on things. I do think this hotel is really nice, and it's good enough to stay here in Curaçao. it sort of reminds me a bit of the Hyatt in Aruba but not as classy.. everyone here is super friendly and helpful, there are some communication issues, like when I asked for an over the top restaurant they don't u dear stand those kind of things. the beach is not too wide, the wat is nice not perfect, but there are awful rocks and pebbles in the water for about 15 feet or so making it hard to get into the water, not easy at all for little children. there are mainly Dutch and South American's here and they do vacation differently than Americans are used to. barely anyone is dressed great so leave your LV and Gucci home, it won't be appreciated, (darn)"....


The breakfast is very good, and the lunch on the beach or pool is okay too, not amazing. it looks and feels like a much better high class resort than it is. the rooms are simple and grow on you but VERY CLEAN.. make sure you know the difference between an Oceanside room and Oceanview room.

this is not an upscale classy island so don't worry about being about the best spot ever, it's not like that here, it's like a rustic Aruba a lot more industrial, tourism is just not their main industry here. I am glad to be here, if u want the perfect water and beach and total upscale everything go to Grace Bay Beach in Turks... The hotel lobby is active and fun to sit in, the casino is very nicely run and seems to be not stingy ....

if I come back I would stay here, but I seriously feel the beach with all the rocks is hard for children and the elderly..

Room Tip: Taken Oceanside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino

Address: John F Kennedy Boulevard | Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Bay Casino are located directly on a private beach in Willemstad, Curacao. Spend your days basking in the sun at our resort pool or beach, or experiencing all history and adventure Curacao has to offer through our on site Tour and Car Rental desk. Once the sunsets, you will experience amazing dining by sea at our beachfront restaurant Seabreeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Hotel Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort And Emerald Casino
Marriott Willemstad
Curacao Marriott Beach Hotel Emerald
Marriott Curacao
Willemstad Marriott
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.