We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beit Hayim Cemetery

Beit Hayim Cemetery
Willemstad, Curacao
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 78 things to do in Willemstad
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Passed by this cemetery on our bus tour. I always like to check out historic cemeteries wherever I visit. This one was very unique with all above ground graves, I believe they said because of flooding issues. Very interesting stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beit Haim, Berg Altena-the newer cemetery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Beit Hayim was hard to find and across town so we went to the other (newer) Jewish Cemetery to find our ancestors. This cemetery was right in town and easier to get to. Probably in better shape than the older one but just as fascinating. Definitely worth visiting. Lots of history there. We were directed there by the kind employees of the Jewish Museum downtown. If you see the cemetery, you must visit the Synagogue & museum downtown-easy to get to.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Oldest Jewish Cemetery in the Western Hemisphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is an amazing historical site with graves dates as far back as the 1700's. It's sad that oil refineries decided to build next to the cemetery.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fascination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were taken here by Gigi on our Jewish heritage tour of the island. Gigi was wonderful in pointing out all of the different graves and unusual inscriptions. It is very sad that it is in very poor shape and mostly cannot be repaired.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Jewish Heritage in the Caribbean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We visited the Beit Hayim Cemetery with a private tour by Gigi.
I'd never seen the type of carving that was used on the gravestones here. It was very interesting to hear the stories and explanations. The cemetery is deteriorating rapidly due to the acid from the oil refinery. The paths in the cemetery are rocky and uneven. It's difficult to move around. But that's to be expected for a 400 year old burial ground.
I would recommend a visit to see the variety and intricate carvings.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beit Hayim Cemetery also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Curacao, Caribbean
 

Been to Beit Hayim Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beit Hayim Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.