We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewish Heritage in the Caribbean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beit Hayim Cemetery

Beit Hayim Cemetery
Willemstad, Curacao
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 33 Attractions in Willemstad
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
Attraction details
Derry, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Jewish Heritage in the Caribbean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We visited the Beit Hayim Cemetery with a private tour by Gigi.
I'd never seen the type of carving that was used on the gravestones here. It was very interesting to hear the stories and explanations. The cemetery is deteriorating rapidly due to the acid from the oil refinery. The paths in the cemetery are rocky and uneven. It's difficult to move around. But that's to be expected for a 400 year old burial ground.
I would recommend a visit to see the variety and intricate carvings.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Very fascinating for those with a special interest in Curacao/Sephardi history. Iconic and very emotional. Probably you will be the only person there. You need a car in order to get to the cemetery, which is almost totally surrounded by the Isla (Oil refinery).

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Interesting Jewish Cemetery.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I visited this site with my old friend Naftali,
who was very interested in the names on the stones.
The cemetery looks poorly maintained.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A fabulous history lesson on Sephardic Jewish customs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This little-known treasure is slowly but surely disappearing as the fallout from the refinery next door is apparently eating away at the headstones, which are fabulous. We had a private tour (as no one else had booked when we did), and the background information and historical perspective is amazing!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minooka, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Cemetaries on the island are not like the ones in the U.S. Could tell this was a very old cemetary with interesting details.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beit Hayim Cemetery also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Beit Hayim Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beit Hayim Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.