We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few things are better sights than this at night.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Handelskade

Handelskade
Willemstad, Curacao
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 78 things to do in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Harborfront street lined with brightly painted 18th century buildings that today, house boutiques, art galleries and sidewalk cafes.
Pendleton, Oregon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Few things are better sights than this at night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I travel a lot. We have been all over the world and few things are as beautiful as this place at night. We had an amazing te just watching this at night.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    81
    28
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weyburn, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Spectacular Day and Night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We never tired of his most-photographed view of Willemstad! It was just as gorgeous at night, when we had dinner on the 4th terrace of the Rif Fort and the flood-light lit buildings across the waterway were the perfect backdrop for a romantic meal!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pastel buildings on the harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The first sight of Handelskade is like something out of a movie; bright colored buildings and beautiful architecture on the harbor with a swinging footbridge connecting the two parts of Willemstad. Dining, shopping & history are everywhere in the area within walking distance. The only downside is that most shops close at 5pm which is a shame because just when it's cooling off all the shops close.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beatiful buildings but not outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Of course it is a must see when you are in Curaçao. Famous with these buildings I was a little disappointed, because there was not really much to see. Well the houses and the wonderful colors of course. But in the surrounding area there wasn’t very much sightseeing.

We decided to walk to the other side (well actually we took a shuttle service because the bridge was open). From the other side of the sea the view is much better.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful Dutch Style Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Cross the Queen Emma Bridge to get to these buildings. There are several places to eat with outdoor seating that line the front of these buildings. There isn't a whole lost past this street. There is a floating market and some stores that all close around 6pm. There are a lot of abandoned buildings and some dilapidated buildings just past this street. The view from the other side of the channel is the best for pictures.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Handelskade also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Handelskade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Handelskade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.