We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel Curacao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Hotel Curacao to your Saves list
Plaza Hotel Curacao
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Pair, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“OK for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Location of this hotel is really good as mentioned in previous reviews. There are opportunities for improvement throughout the property. The lobby, pool, breakfast patio are the highlights of this older hotel with pretty plants, interesting art. We must have stayed in the older rooms because there was nothing new in them although we did have a great view from our balcony overlooking the harbor & pool area. The hallways are dark & the ceilings in disrepair. Rooms need a complete makeover & updating. Bathroom was poorly lit & furnished with 2 small towels--no hand towels or wash cloths. Upside of the room was the comfortable bed, a/c worked great & there is a hot pot with coffee & tea. The casino was dirty & smoky. Sports bar was ok---the bartender was super friendly & attentive. Staff throughout the property including parking lot attendants were friendly. We were only here for one night before checking into a rental property.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    63
    65
    43
    59
See reviews for
53
110
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suriname
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, it was one of the best location to be in Curacao, especially those who want a place at downtown and with a good ocean view. The lobby, the pool and the food were excellent.
The kitchen staff was very helpful; the service was good.
The hotel is not far from the police station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUYANA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Ive stayed at the Plaza and must say its the best location.
Th room needs some upgrading but the service was good. The food is excellent; breakfast is just awesome, breakfast chef he is just adorable.
I would recommend to my friends, and the rates are fine.. Forgot to mention, walking distance to the floating bridge, shopping areas and all other restaurants.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large nd sunny indeed with a great view of the Caribbean sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad, Aruba
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We travel to Curacao for two days. And we choose the hotel for it's location and reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel is very outdated. The owners needs to remodel it and fast. At the front office the staff is not so friendly. They told us to leave the room keys in the box. I never heard of that before. The bathroom is very outdated. The faucet in the bathroom was leaking the whole night. The air-condition was making noises. Towels are very old in the bathroom. When they came to clean the room they took the towels and didn't replace them. Front office told me that they will replace them after 5' o clock. That is no service!! I had to take a bad and there was no towels to step on when I got out of the bathroom. And the hotel charge above a $ 100 a night.I felt that I had been ripped off.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Wonderful friends of ours treated my husband and I to a quick getaway. We are all (hospitality) business owners in Aruba who needed some R n R..
They chose the Plaza based on its location and reviews found on trip advisor.
The location was great, walking distance to shops, bars, restaurants, and the floating bridge. The hotel was run down, our room was very clean and I give credit to our maid considering what she had to work with. Our TV was old and small. We had to stand in front of it in order for the remote to work. The bathroom only had 1 very small shelf to hold toiletries. We had to request a blow drier. The hallways were dark. The pool needs to be re done, tiles missing and cement chipped on the steps and bottom.
At check in the front desk staff was not very helpful. We were given 1 room key and told that we had to drop the key off in a drop box before leaving the property. I have never heard of anything like that before. The casino was old and dingy. I could not find the "sports bar".
Our bartender for happy hour was very nice and helpful.
This hotel has a lot of potential to be a great property but unfortunately the owners have allowed it to become run down. I read in reviews that the hotel was recently remodeled but I did not see any evidence of that unless the reviews were written in the 70s. We had a great time in Curacao but we went out of our way to spend our days outside of the hotel property. .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, New Mexico
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Plaza Hotel is the best location on the island. Historical hotel was recently remodeled. I had a great room with a beautiful view. Loved the casino and sports bar. Plenty of things to do: diving, shopping, exploring or just relaxing at the pool. Met the owners who were very friendly and helpful. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

A great vacation place! We had a tower room and the view was spectacular! The room was recently remodeled and was very clean. Throughout the hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Great food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Hotel Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Curacao

Address: Plaza Pair, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel Curacao 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini - Welkom - Welcome. The Plaza Hotel & Casino is Curacao’s most recognized hotel and a favorite vacation destination for generations of world travelers. Discover our stunning oceanfront location, breath taking views and gracious Caribbean hospitality. Built atop the historic Waterford Forte, a 1700's stronghold; the Plaza Hotel Curacao stands as the gateway to the Willemstad's shops, open air markets and local culture. Whether your visit to Curacao is for a relaxing family vacation, a romantic getaway, a destination wedding or you’re here on business, you will love our convenient location and modern comforts. And with free WIFI, a fitness center and almost a dozen great restaurants and lounges on site, there’s something for everyone to enjoy! The Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino is close to Hato International Airport, major corporate headquarters and a few steps from great duty free shopping and the world famous floating Queen Emma Pedestrian Bridge. Plus, we’re only minutes from some of Curacao’s favorite family and dive beaches. Relax on our giant party deck, swim in our large pool and enjoy the vibrant sunsets overlooking the sea and historic Willemstad. Dine, dance and enjoy the very best of the Curacao. Feeling lucky, come test your skills in the Royal Casino, our Caribbean inspired Casino and a local favorite. Come win a fortune or have some fun playing blackjack, bingo, roulette, craps, poker or the slot machines. We look forward to your arrival in Curacao and taking great care of you at the Plaza Hotel & Casino. Come explore Curacao. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Hotel Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Willemstad
Plaza Hotel Curacao Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.