We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach Infested!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Veneto Holiday Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Veneto Holiday Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Veneto Holiday Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Pater Euwensweg, Willemstad, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 27 hotels in Willemstad
Curacao
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Roach Infested!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

If you're looking to get sick, this is your place! Also, they advertise a gym, which is true there is one. My garage used for storage has more potential, so nobody uses it. The equipment is a hazard. Also, the front desk was informed of a roach problem and her rude, unprofessional response was "You're on an island, we have them." I've been to other hotels here on the island and that is NOT the case. The front desk also offered advise, "You can go buy your own (stuff) to kill them." They also have rats incase you like to keep company with rodents. The beds and comforters are so outdated, they remind me from the 70's, and no, they will not offer to change your mattress if it caves in on you in the middle. Also, don't just grab a towel from the rack without inspecting it first, it may not have been washed very well. What appeared to be genital hair and dirt were found on a "clean" towel hung on the rack the same day of check in (obviously not from the current guest).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    20
    14
    17
See reviews for
14
14
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel is incredibly run-down, everything needs to be replaced or fixed. The halls on our floor smelled terrible, the lobby smells like cigarette smoke, the sheets are dingy, the rooms and bathrooms both need a lot of updating. The maids half-way clean the rooms, and most of the time are siting on the beds watching tv (which you can see when passing the rooms in the hallway). I wouldn't stay at this hotel for free if I had a choice, however, we didn't have a choice because it was a business trip. Terrible place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Veneto is an odd place- built in the late 60 or 70' and still looks that way. The good - rooms are Ok fairly large updated - best ones face the beach. The beach is great - protected cove with bar and breakfast, ample seating. Nice big ol' pool and grounds. We arrived very late due to the airlines and the adjoining restaurant served dinner at midnite and was full of locals- which was quite cool.
The not so good - Lobby is dingy and smells of cigarette smoke pouring out of the sad casino it adjoins. Hallways and elevators are rundown and uninviting. The price is a bit high for the quality- there are much nicer places.
We just stayed a night transferring to Bonaire so it was great to sit on the beach in the morning but be wary if staying longer..

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the swimming pool or the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here for one night.No internet included in the price but it was additional but everything else was there-great sleep quality, everything else worked. Great restaurant and casino and it's on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terschelling, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My stay in the hotel was perfect for the price.. It has it all. Friendly staff. Nice swimming pool. And a beautiful private beach with a restaurant with a small cart.. Punda is nearby. Our room was clean and cleaned every day.Walking to Punda takes about 15 minutes. This friendly hotel is payable.
A for the price good hotel with its beautiful beach en good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene V, E Commerce Manager at Veneto Holiday Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear HitjeKok:
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that the Veneto Holiday Beach Hotel met the value proposition we strive for. Our beatuiful private beach is a wonderful place to relax and recharge.
We hope that you will visit with us again when your vacation plans next bring you to our beautiful island!
Cheers
Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaguanas, Caroni, Trinidad and Tobago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed two nights there on a lay-over from Bonaire:

The Good:
Lovely private beach
Good view from the restaurant
friendly staff

The Bad:
Good do with better food (breakfast was ok but dinner was not)
Dirty Pool
Hotel felt/looked old
Non functioning safe

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene V, E Commerce Manager at Veneto Holiday Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Matthias H:
Thank you for your review and your candid comments about your experience at our property. Our staff works very hard tto make all of our guests feel welcomed. At the same time, we occasionally disappoint our customers and we do apologize that the dinner did not meet your expectations, and we will discuss that with our Food and Beverage team. Also, we would like to let you know that the filtration issues that caused the pool to look cloudy has been corrected and our pool is now funcitoning at 100%.

Thank you for your visit and the time you took to write. We will correct the deficiencies noted and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at some time in the future to see the improvements we have made.

Kind regards,
irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Veneto Beach hotel twice this year.It is situated in Otra Banda, is centrally located and has a casino and franchised restaurant.The Rif fort, WTC and airport are nearby. While there is ample parking, it is not reserved. Aside from the main hotel there are also cabanas across the private beach to the hotel.

Booking in person when arriving at the hotel is cheaper than booking online.The rooms are clean and well furnished. They are, however, not as well appointed as the Renaissance hotel or Marriott. While the rooms are serviced daily, the staff are generally difficult to get hold off. Complaints are dealt with, eventually.

If you are looking for an affordable hotel with a decent location and beautiful private beach then this hotel is for you. If , however, you are looking for a luxurious hotel, good dining and 5 star service then I would recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Veneto Holiday Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veneto Holiday Beach Hotel

Address: 31 Pater Euwensweg, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Veneto Holiday Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only beachfront property in Willemstad. 2-4 story buildings. Rooms equipped with Refrigerator, Hairdryers, In-room safe, Iron and Ironing Board. Double and King bedded rooms. Pool Views, Lagoon/Garden views. Balconies or Terraces. High speed internet service in the rooms at a minimum charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Veneto Holiday Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Beach Hotel Willemstad
Holiday Beach Hotel And Casino
Veneto Holiday Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veneto Holiday Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.