We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee Factory and Beach bar very best of Avila!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avila Hotel - Curacao

Save Saved
You added Avila Hotel - Curacao to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avila Hotel - Curacao
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Penstraat 130 | P.O. Box 791, Willemstad 130134, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Willemstad
Willemstad, Curacao
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Coffee Factory and Beach bar very best of Avila!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really very best cappuccino on the island at the Coffeeshop. And then to dream away at the Beach bar, where they prepare your food at the bar, delicious and fresh, completes the perfect Caribean experience.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    165
    54
    33
    19
See reviews for
70
315
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Avila hotel. We stayed at the Blues wing which we can strongly recommend! You get a balcony right above the sea so the views are amazing. We were lucky to get a room with a larget balcony with our own sunbeds so we could enjoy the sun in our own privacy!

The food in the restaurants was good and especially the Blues restaurant above the sea is worth experiencing. The breakfast was good but the same every day which was a bit of a disappointment but the food was still good and thete was plenty of selection.

There's also a shop in the hotel which we appreciated.

The service was good but from time to time a bit slow and although goood, not as excellent as you would get in a five star hotel.

Location of the hotel is excellent! It's about a 15 minute walk from Willemstad but still at a very peaceful location. The resort has good private beaches and all the amenities so basically you don't need to leave the hotel if you don't want to :)

All in all a great experience and we can recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went there for our honeymoon and we were absolutely satisfied and delighted with this hotel in every aspect imaginable. The room was perfect, just as published. The cleaning was excellent, the food in the restaurants (including the breakfast) was delicious, and last but not least the staff was really friendly and made you feel at home. Totally recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have never written any type of review before but my experience at the Avila Hotel in general and the interactions with Chris at the front desk and Mimi as the manager in particular have prompted me to take time to write this review. At first we just felt like a number and had a room which fell way below our expectations and even resulted in my wife crying. Initially, my interactions with the front desk were not helpful but then I was fortunate that Chris became involved. The hotel was full but he actually wrote me a nice letter that night letting me know that he would do everything he could to help get a room change including bringing my disappointment to the attention of the manager, Mimi. Wow- Mimi and Chris get customer service. I could tell that they were genuinely happy for us that they could move us into an upgraded room with a fantastic view of the ocean (which was our concern all along) at no extra expense. This took a few days to accomplish but I knew that they were doing their best while we waited for a room to become available rather than feeling like I was just being ignored or being given the tourist happy talk and no action. In particular, I want to recognize and recommend Mimi to future travelers. She was fantastic and the Avila is fortunate to have her. She was so instrumental in turning a disappointing vacation experience into a FANTASTIC experience for by myself and my wife.

As for the Avila Hotel itself, if you like snorkeling in warm and clear water with LOTS of sea life, they have it in their seawall protected and private beach. I snorkeled every day. We went on a snorkeling excursion and the sea life was actually better right at our little beach outside our wonderful room.

The downsides to Avila really aren't Avila but what many other travelers have noted in that the adjacent neighborhood isn't the greatest and food prices are a bit high. In looking at some negative reviews of the Avila, the fact is that it is a small resort trying to provide all of the services of a large resort on a smaller scale. We wanted more of a small resort experience as we have been at large resorts before in the Caribbean. None the less, this is an island we hope to return to and we will stay at the Avila Hotel. Curacao is going to be easier to get to for travelers from the USA as direct flights are to start in December or January from NYC. I recommend both the island and Avila Hotel for USA travelers and hope that you have the good fortune of dealing with people like Mimi and Chris to make it a wonderful trip as they did for us. By the way, Peter was great with Peter Tours of the island.

Room Tip: Make it clear that a view of the ocean is important to you if that is what you want. There are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The reason we chose the Avila was because of all the great reviews on TripAdvisor. Well, after visiting this poor excuse for a luxury resort - I have to assume that the people writing the reviews are the employees. Let me keep this short and to the point:
- Dirty, small rooms.
- Lazy, unfriendly staff
- Small, cigarette butt infested beach
- Bad chefs / understaffed restaurants

If you want to get a true idea of what this place is all about - read the "Poor" reviews here on TripAdvisor. I can tell you that after staying here they are highly accurate.

And yes, we did our best to discuss our issues with the "Manager" who was nothing more than condescending. Finally after 3 days we left the hostel and checked into a real luxury resort - the Marriott. So do yourself a favor if you want to visit Curacao - avoid this dump!

Room Tip: Get a room at the Marriott or the Hilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaManagment, General Manager at Avila Hotel - Curacao, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Bruins72,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review. We always appreciate receiving feedback in order to stay focused and learn from our guest’s experience in order to improve.

We are sorry that your stay was not as you expected it to be. I personally shared your feedback with the appropriate departments to improve in upholding the cleanliness of the beach & rooms and also the staffing in our restaurant during busy evenings.

We do our utmost to keep our hotel and services on the highest level. We recently upgraded the entire Blueswing. Our room sizes comply to international standards, and we try always to fulfill personal preferences. During your stay we upgraded the original reservation and offered you a Octagon Deluxe room (46 square meters / 495 square feet).

The Avila Hotel celebrated its 65th anniversary this year, which makes us the oldest operational hotel on Curacao. Our restaurants have also been around for many years. We choose our Chefs delicately, we have company standards and we train our Staff on a weekly base on our procedures. It is our aim to offer our guests only the very best. With over 6 decades of experience in hospitality and the fact that we received many prestigious awards from global travel platforms, we know about the expectations of international guests. Unfortunately, we could not meet your expectations.

We truly appreciate your feedback. We always strive to give all of our customers’ true value for what they deserve. I invite you to contact me at pkok@avilahotel.com if there are any additional thoughts you would like to share with me.

I look forward to hearing from you.


Paul Kok
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

After spending 10 days at the Avila we didn't want to ever leave the island. This is the perfect hotel for honeymooners, young couples( with and without children ), more mature travellers, professionals who have to be in Curacao for business. Within a couple of hours you will make lifelong friends or remain totally anonymous if you so wish. It is a gem of a hotel - quiet, lush, private, but only a 10 minute walk from Punda (town). The pace is relaxed and the service is ever so friendly. With four different restaurants you have a choice of different cuisines, all in beautiful seaside settings. Regulars have been returning for over 30 years, first coming with their children, now also introducing their grandchildren to this lovely hotel. We've just checked out but are planning to return at Easter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Caribbean Sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Wow! A wonderful resort that is not very "Americanized". During our 14 day stay, we only met 4 other Americans - most of the guests were Dutch, with other Europeans and Latin Americans. It was great to become friends with couples from The Netherlands, Sweden, and Belgium. Located within a short walk of downtown Willemstad for easy access to it (Avila also has a complimentary shuttle), it is in a neighborhood that gives you a feel for what the country is like outside of the typical resort bubble and the touristy downtown shopping areas. Also only a short walk to a local grocery store to save money on eating out all the time. We always felt safe walking around the island, even at night. The resort has two "pools" directly connected to the Carribean for great swimming (fish come into the pools, including pufferfish and eels, and many folks were snorkeling in them), and lots of areas for sunning on the beach - this is where we spent most of our time. Also a nice outdoor pool. Food options are great on the resort, including the Blues Bar, the Pool Bar, and the Schooner Bar. Several nice restaurants within walking distance, too, particularly Rozendaels across the street. Staff were very friendly and helpful - at thedesk, the restaurants, and housekeeping! There is a great tower at the end of the Blues Wing that gives great views of the sea and coast, and the sunset. Our room was very nice in the Octogon Wing, with a balcony overlooking the resort, pools, and out to the sea. I would love to go back again! (For English speakers - no real language barrier issues).

Room Tip: Blues Wing and many Octagon Wing rooms are in a good location to access resort facilities, and to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avila Hotel - Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Hotel - Curacao

Address: Penstraat 130 | P.O. Box 791, Willemstad 130134, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Hotel - Curacao 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Avila Hotel - Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Hotel - Curacao Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila Hotel - Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.