We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - relaxing and great coral beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avila Hotel - Curacao

Save Saved
You added Avila Hotel - Curacao to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avila Hotel - Curacao
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Penstraat 130 | P.O. Box 791, Willemstad 130134, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 hotels in Willemstad
Maraval, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - relaxing and great coral beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Avila Hotel in Curacao for a short weekend 3 night stay. The staff were extremely helpful and the atmosphere of the hotel was great. Location is good, just south of Willemsted so an easy walk or short drive to where the action takes place. Most surprising was the excellent coral just beyond the hotel beach, the hotel has two sandy beaches and man made breakers to keep them sheltered from strong waves. You can swim beyond the breakers and between the two beaches and there are some excellent coral formations and loads of fish, we even saw dolphins on our first day. The only thing I could fault the hotel on was that the tiles in the floor of the bedroom were a bit scuffed and worn, it gave a poor first impression. The mattress was firm, the AC cold and the curtains made the room really dark so I got a good nights sleep :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    162
    50
    31
    18
See reviews for
65
293
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at Avila Hotel in Willemstadt, our first time in Curacao. The staff was for the most part extremely friendly and helpful, going out of their way to please and make your stay the most enjoyable. Guests are discreet and for the most part European (mainly Dutch and German), which makes it a nice change for us North Americans.

Room Tip: THe small wooden cottage-type rooms have the best view on the ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My boyfriend booked this hotel solely based on all its reviews and we have not been disappointed! We stayed here for a week at the end of September and we enjoyed it fully. We arrived after a tiresome 10 hour flight and we have been met with a great smile and welcome by Louisa at the reception that made our check-in smooth & fast. I must add that she has always been very helpful, friendly and with a positive attitude at all times. And the reception has been helpful with all our inquiries - Curacao map, postal services and other personal requests - such as ordering flowers. The bellboy was also very efficient, took his time in explaining how certain things work in the room (light, A/C etc.). We stayed in Octagon room #214 which was fully equipped, had great housekeeping and a fantastic bed. From the balcony of our room we could only see a side-angle of the sea, so probably the one with a better sea-view is #216. All in all, we enjoyed our room and Octagon altogether. From our room we had direct access to the pool, the beach and breakfast facilities which we found very convenient. So if you want to stay with Avila we definitely recommend Octagon wing. What we considered very friendly on behalf of the hotel is that they also offer complimentary changing rooms for those guest who have late departures (check-out time being 12.00pm for everyone). Here you can take a shower and properly change.
Avila has its own beach, beach chairs and provides you with beach towels. On the property of the hotel you can find a coffee-shop that offers tasty coffee, breakfast&lunch choices; a shop, 2 restaurants - the Blues and the Belle Terrace, 2 bars - one has been mainly available during lunch hours. Dinner at both Blues and Belle Terrace have been very tasty, with nice and accommodating staff. If you are visiting Curacao during high season we would recommend reserving a table in advance. Cocktails and smoothies at both bars are delicious, definitely recommend you try one. I must say that we have been positively surprised by the creativity of the hotel administration to offer a different option for every night - for instance there is a Caribbean grill night, an Antillean night, a live Blues, lazy Sunday; there is always some sort of live music, you just cannot get bored. And of course it has a wide variety of spa options which one may try, as well as fitness center.
Another positive aspect is that Avila is centrally located and it takes a 15 minutes walk to reach the center. There is also a convenient hotel shuttle that goes twice a day to the city (except weekends) offered as a complementary service. If it is too hot and you do not feel like walking then you can go on the opposite road and stop one of the local buses that go direction Punda (2USD/person). Or if you feel like going somewhere else, ask the doorman to stop a local bus that takes you to the Sea Aquarium, which is great way to spent half a day (3USD/person).
Avila is also is nicely situated not far away from a couple of high-quality restaurants such as Rozendaels, Seasons, the Wine Cellar or Kome, we tried all of them for dinner options and we would recommend going to one of them if Blues or Belle Terrace are overcrowded.
What we found convenient is that in the hotel lobby you can find a tourist operator and car-rental office (Budget); we used both and they have good deals and decent prices.
Last but not least, I spent my 30th birthday here and we found a great bottle of wine from the hotel in the room which was very nice! My boyfriend ordered a bouquet of flowers which was fantastic and he was very pleased with the choice as well!
Overall everyone is very friendly, food is tasty, music is great, atmosphere is definitely of a great quality vacation. I think Avila will not disappoint you if you choose to stay here!

Room Tip: we highly recommend rooms in the Octagon wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have just spent two weeks at Avila. Great staff, so friendly and helpful. The beach and snorkelling off the rocks was excellent, more fish in one small location then we have seen in many other visits to the Caribbean. Lovely view from the balcony and the Blues bar an extra treat on your doorstep. Food and live music really good. We normally go to one of the main Hotel chains, so wasn't sure about booking direct with this hotel, but so glad I did, the character and individual approach was very refreshing. The only slight irritation was the housekeepers a bit noisier in the mornings than perhaps they needed to be, but this was only a minor problem on a couple of days when we had a late night and so a late start.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

If ever there was a hotel that nailed being perfect, Avila is the one! Our entire stay was very relaxing from check-in to check-out. Every staff member is genuinely kind and friendly and very helpful. The hotel is gorgeous, very well maintained.
And the beaches are very nice. We had an early flight and the front desk staff made sure we had a taxi to pick us up on time, even calling the taxi driver to make sure he was on his way. I'm very glad we chose this hotel, I'm sure we will return to Curaçao and will definitely stay again at the Avila.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Worst things first:
a) 8AM in the morning: "HOUSEKEEPING!" - knock knock - "HOUSEKEEPING!" - knock knock - Loud staff Chatter in Papiamentu in the floor.
We always had our DND-sign out from evening to morning. Unacceptable for us was the fact that Housekeeping starts at 8AM to knock loudly on the other doors.
Either start shielding the rooms better from outside noise or reorganise your housekeeping.
On the plus side: You have a living alarm clock if you like to get up early (for holidays)

b) Waiting time to check-in - Our rooms weren't ready on arrival. We had to wait for 90minutes - Management compensated this with a voucher for 2 cocktails (which are amazing at this resort - Try the golden Mojito). Communication during this time was only reactive and NOT proactive. We had to keep inquiring what was going on every 30min and were excused with "in 15 minutes"

c) Breakfast times. At 10 o'clock the breakfast was taken away - no regard to guests or inquiry if they would like to grab something before they close up

d) Booking as a couple on anniversary we got a room with two separate beds but got transfered the next day. Communication as in b) was not very timely

-----

Don't put too much weight into these point though. Our 1-week-stay was very nice otherwise.
Footwalk downtown takes about 15minutes but the hotel also offers a FREE shuttle service to the city (recommended during very hot days)
If the on-site restaurants & bars are not enough for you there are plenty of other restaurants around the corner.

Oddly though that on-site staff was trying very hard to be friendly, it felt artificial. Curacao has a lot to learn on the service/friendliness side.

The hotel room was amazing (we had octagon room 210) including a fridge and kitchen, supersized sink, great shower & bathtub (who needs the tub when you have a pool & beach?)

The hotel offered us to take a shower to freshen up before our flight even after check-out - this is a huge plus.

When the weather isn't too windy the snorkeling experience was nice on-site. we hope though that the next time somebody hops in, there won't be a barracuda 1m long anymore.

Visit all the restaurants and try the golden mojito

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Avila Hotel for one week in September and it was the best week we've ever spent. We chose Avila after reading several reviews on Avila and the competition. To help make my decision, I emailed the hotel to ask a few questions. They responded quickly and were extremely friendly! Upon check in we were greeted with a smile and had just about the quickest hotel check in process I've ever experienced. A Bellman was called to gather our suitcases and show us to our room. Along the way to the room our Bellman gave us a very detailed tour of the property. Upon entering our room (I'll speak more about that soon) our Bellman showed us how everything worked, which switched controlled what, the air conditioning controls and even the balcony door controlled A/C. He was GREAT! Now to room 216. WOW! I've stayed at many nice hotels and many of them were beach front. This hotel room was simply breathtaking. The clean, spacious layout was perfect. The separated rooms was a treat. The bathroom was spacious and our balcony overlooked the pool and the ocean. I wouldn't have traded rooms for anything! Avila had a welcome card and a complimentary bottle of wine chilled and ready for us. We opened the wine while we unpacked for our vacation and then went to the private beaches on property. The water was warm, the beaches were clean and the Schooner Bar was ready to help us celebrate our arrival. After swimming in the ocean a bit we went to one of the on site stores and bought snorkel gear. I couldn't believe how many beautiful fish hang out right there at the beach hotel. BEAUTIFUL. While staying at Avila we ate snack food at the Schooner Bar (spicy wings) and have several drinks. The evening staff was amazing! We went to Burger Night at the Blues Bar & Restaurant and had the best service I've ever experienced, thanks Kenneth! We also had breakfast at Belle Terrace Restaurant and it was the best breakfast buffet with several options including an omelet bar and delicious fresh fruit. I recommend all three to you! The hotel is within walking distance to downtown Willemstad which you can make one or two days worth of activities out of, but I recommend renting a car and driving around the island because there are some really beautiful parts of Curaçao worth exploring. Cas Abou Beach and Knip Beach are both worth a visit. Our room service cleaned our room and made sure we had fresh linens and towels daily, they did a great job and even let us sleep in. This hotel is so focused on creating a positive experience that they even left a Happy 30th Birthday card in the room for me. WOW!!! There are many beautiful resorts and hotels on the island, but I couldn't have been happier with Avila. My partner and I went and visited some other properties during our trip and always left saying, "I'm glad we chose Avila!" Thank you for making our Curaçao trip and my 30th Birthday so memorable. I feel like I left a piece of my heart at Avila Hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
Romantic, Beach...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 27 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
4.7 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao
Blue Bay Curacao
#14 of 27 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel
Floris Suite Hotel
#9 of 27 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
Beach, Pool, Fr...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 27 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
5.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Hotel - Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Hotel - Curacao

Address: Penstraat 130 | P.O. Box 791, Willemstad 130134, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Hotel - Curacao 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Avila Hotel - Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Hotel - Curacao Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila Hotel - Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.