We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avila Hotel - Curacao

Save Saved
You added Avila Hotel - Curacao to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avila Hotel - Curacao
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Penstraat 130 | P.O. Box 791, Willemstad 130134, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 hotels in Willemstad
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed at Avila Hotel August 15-23, 2013 and could not have been more pleased. As a solo traveler, I was initially concerned by some of the reviews I read regarding the area, however, once I arrived, I had NO worries. The location of the hotel definitely has some revitalization in progress within the surrounding streets, but it is certainly not anything that should deter someone from choosing this hotel. The area is also PERFECT for some of the BEST restaurants on the Island. You are only a "very" short walk to a variety of them....Fishalicious, Rozendael's, Seasons, etc. A 25-minute walk (not 10 minute as Island people will tell you) will take you directly to the center of the city and the famous swinging bridge and waterfront cafes.

As for the hotel itself, the staff is unbelievable....a huge kuddos to all!!! I stayed in the Octagon section and the room was spacious and very clean. I ate at all the restaurants on site, and enjoyed them all. Jazz night at Blues is a must!! If I had to say one negative thing about the hotel, it would be that the hotel only has only one pool area, which is very beautiful, but was overtaken by children. Most of whom were not supervised by their parents, who remained at the beach area, therefore, those adults without children could not relax or swim because of flying toys, screaming kids, floats and water games. I really think with the type of guests that Avila has, they should seriously invest in a separate pool area for the kids since this pool is too small for playing children "and" adults. Other than that, I have no complaints and definitely plan to return!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    161
    53
    32
    19
See reviews for
70
309
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Avila for a week and we absolutely loved it. We have travelled all over the world and never have a stayed at a resort with such a friendly welcoming staff. The food was incredible and the private beaches were awesome. We had such a relaxing enjoyable time at Avila that I would recommend it to anyone. Everything is so easy at Avila, we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms above the pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The property itself is the best in Curacao! The staff is AMAZING! Did I say the staff is AMAZING!!! Good food, drinks, all the help you will ever need is all at the Avila Hotel. Was there Labor day weekend for the North Sea Jazz Festival, they provided free transportation to the festival roundtrip! The events on the property alone will keep you entertained. Great Beach Bar- special shout to Luxandrew :) Oh yeah, there is a private beach...need I say more?

Room Tip: The older rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Avila for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon in late June 2013. We had a room on the second story of the Blues Wing facing the Blues Restaurant... it was incredible!! We had a gorgeous balcony and the view was breathtaking. We would highly recommend the Blues Wing.

We were able to walk into Willemstaad to explore, which was an easy 20 minute walk. We also ate dinner at several restaurants in Willemstaad, and our favorite meal of the trip was at Rozendaels, which is just across the street from the Avila. We mostly walked to dinners, but it was also easy get taxis, as they were always waiting in front of the hotel. It was also very easy to get taxis to and from the airport.

We cannot recommend the Avila enough... the staff was so nice, the bars were great for lunch and cocktails, and our room was lovely. My husband especially loved snorkeling in the lagoon! The water is crystal clear and calm. Thanks for an incredible trip!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor of the Blues Wing and would highly recommend-- big rooms with beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at the Avila for 7 nights .Overall, I would highly recommend this amazing hotel.From when we first arrived, we were greeted with a warm smile and made to feel very important and welcomed. The check in process was easy and efficient; the bellman was so polite and eager to take our luggage to our room.


The grounds were very nice and clean. The Beach was beautiful, very well maintained and private.

The pool area at the Avila was amazing. The pool was warm and clean and never seemed over crowded. The staff made the rounds for food and drinks and made sure you were well taken care of. There was ample seating and shade.

The trip tour desk was absolutely amazing. Lulu was helpful in making and planning our Curacao trips..The front desk staff, as mentioned before were amazing.

The food and drinks all top quality.

Lastly, were ALL the amazing, friendly and helpful staff at the Avila. This includes: the housekeepers, the security, the wait staff, the groundskeepers, front desk, gym, and everyone else I left out. They were so amazing and really made our trip to Curacao and very remarkable and unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prenzlauer Berg, Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went to Curacao in 2012 and it was the best holiday we've ever had. The Avila hotel is great for those who are looking for a peaceful and scenic place to stay. Our room was incredible and very clean and it was just a few yards from the beach. I unfortunately contracted a throat infection whilst in Curacao and was very ill and the staff in the hotel couldn't have been nicer or more helpful, even calling a doctor for me and calling the room later to see if I was ok. It's in a great location, walking distance into the town.

We would definitely come back here. It was everything we could have hoped for and more!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Let me just put it out there immediately -- this hotel was fabulous! We stayed in one of the Blues Rooms and the view is stunning. Waking up every morning to the waves and beautiful ocean is the way to start the day. These rooms are a bit older than the Octagon wing, but it was perfect for us. We stayed here for 5 nights after moving out of another hotel. We stopped by for the breakfast buffet on our way to diving and asked if they had any available rooms. The front desk lady researched while were at breakfast and had an answer once we were done. She very graciously agreed to show us a room so that we could be absolutely sure about what we were booking. Reserving it with our credit card took 5 minutes and the room was ready when we came back in the afternoon from diving. They gave us the rate for an octagon room even though the rate for the blues room was 100 dollars more expensive. All of the staff was so kind and helpful. They made dinner reservations for us, helped us with directions, etc.
The breakfast buffet was amazing -- food was delicious and fresh, they open early (perfect for divers), and you can be in and out quickly if need be.
I highly recommend this hotel. Would definitely stay here again.
P.S. I don't want to give the name of the hotel we vacated. It is highly rated on tripadvisor and definitely deserves it. the staff was wonderful and they credited us for the days that we didn't use (even the reservation was supposed to be nonrefundable). The apartment common area was unbearably hot -- there was no ceiling fan (apparently other apartments all had ceiling fans). The bedrooms had air conditioning and were fine, but we like to relax in the common area during the day and in the evening. the place was fully booked so we couldn't switch rooms. so we decided to leave. The avila was a top notch second home while were in Curacao

Room Tip: Blues Rooms are all ocean front. Octagon wing is newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avila Hotel - Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Hotel - Curacao

Address: Penstraat 130 | P.O. Box 791, Willemstad 130134, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Hotel - Curacao 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Avila Hotel - Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Hotel - Curacao Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila Hotel - Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.