We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, though overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avila Hotel - Curacao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Avila Hotel - Curacao to your Saves list
Avila Hotel - Curacao
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Penstraat 130 | P.O. Box 791, Willemstad 130134, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Willemstad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel, though overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Good location. Great beach. Nice though quite noisy room (we stayed in Blues Wing.)

Mixed experiences with staff...some friendly and attentive, others rude and act bothered by simple requests, some of which are outright forgotten (read: lunch service at beach from bar staff).

Beautiful resort. Good dinner food.

No wifi in room and wifi in lobby quite slow.

Experience well suited for beach-loungers and families.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    170
    54
    33
    19
See reviews for
70
324
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned from a week in Curacao at the Avila. My family and I really enjoyed this hotel. I have read some of the negative comments but have to say that there is no pleasing some people. All of the staff at the Avila were very nice and helpful. They all responded to smiles, good mornings etc. and made things quite pleasant. We had a room in the Blues wing which I know is not some folks 'cup of tea' but for anyone who is well traveled and adventurous, these rooms are 'authentic' Caribbean. The beautiful wood ceilings, wood beams and decks basically right on the ocean, in a small separate wing, make you feel like you are in your own resort. Having said that, these attributes also lead to the downside, which is the sound proofing (lack of) if you are on the first floor. Certainly didn't ruin our days!! Like many others commented, there are a number of good restaurants within a short walk and even the stroll to Punda is not far. Yes you need to go through a few blocks that look a little sketchy but we never felt unsafe. In addition to the restaurants listed in other reviews, I would highly recommend Ginger, which is just a bit further toward Punda. This is in sort of an 'art deco' area that includes the Wine bar and Miles. Also, we found Seasons to be very expensive and not really commensurate with the food and portion sizes.

The lunches at the pool bar are outstanding!! We miss the wraps already. All-in-all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: if you don't like noise ask for a room in the main building (Octagon) or a room on the second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Avila hotel for a week and had a great stay. The rooms are comfortable and well cleaned. Staff is friendly (in the beginning we sometimes had to get used to their Carribean speed of doing things :)). There are many excellent restaurants in the direct neighbourhood. Also, the coffee bar on the Avila property serves excelllent iced coffees and sandwiches. We were disappointed by the Blues bar though.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Our trip was beyond our expectations.  The culture, Dutch and Afro Caribbean, was warm, welcoming and a great combination.   Nataly, a manager, sent us off to night club dates that were beyond our normal experience and we enjoyed.; especially the Blues Bar at the Avila ( outstanding by San Francisco standards). The breakfast was fresh and varied.
The Avila Music Extravaganza (McDermott Trio, classical music) was exquisite and a beautiful memory for a birthday celebration.
The Blues Wing made it special by staying out on the ocean, as did the beautiful bays to snorkel inside and outside of the perimeter. The Kura Hulanda Museum was heartbreaking and very informative.  Many drives, sometimes lost, but fun to find our way around the island.
The staff was very helpful and fun.
A great journey from the Pacific Northwest and worth it.  We will send relatives and come again.  We are world travelers and you surprised us We thank you for all and hope to see you again.

Dan and Kathleen
Ashland Oregon

Sent from my iPad

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

8 of us spent Feb 24, 25 at this resort, I was stung by a box jellyfish, highly venomous, the staff was alerted and in minutes I was on my way to the E.R., the cheif security officer phoned ahead and I was taken immediately inside and treated. I can not say enough about the aid and concern I recieved from this terrific staff of persons that this resort employees. On a different side, the food, the service, the views of the ocean were outstanding, would recommend this resort to all. Dan Abramson, Pennsylvania

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was here for the 3rd time. The hotel is beautifully situated on the beach. This time I had a room in the Octagon wing with a beautiful sea view. The room was ok. Staff is very friendly and on a Carribean pace. Breakfast was OK. Summarising ok place to stay on a beautiful spot

Room Tip: You should try to get a room in the Octagon wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed five nights at the Avila--like a previous reviewer, we were in room 420 in the Octagon wing. We were happy, overall, with the quality of accommodation--bed was comfortable, the tiny kitchenette handy for storing snacks or preparing coffee, and the minimalistic furnishings were quite to our liking. But there were a few places where the Avila could stand to do some improving, and these were with their customer service. On three different occasions, we were forced to call down to the front desk to request someone come up to the room, either to replace something that the housekeeper hadn't bothered to replenish, to check on a maddeningly noisy thermostat, or to fix a fuse that (scarily) blew out on a power strip. In all instances, we waited AT LEAST an hour for anyone to arrive (which is not great when you're waiting to go to sleep or to go out to dinner), and in all instances, too, we had to place multiple calls to the front desk to see if anyone was actually going to show up. Either there's a major lack of communication and synchronicity between the front desk and the maintenance/housekeeping staff, or this is evidence of a lack of regard for guests' needs--but in either case, something really ought to be done to remedy this ongoing problem, mentioned plenty of times by other travelers in earlier reviews. We chose the Avila based on its reputation as a classy, stylish, non-chain resort, but after tooling around to visit a couple of other hotels on the island, we realized that the level of customer service provided by those chain resorts (Renaissance, Hyatt) was far superior to what we experienced at the Avila. If the administration could remedy this shortcoming, the Avila would truly deserve its four-star reputation.

A couple of recommendations:

For cold sodas, snacks, and drugstore items, the Botica Juliana is just a few blocks down the road (walking in the direction of Otrabanda) and there's a good supermarket about a half-mile from the resort (in the other direction).

You WILL discover that the taxi rates are exorbitant (seriously, we paid $12 to be driven less than a mile to a different resort), so in most cases, you'd be better off renting a car (Budget is in the Avila lobby); the driving is relatively easy here and you'll get to see far more of the island than just Punda/Otrabanda. Even getting gas here is no big deal--we recommend the Vanddis station just down the road from the Avila (next to the supermarket) as the staff were helpful and kind.

The food at the Avila is really just not good. If you're going to eat here, keep it simple and stick to the stuff you can order at the Pool Bar or the Schooner Bar (sandwiches/salads/snacks)--all the elegant food at La Belle Terrace was overcooked or significantly overseasoned, and the breakfast options on the overpriced buffet were mediocre at best. We were much happier picking up some delicious European-style yogurt at the grocery and enjoying breakfast on our lovely patio.

Take advantage of the hotel shuttle into Willemstad--it runs twice a day!

Room Tip: The Octagon wing is the way to go--room 420 has a spectacular view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avila Hotel - Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Hotel - Curacao

Address: Penstraat 130 | P.O. Box 791, Willemstad 130134, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Hotel - Curacao 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avila Hotel - Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Hotel - Curacao Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avila Hotel - Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.