We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao to your Saves list
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bapor Kibra s/n, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Kontiki Dive and Beach Resort Curacao)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Voorburg, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great place to stay.Our room was excelent located. It was a garden view but we actually had a garden and sea view room. The staff is great.The personnel was very friendly and helpful. You have a lot of privacy and the rooms are very nice. I would like to visit the hotel again when I am in Curacao. Hope to go back next year....

Room Tip: if you want a good spleep, ask for a room near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPlaza, General Manager at Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Bon tardi ! ( good afternoon ),

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you are planning to come back. It would be a pleasure for us to assist you for your next reservations, you can always get in contact with us via email: bookings@kontikibeachresort.com or telephone: +5999 4651600.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    99
    23
    18
    10
See reviews for
40
195
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paramaribo, Suriname
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I can't describe what I've experienced at Kontiki beach Resort Curacao. I was overwhelmed with joy when I set my eyes on the hotel. Thanks to Tripadvisor I found that hotel. The personnel was very friendly and helpful. Behind the hotel was the beach and it was just perfect. It's the place to be when you are on your honeymoon, anniversary or when you are just in love. You have a lot of privacy and the rooms are very neat. I like to visit that hotel again when I am in Curacao.
Hope to go back next year

Room Tip: Last wing of the hotel, that's where the magic happens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerencevdValk, General Manager at Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here at the Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially proud to hear that it was our associates who made the difference. They work very hard to deliver excellent service and I am certain that they will find your comments very encouraging.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon to Curacao.

Tangi! en Mo syi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We loved or visit here, picturesque, quite, romantic and on a "Hoppin" Beach. Food at the restaurant is quite good. We'll stay here again, lovely grounds , good highly trained friendly staff.

Only two minor cons: one, lighting in the room is very dim ( others might say romantic), so unpacking the suitcase was difficult; and two, the plug for the coffee pot is under the desk. there for one must crawl under the desk to plug it in and crawl under again to unplug it in order to pour the hot water ( the cord is very very short)

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coen M, Guest Relations Manager at Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guests, thank you for your message. We are honoured to hear your stay was perfect. We would like to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our room was excelent located. It was a garden view but we actually had a garden and sea view room. The staff is great. The cleaning crew ok, they did not change our sheets exept upon request. The bell service extraordinary (Balentina).

The beach is great, very secure, and safe. You can walk down the boardwalk to other resorts restaurants and shopping. Great for family, very near many watersports attractions. Scuba, snorkeling, parasailing, sea aquarium, banana boats ext. Next door to a Casino, there is a free shuttle service that takes you to a supermarket for one hour at 9:30 and at 15:30. Recommended if you want to save money, buy some food and serve yourself on the beautiful private balcony of the hotel rooms.

Thwe only bad side is the quietness of tghe room. If ytou are a light sleeper you might not want to stay here. If you are a moderate sleeper or deep sleeper (like me) definitly stay here.

It is the most beautifull resort in the vecinity. If you are a nature lover really stay here. The concept of the hotel is based around preservation of nature, from the materials used (althougfh your shower water might not be as hot as you would like at times, because they use solar panels to heat it up). The Cabana restaurant they work with srves a good buffet breakfast, lots of snacks, good stores to get you basics (towels, snorkeling equipment at reasonable price, sunblock, etc.)

I would definitaly go again if I were to visit Curacao. We hired a loca; taxi driver to and from the airport, he was on time and great and only USD25 each way for the cab not per person (curacao_taxidriver@yahoo.com 00(5999)5115511)

Have fun!!!!

Room Tip: the ones in building 22 and 23 are good. Not sea view but you will still have some sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coen M, Guest Relations Manager at Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your message. We feel honoured that you had a nice holiday in Kontiki! Were satisfied the room and the resort and our service were good for you. Thank you for the suggestions. We like to welcome you again in Kontiki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We just called to reception and answer was that there is beach party EVERY Wed and Sat night. DO NOT STAY in this hotel if you want to have a good nighg sleep or relax after hot day! Music is VERY LOUD! I'm more than very dissapointed!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

If you like to go to the cottage or a cabin for your vacation then you will probably fit right in at this location. Don't count on absolute quiet from any next door neighbours or those above your room. If the lady above you is wearing her heels, or they move their furniture, you will hear that. If any one next to you closes a door(ours rubbed along the floor every time it was moved) or speaks, you will hear that, not to mention the racket the air conditioner makes while operating. Expect the shower to turn on by itself at any time day or night, or the ceiling above the shower to drip down into yours where there is mold or mildew as there is no ventilation fan to be found. Also before you enter the shower, be sure to place a floor mat or even extra towels by the sliding shower door, as the floor floods due to lack of water tight shower doors. You will find the wet floor to be dangerously slippery without the mat or towel there. The shower did provide sufficient water volume in both hot and cold temperatures, despite the call for water conservation because of it's high cost due to the need of desalination. Don't expect a light above your mirror to be able to shave-although the exterior lights stay on day and night, despite the call for conservation of electricity due to it's cost. In the bedroom the lighting is dim at best, so if you need to read small print bring along a flashlight or be prepared to read under the bed lamp. It appears these islanders don't use a face cloth to wash their face because there are no facecloths to be found on site. Don't expect any electrical outlets in the washroom because there are non and be sure to turn on the ceiling light in the washroom(outside of the bathroom) before entering the doorway, lest you step on a cockroach en route or end up NOT on the potty in the dark. It may be wise to bring a normal size pillow ergonomically suitable for your body and perhaps something to keep your body from bending/sinking into the unsupported mattress from causing a backache. Don't ask me why there are so many electrical wires both inside and outside of your unit that protrude from the ceiling or walls. Perhaps some work went unfinished or there is no concern for the safety of the visitors. Your clothes dresser will consist of an exposed shelf unit. Dressers with drawers are probably in short supply. There are several 220 volt (two round prong holes) receptacles, however we did find one 110 volt receptacle under a desk that was available for us after we spent a considerable amount of money for a transformer and a dual voltage hair blower. Lucky for us as we had brought an extension cord and splitter with us, for use of our personal items that use 110 volts. We had not been warned in advance of the lack of 110 volt supply, and we never thought to ask, since Aruba had it when we visited that island a few years earlier. Although both islands have Dutch backgrounds, it appears Curacao is more oriented to the Dutch than Aruba is, and this is evident in menus, product pricing, signage and a lot of other instances. We did not use the pools as it appeared vegetation floating made it apparent that the daily cleaning was lacking. We did not use the vending machines for snacks as the machines only took Dutch coinage. We never ate at the Kontiki restaurant, as we had a problem justifying the cost of their food that we did not recognize. Snorkeling was average, however, the closer you snorkel by the rock water-break or the canal between Cabana beach and Sunscape beach and into the ocean the better the chance of seeing variety. We enjoyed the walk along the beach Blvd to Seaquarium where there are numerous shops, eateries, and a dive shop called Ocean Encounters. We booked a snorkeling trip with Ocean Encounters to the "Tugboat" site, which perhaps has the best variety and quantity of marine life in the area. I would recommend their snorkel strip to the "Tugboat".

Room Tip: If you are given an option of rooms try to get one closest to the reception building(north side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We arrived here yesterday for our honeymoon. First; Nobody said anything to congratulate us in the lobby. Cold service. We had a written note in our booking that we are in our honeymoon, but still we were booked into a room/cabin next to the party beach. We have not been sleeping for two days since the music is banging all day- all night. We are in our 30's and love to party too sometimes, but this is too much. We tried to get a new room today from the lobby, but they just said that the resort is fully booked. Great. This is not exactly what we thought as our honeymoon:(

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coen M, Guest Relations Manager at Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for message. We are sorry that our service didn't satisfy your wishes. Feel free to contact our frontoffice@kontikibeachresort.com for your comments. Thank you. Friendly Regards from the Kontiki team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao

Address: Bapor Kibra s/n, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Kontiki Dive and Beach Resort Curacao)
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Curaçao: Kontiki Beach Resort CuraçaoThis charming hotel is situated right on Seaquarium Beach, just 5 minutes’ drive from central Willemstad. The Kontiki Beach Resort offers a natural, typical Caribbean garden, an outdoor pool and attractive, modern bungalows with a private veranda.The bungalows at Kontiki Beach Resort feature tiled floors and dark wood panelling. Each one comes with free Wi-Fi, a fridge and a private bathroom.Kontiki Beach Resort features an outdoor pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. Guests can spend the day scuba diving or swimming with dolphins, then relax on the cozy and comfortable beach beds of Kontiki. The restaurant of Cabana Beach serves a delicious dinner, in addition to live jazz music. Additionally, guests can visit the Cabana Beachclub for an extensive breakfast buffet or a wonderful party night with live music played by the island’s well-known artists.The hotel can arrange scuba diving lessons, and there is a wide range of water sports on offer. Hato Airport is just 20 minutes' drive from Kontiki.Hotel amenities: Airconditioning Free, allround WIFI Flat screen TV  Front Office Sunshade Laundry service Beach towels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontiki Dive And Beach Resort Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.