We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in Curacao - thanks, Renaissance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
40% OFF at REN CURACAO
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
1 review
“Relaxing stay in Curacao - thanks, Renaissance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed at Renaissance Resort for 4 nights in mid-October for our honeymoon and the stay was wonderful! To start off with the room:

Nice size, beautiful vibrant colors, good size balcony. Our room was on the end of the hotel and technically though an "Island King" to overlook the city, being on the end we got a great view of the ocean and dock as well. The bed is super comfy - firm enough for support but with a nice two inch pillowtop for softness you can sink into =). Nice sized bathroom. I really enjoyed the bathroom mirror and lightning. The shower had good pressure and a curved curtain rod so the curtain wouldn't billow up and stick to you. It did unnerve me that the toilet was a low-flow toilet so just fair warning! =)

Location to the city is great - so close to the Rif Fort shopping center and restaurants. The shopping is more on the luxurious side (Max Mara, Mango, multiple jewelery shops, Guess, etc) but there's a nice mix of eateries and restaurants. It's nice having several restaurants so close by because some close at 11 whereas it seemed a lot of the rest of the city closed shop at 6.

The staff is nice and helpful, especially those at the front desk. We only ate breakfast once there; the buffet was had great food - not bad for USD$40 for 2 ppl considering we could get seconds or thirds or stay for however long we wanted. Service was adequate, not crazy on top of it but not awful either. People have to realize also a lot of tropical places are on "island time" lol so just relax! =)

I wasn't really used to so many additional charges like local calls from our hotel phone, the multiple service charges plus high tax charges, but it seemed like it was like that all over the island =/.

The salt water infinity pool was amazing! I loved that it mimicked a real beach without being as rocky as many other Curacao beaches. Fantastic aspect! I wasn't used to the pool being so far away from the elevators and therefore our room but the benefit was the interior of the hotel stayed nice and clean, no sand being tracked in.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    437
    98
    29
    11
See reviews for
208
498
49
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We went to the Renaissance because we know Curacao and wanted to try the "new" hotel for the pools and sea view mainly. We were not disappointed as we upgraded to the Sea View Room (well worth it) and loved watching the ships go in and out through the town. We also had a cruise ship dock outside our room one day which was entertaining to us.
The hotel itself was Ok. Service in restaurant was a bit hit and miss but buffet breakfasts were good quality and a-la-carte food at dinner one night was excellent. Otherwise we ate out. Loved the pool and "beach". My main gripe was that our room was not serviced until after 5pm on 4 nights out of 5 we were there and usually just when we were getting showered and ready to go out at night. I also found the beds too soft and the air-conditioning very noisy and "breezy" right onto the bed. This was, for us, not good. On our last night I actually declined the service and just asked for some fresh towels so we could get ready to go out for dinner. Apart from this, I would stay again mainly for the location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

The facility was spotless, the breakfast buffet was nice but redundant. The food otherwise at the hotel was not very good. The infinity pool/beach was much nicer than I anticipated. You really feel as if you are on a private beach and you don't have to worry about any sea critters. The area is quite busy with the cruise ships and the attached mall, so if you want a secluded area, this is not the place. The staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed for four nights after three nights at the most exclusive joint on the island. We went with the all inclusive plan (mostly for the liquor) and were pretty disappointed in the food and service in the restaurants. Our meals (when we didn't do the buffet) always took forever to get to our table. Twice the waiter got us another round of drinks (he didn't know we were all inclusive) due to the ridiculous delay in serving us. All but top shelf liquor was included, though the beer selection was weak. It wasn't until the last night that I saw Duvel was available in bottles. Where were you hiding that? The waiters almost always tried to steer us towards the buffet and wouldn't bring you a menu until you asked. Good luck getting your water refilled.

Despite the lackluster dining experience, it is a beautiful hotel and in a great location in Otrobanda. The 'infinity' beach pool was novel, but I would prefer the real thing. The contractors that help arrange tours and activities were knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Chose the Renaissance because of its location, easy walking distance to Punda - it has a saltwater pool, but it's not a beach resort. We got a deal with $200 food and beverage credit at the hotel, so we ate at the restaurant a few times - the service was atrocious every time. Everything was buffet, which isn't really a good deal unless you plan on eating a lot. It's nearly impossible to get a menu out of them. They want you at the buffet so you serve yourself, but the hotel adds a 15% "service fee" for the privilege of doing so. You can eat as much as you want, but you may die of thirst before you can get attention of the waitstaff to get a drink. I finally gave up and started going to the wait station and refilling my water glass myself, thinking it would shame them into kicking the service up a notch, but no one noticed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

I stayed at the Marriot R from Aug. 29 until Sept. 4.. The only thing missing is the beach outside the door but with their pool, you will think you are at the beach.

The hotel is clean, service was great, and the best part of the hotel, it is close to everything. We could walk to restaurants and shopping. The best beaches were just a rental car away.
During the week we stayed there, the Jazz festival was taking place. We were leaving on the last day of the festival so we didn't attend the concert. It did have some good headliners like George Benson, Natalie Cole, Segio Medez to name a few.

Even though we didn't attend the concert, our hotel set up a stage in the lobby for an after concert jam session which was free. It lasted from 01:00 until 05:00 in the morning. I couldn't last that long but the music was great.

So no complaints from me. I definately recommend this hotel. Just remember, this time of year, it is hot and extremely humid

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

My mom and I went to Curaçao on a 3 night 4 day vacation deal and this was the hotel we selected. I was a little unsure because of the photos on their site and the reviews here on TripAdvisor but we were pleasantly surprised! This hotel is AWESOME. First of all, it is in the middle of town so getting around is fairly easy. We decided to rent a car our first day and the Budget rent-a-car is inside the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The casino is a decent size and even on a Monday night you can find a decent crowd gambling away. The restuarant food is delicious. Try the soup samplers (the pumpkin is my favorite!). The shops are all located in the Renaissance plaza which is all inside Rif Fort. All your shopping desires are also there... Deisel, Diamonds International, XOXO, Max Mara, Armani Exhange, the Bentley Jewelers whose name I forget, Swiss watchmakers...etc etc... and all this is inside the hotel complex. The beds are super comfortable. As for the rate, we got a steal, and noted that even though we didnt have a great view, we paid nothing next to the $612 max rate posted just below the emergency escape plans. Another thing, their is one issue of subterfuge: Infinity Beach isn't really a "beach" per se. It has all the trappings of a beach, sand, sun, and all but it is not like the ones on the other coasts, because the hotel is located in the harbor. Nonetheless, they did an AMAZING job of recreating one out of water directly from the Caribbean overlooking the harbor. I've never seen anything like it. Palms trees and all! Anyway, if I come back to Curaçao in the near future, I won't even consider another hotel. Nice job Renaissance.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
0.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#4 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.8 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
#3 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
2.0 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 29 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.