We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will surely miss Curacao.....but will surely go back soon!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% with VISA
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Oranjestad, Aruba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will surely miss Curacao.....but will surely go back soon!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Just tayed a week at Renaissance...it was awesome! From the special greeting from the doorman(bellman) to the check-in with the refreshing bottle of water. The staff in general...specially Elizabeth at the beach bar (INFINTY). makes me want to go back!! Thank you Renaissance for a nice experience. We could do anythig in the area, from dining to shopping!! We will surely go back!

Room Tip: 2nd floor was awesome! Near the Gym and swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Kikeaaron,

Thank you so much fro your great review!

We are so thrilled to read your great comments and we are truly proud of Elizabeth in particular. Our staff works really hard to create a great experience for each guest and to read we are doing well is very motivating! We hope you have purchased something memorable while shopping on Curacao!

It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    453
    102
    31
    11
See reviews for
222
513
49
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

If the smoke smell and noise of the casino dont bother you when you enter then you should be fine.
Surprising that there was no free internet in a hotel of this calibre unless you went to Starbuck's.The room was itself clean though dated and when we had a problen with poor service at the "guest services desk" the manager went above and beyond to correct.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Miss P G,

We take all feedback very seriously and we appreciate you took the time to write your review.

We have been discussing the different options to eliminate the smoke smell + the casino noises from the lobby and the management team has come to the decision to close the glass door that separates the casino from the lobby. It has made a huge positive difference in the lobby experience! This has also added value to a more serene free WiFi option, next to our Infinity beach and Starbucks.

While it is sad to see you have experienced poor service, we are happy to read it has been corrected. We have spoken to our entire team and work on continuous training sessions to improve service and prevent poor service in the first place!

We really do hope to see you back at our resort and are confident you will like the lobby so much more now!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The prices are reasonable for what you get and the rooms while not that spacious are very clean and the beds will get you relaxed in a hurry.Only down side is the noise from the Fort area later in the evening if you are turning in early for an early flight. Also cabs to and from run 30 to 35 us per trip + tip so that can add up the cost. The place is centrally located for an easy walk over the Emma bridge to the old section and all of its charm.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the quite place to be
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Dives-to-much,

We really appreciate you took the time to write about your recent stay at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino.

We are excited to hear you took the opportunity to walk across the Emma Bridge and appreciated the charm of the city! You are right by saying that cab charges can add up during your vacation, which is one of the reasons why we have a Budget Car Rental on site.

Please stop by our Navigator desk the next time you come visit us for some insider tips!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Renaissance Curacao is a good option for the downtown area. Nice shopping area and restaurants at the Reef Fort next to the property.
Lobby and bar next to the casino, a bit to load.
Rooms have good space.
I would recommend to change the desk chairs, actual are not for working after hours.

Interesting option of having a saltwater pool, nice bar and good food.

Enjoy it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Efraenkel,

Thank you so much for your review and your constructive feedback.

We are happy to announce that we have closed the doors between the casino and the lobby. This has resulted in a more serene lobby and bar area. This decision has been based on all the great feedback we receive from our guests and we would really like to thank you for bringing it to our attention!

We hope to welcome you back so you can enjoy our improvements first hand and explore the downtown area further!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Since we arrived to Renaissance, it was a great experience for me.
for my husband was his second trip to curacao and staying at Renaissance. and it was my first time for both things.
It was our HONEYMOON! Jennifer, the front desk agent gave us the welcome to the hotel and Alexis the bellman helped us with our luggage.
The installation, the room, everything over there was nice, cozy, elegant, clean and beautiful.
The staff always have a nice smile in their face. good touch for this hotel.
we enjoyed the private beach, wow! a huge project! in my first saw to the area i though it was the pool but my husband corrected that idea and told me that the beach. you can see my pictures. I love it this area!
The Renaissance hotel is well located next to the Rif Fort with a live in the mornings and nights too. during the days you can see tourists arrive from the cruise and night you can enjoy time in the restaurants nearby, spend time in the Rif fort and go to the cinemas which are so close to the hotel. we are cinema lovers that means we visited the cinemas three time that week.
Our room had half view to the boulevard and half view to the beach. the beach was in the second floor OMG!!! nice touch! down the beach you can find stores!
You have everything around!
Thanks Renaissance Curacao team for make my honeymoon special!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Pauarmella,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for spending your honeymoon with us!

We absolutely love your pictures and want to thank you for sharing them! We are truly glad to hear you have enjoyed this special celebration! Thank you so much for remembering Jennefer and Alexis! We will make sure that everyone will read your great review, it always motivates positively!

We wish you a lot of happiness and hope to see you back on your anniversary!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed with my wife and daughter for 5 nights at Renaissance on begin of July.
The first room we were assigned was smelling mold so requested another one. The 2nd one there was no smell and very clean. The hotel is comfortable and the private beach is really awesome.
Location is good if you do not have a car since you can cross the bridge and go to bars, restaurants and stores in downtown.
The casino is attached to the lobby and the smell of cigarette is strong. If you want to use free wifi at the lobby you will have to deal with this horrible smell. You can also use the free wifi at the private beach.
We did not have any meal inside the hotel because we preferred to go other restaurants in downtown (I will review them in other posts).
I do recommend it if you are staying with your family with young children.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Clnunes,

Wow! What a great pictures, thank you for sharing them on TripAdvisor!

We apologize for the smell in the first room and are happy to see you got reassigned to a different room. It really seems that you have explored the Island together with your wife and daughter!

It would be great to have you back and enjoying our Infinity beach again!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This resort is located in the middle of everything, shops, restaurants, historic buildings and has the most amazing views of the harbor and the ocean. The rooms are a bit small but they are very clean and modern. They have a super size heated saltwater infinity pool which is super relaxing and decent size freshwater pool. The food at all the restaurants are great (not that cheap). One thing I love is the Starbucks at the 2nd floor which opens from 6am till 10pm. There are many other restaurants and bars like 2 minutes walking distance at the Riffort Village. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear BVLC1,

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review about our resort again!

We are really blessed with our great location, which definitely will connect you to our local area. We are glad to read you have enjoyed our Infinity beach and went exploring to nearby shops & restaurants!

We hope to see you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
0.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#4 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao
#3 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.8 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 29 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Curacao Marriott Beach Resort & Emerald Casino
2.0 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 29 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.