We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and extremly nicer staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and extremly nicer staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

every time I come to Curacao I stay in this hotel. The hotel has a very nice lobby and the rooms are great as long as you do not get an interior room. The interior one are nice rooms but you need to have the curtains downs since on the other side they have a hall with the meeting area and you do not have any privacy. The infinity pool simulates an artificial beach that has a great view of the ocean. The staff is very friendly and always happy whiling and able to help you for anything you might need.

Room Tip: No interior room and no room looking to the baseball field since there is noise from the cars passin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    383
    82
    25
    8
See reviews for
178
439
40
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel staff are very pleasant and willing to serve. The food is tasty, except the fish which needs more seasonings. The rooms are comfortable and cleaned excellently. The only drawback is that the pool closes at 7:00 pm sharp and the second floor lacks privacy and smells because of the high traffic of non-guests in Starbucks and the stale smell of ground coffee. None of the other floors have this smell or such high traffic, There could be more security at the entrance and there were too many non-guests with easy access to anywhere on the hotel compound.

When going to town AVOID THE STORE CONNECTIONS. They were very unscrupulous in their sales policy charging arbitrary prices as well as PnP which also seems a bit shady in dealing with non-residents. BE EXTRA CAREFUL. Shop around before purchasing from those stores and different branches have very different prices. I believe they charge based on how much money they think they can fleece from you.
But overall GREAT EXPERIENCE!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are smelly with high non-guest traffic .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from a 5 day trip to Curacao. We stayed at the Renaissance. the only bad side was the cigarette smell as soon as you walk in the lobby. We had a room on the 2nd floor and you could actually smell it all the way to the room. Once you went in your room you didn't smell it any longer. Such a nice place to stay but they really need to do something about that cigarette smell. Other than that I would give it a 5 star. The staff is very friendly. Very nice people in Curacao. I loved their man made beach it was one of the highlights of our trip. I was not impressed with the beaches on the west side due to the rocks. I would advise for you to take water shoes if you are planning on excursions to any of the beaches in Curacao. The beaches are beautiful though.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I've had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for over three months. Other than some minor issues all in all it's probably one of the nicer places to stay in Curaçao! The beach salt water pool has an outstanding view that rivals most beach views at other hotels. A full service bar at the pool so you can enjoy some great cocktails while enjoying the sunshine! The location of the hotel is perfect for walking to a bunch of different attractions. The refrigerator is rather small if you are spending much time there. It fits about a six pack of beer only. The food is good to the taste but rather expensive. The staff is some of the friendliest people I have ever encountered at a hotel. From the door men to the managers everyone always seems to be extremely happy to help you! I would stay at this place again with out a doubt!

Room Tip: I would ask for an ocean facing room! It's a little more expensive but you get a great view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was a return trip and again a much needed week of vacation and SCUBA diving after a strenuous period at work. Our last trip was in November 2011. This trip, we had a ocean view room with a balcony. When we arrived, the hotel offered to upgrade us to a large suite, which was beautiful, but we declined figuring correctly: we really were not in our room that much. The man-made “Infinity Beach” is still exceptional and very relaxing. With the hotel at 85% occupancy, we hardly ever saw anyone, and as usual, there were plenty of beach towels and chairs (same as our previous visit). Again, this week, after a morning of SCUBA, we spent the afternoons at the beach. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. This trip we got to know the Infinity Club bartenders. We sampled the daily cocktail, but eventually decided to pay the cork fee and bring our own wine to the beach for the afternoon. As with our previous trip, we rented a car from Budget, but unlike last time, we had no issues with the car – either driving the 20 minutes from the airport (a very easy drive), or the 20 minutes to and from Ocean Encounters at Lions Dive and Beach Resort, which I will review separately. We found the food at the resort very plentiful and better than our previous trip. Based upon our previous trip, I did not sample the buffet; my wife had the buffet breakfast on our last morning and it was quite tasty. The resort also has restaurants throughout the Rif Fort area, so there are lots of choices. We ate and drank at Soprano’s and enjoyed sitting outside enjoying the warm weather (and a cigar or two). We did not go into the casino; it did have a rather dour odor of stale smoke. As with our last trip, there was always a broken monitor in one of the elevators. We ate at the Bistro Le Clochard , Ema –Tei and a new restaurant: Royal Dutch Cheesery. The latter is now our new favorite, which I will review separately.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We could not have asked for better accommodations. Check in was quick and smooth. The hotel decor was very modern, the staff was very welcoming, courteous and polite. The hotel was located in the heart of the city. Everything from high end shopping to the local markets was within walking distance. The hotel has a great man-made beach and two infinity pools. The beach had an outdoor bar and a massage area. The hotel food was very good. We were there for seven days and enjoyed room service for dinner twice and breakfast once. We were able to get our rental car there at the hotel as well as book our attractions and adventures. The concierge, Alexis was very nice and gave us a tour of the hotel and got us situated. The hotel manager Freddy Castillo was great and checked with us regularly to make sure we were enjoying our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear EDR1103,

We really appreciate you took the time to right such a positive review about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino!

It most definitely sounds like you have enjoyed the entire stay and that really makes us feel good about what we are doing! At Renaissance we are all in the business to create wonderful experiences and help each guest discover something new and it sounds like we have accomplished that with you!

It would be wonderful if we could welcome yo back once more to our resort!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, within an easy walk to lots of dining and shopping in old town. The service was amazing--putting hospitality back into the hospitality businesses. but the most amazing is the man-made beach on an otherwise rocky beach, where a large invisible-edge pool, with plenty of sand and palms, overlooks the ocean, creating the illusion and reality that you really are at the beach!

Room Tip: Find good deals in shoulder seasons. If you opt for ocean view, go at least to third floor if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Chris C,

We would like to thank you for your positive review!

We always strive to provide excellent service and it is absolutely pleasing to hear you found our service amazing! Our Infinity Beach is unique and we are very proud of this private treasure!

We certainly hope you will return to our resort soon!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.