We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay for a honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking Bonus
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Willemstad
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay for a honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is the perfect place to stay if you are on your honeymoon or simply a first timer to Curacao. It is right across a walking bridge to the Handelskade, the colorful downtown area of Willemstad. It was very cool to see the big ships going and in and out of the canal. The hotel has a great casino, clean rooms, clean grounds, and a great staff. Everyone was very friendly. Angelique at the front desk was great and the folks in the travel center will set you up for any activities you want to do which makes it very simple. Activities were very affordable and I highly recommend the all inclusive package. It gives you a great bang for your buck. Food and drinks were good, beds were plush and comfy, pillows were perfectly firm. Water pressure could have been better, but I guess we have just been spoiled by our strong city water pressure back home. The artificial infinity pool was nice. Honestly, don't let a natural beach stop you from booking here. Most of the coastline in the country is very rocky. The hotels that have natural coastline are either very far away from the action or in an area of town that you wouldn't want to walk around in at night. Those hotels you can't walk every where. Here you can shop at the Renaissance mall right in the hotel grounds, shop and dine in the rif fort, or dine out in the Handelskade or in Punda or Otrobanda. We'll be back. Thanks for making our honeymoon magical!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for an ocean view, it's worth it, you're on vacation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    370
    79
    25
    7
See reviews for
177
426
40
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a room with a balcony overlooking the infinty beach pool and ocean on the 4th floor. It was wonderful. I liked watching the ships come in between the two forts. Very lively on a Saturday night. Very clean room. Staff very professional. One day we went shooping and forgot the safe was left open with cash and jewerly and nothing was touched. Nice location in the fort but all the restuarants in it a little overpriced. Nice short walk to downtown & shopping area. Room service was prompted. Breakfast at the hotel was good. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 412 and would loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Location and the unique infinity pool are the most memorable aspects of this property. The location is close to all the restaurants, bars and shopping as well as historic downtown. The staff were friendly and the hotel is in good shape. The Riftford area is right next to the hotel which has great places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The staff was pretty helpful and nice, and the unique "private beach" was a nice twist, but I still like having a real beach to snorkel in and watch fish. The food was pretty american, but Infinity (by the infinity salt water beach/pool) really had the best dinners! Cru steak house was ok, but didn't care for the sauces or salty asparagus soup. Service at all restaurants is laid back, typical of the Carribean. The room was clean and location within walking distance to downtown was good. I would return and stay here again, and the all inclusive plan is pretty good.

Room Tip: There are only 4 floors, and the pool is on the 2nd level. I would avoid an "atrium" view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I traveled with another couple to Curacao from September 21-28th. We couldn't decide if we wanted to be in the city or secluded on a beach. We are loyal Marriott people, so we did 3 nights here and 3 nights at the Marriott.

For the Renaissance:
- The location was awesome. You could walk out of the resort and get right into town. We did a lot of meals on our own and not at the resort. There was a local market not too far, that you could grab snacks and beer. (PS Polar beer, is there local beer and is cheap and very good!!)

- The rooms were spacious and very clean. There is a fridge in the room, but it is very small. About half the size of a normal hotel fridge.

- The staff was okk. I am normally not very uptight about the service, but no one seemed to know what was going on. I do have the say the bell stand was phenomenal!! All the gentleman there are very friendly and can help you with anything you need. The front desk girl Vinita is WONDERFUL!! She was the front desk person who knew what was going on. She took the time to go above and beyond.

- They have a pool, it's located on the 2nd floor of the hotel. It has salt water and sand on the bottom, so you feel like you in the ocean.

- The gym was nice, had the basics, nothing super about it. We were very bummed to find out the suana wasn't working, and hasn't been for months.

Overall, I would come back to this hotel, but I enjoyed the Marriott down the road better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our first stop during our week in Curacao.
It was also the first time we stayed in a resort-type hotel, which is usually not the kind of place we stay in. But the whole experience was rather pleasant. I would rather give a 3 and a half stars if I could.

The hotel is conveniently located in Otrabanda, facing Punda. So you can walk anywhere, still enjoying a quiet time at night. There;s a few clothing stores and a coffee steps from the entrance, and plenty of restaurants around.
Every staff member we spoke with was very friendly.

Our room (not the one we had booked, but a similar one) wasn't facing the ocean - if you chose an ocean view, note you will have a beach club below your balcony - but was spacious, comfortable and clean.
There's a small casino in the hotel which can be fun.
The hotel has two "inifinity" pools, one with clear water, and the other one recreates an actual beach, very cool.

I only found food wasn't great. Neither the buffet in the lobby (everynight is a buffet with a different cuisine), and the restaurant next door (Cru), which I found overpriced (similar prices to NYC...), were not amazing experiences. There are much better places if you walk a little (i.e Gouverneur restaurant)

Overall it was a good experience, perfect for the two nights we stayed there. I would personally not stay there a whole week, but the place would probably be fine if you planned to.

I would recommend to stay there for a couple of days, but then go elsewhere in the island, there's so much more to see!

Room Tip: Just keep in mind "Ocean View" rooms are located just above the beach club, which can be n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I am a Marriott platinum member and have spent over 150 nights at the Marriott over the past year and so I have stayed at my fair share of Marriott’s. Below are my thoughts:
Location: This Renaissance is in a great location and in the heart of Williamstead, which is the capital city of Curacao. So, you are very close to the floating market, flea market, museums and local restaurants and bars. Everything is within walking distance. The area is right on the water and there is a beautiful bridge that connects both sides of the Williamstead.
The Renaissance is also a part of the Rif Fort which is an outdoor mall that has several restaurants. You can find many western shops such as Tiffany’s, Max Mara and Mango. There is also a movie theatre and Starbucks on the corner. This is a positive but also a negative because the area is fairly crowded on the weekends and is a hang out spot for the local teenagers. However, the teenagers just seem to be having a good time and no one bothers you.
If you are considering staying at the other Marriot then I will warn you that it is not walking distance to Williamstead. It is about a $15-$20 cab ride depending on what time of day it. There also is not any restaurants near the property and so you would have to eat at the hotel restaurants or take a cab ride somewhere else.
The hotel is also fairly close to the airport. It is about a $30 cab ride.
Staff: The staff is fairly nice and accommodating. If I had any issues they were immediately addressed. It did not seem that all of the staff was familiar with offerings for frequent travelers, but once I spoke to the right person I received the perks for being a platinum member.
Also, the wait staff and concierge are not as attentive based on what I am used to. I’m from New York and so my opinion may be a little biased, however they seem to operate at their own pace when came to items such as bringing over water or menus etc. It may just be the island way of life- taking your time and not rushing.
Pool/Beach: Though Curacao is considered a Caribbean island it does not have the white sandy beaches that you would associate with an island. Most of the island is surrounded by high cliffs and the few beaches that exist are on the west side of the island and they are small and the sand is not that fine. It’s as if the island sits onto of a mountain especially since the water right off the shore is as deep as 20 feet.
Thus, there is not beachfront property at the Renaissance or any other hotel in this area. However, the Renaissance has a man-made beach on the second level of the hotel and it has an infinity pool. The beach is beautiful and for awhile you forget that you are not on a real beach. The Renaissance is the only hotel that has this feature.
Things to do:
The Wiliamstead area has several museums, however I did not visit any. This trip was a lot about relaxation for me and that is what I experienced. The island is fairly small and so you can get als
Pros
• Man-made beach with the infinity pool
• Location in Williamstead
• Plenty of restaurants
Cons
• Location in outdoor mall- which is not that bad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Marriott, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.