We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner t'oo busy to help customers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Landhuis Daniel Plantation Restaurant

Landhuis Daniel Plantation Restaurant
Weg naar Westpunt z/n, Banda Abou, Willemstad, Curacao
+ 5999 8648400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 140 Restaurants in Willemstad
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Owner t'oo busy to help customers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Dinner was an ordeal at Daniel. The place was almost empty when we arrived. Our server could not speak a word of English and could not explain the specials which were written on a chalk board which we could not interpret. The owner sat a few tables away and watched what was occurring but didn't budge or even offer help. He was entertaining one of his food suppliers and was too busy complaining about his lettuce. The owner was also smoking cigars. I know there are no rules about smoking in Curacao but come on....the owner stinking up the restaurant and spoiling the aromas for his guests.

The food was oily and over salted. We had the seafood stew, mussels and French onion soup. This place is not worth the effort or the drive.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    78
    34
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yummy Food, Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This restaurant was the food highlight of our week long trip to Curacao. The prices were on par with other restaurants on the island, but the quality of the food was far above every other restaurant we ate at and portion size was perfect. In fact, we ate dinner here twice, including for our anniversary. The first night, hubby had curried goat stew and I had the salt fish - both were great. The salt fish was kind of a rice casserole with a few veggies, and obviously pieces of salt cooked fish. I wasn't sure what to expect when I ordered it but it was lovely - although being served with a side of rice was a bit of overkill. The second night we both had Argentinean beef tenderloins in mushroom sauce with green beans, carrots, mixed grilled veggies, fries, and seasoned potatoes. It was fantastic - we both ordered our steak medium and it arrived cooked perfectly. A lot of the veggies are grown right at the Landhuis, which is how they can serve freshly prepared for the same price other restaurants serve canned. The waitress on our first visit was great - very attentive, but the waitress on the second visit let us languish for much too long without checking in after we were done eating, and forgot to bring the ketchup we asked for. We had planned to order dessert but she never even asked if we wanted any - perhaps a language barrier, I'm not sure. The setting is basically a huge covered front porch with gardens scattered about the grounds - including their veggie gardens. We stayed in Lagun, and it was well worth the drive to get to Landhuis Daniel. We'll definitely be returning here on our next trip to Curacao!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Our fav place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We eat at Daniels every year for our wedding anniversary. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is very serene. We love the variety of fresh veggies...many of which are grown on the premises.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious, if overly rich Dutch pancakes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited Landhuis Daniel Restaurant for breakfast. We were the only customers when we arrived, and only two more came while we were there. The wife ordered Rum/Raisin Pancakes and I ordered the Chocolate/Banana/Nut Pancakes. These pancakes were basically plate-sized crepes with the chosen ingredients dumped on top. We expected the ingredients to be mixed into the batter, which is actually what the server said would be done, but alas. They were quite tasty but both of our orders were so rich and extreme tasting, and large, that we couldn't finish them.

We did enjoy the visit, especially pouring sugar on the table and watching these tiny yellow and black birds land on the table to eat it. I also think their food concept is interesting, though we didn't get the chance to sample it. The lunch/dinner section of the menu mentions "biologic salads" and notes that they grow their own crops. I would have liked to taste these.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maringa, PR
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Average food with very small portions. We asked a "big" salad that was not sufficient for one person and main dishes were enough only to my daugther of 3 y.o.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landhuis Daniel Plantation Restaurant also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Landhuis Daniel Plantation Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landhuis Daniel Plantation Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.