We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant...again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sjalotte

Sjalotte
Floris Suites hotel, Willemstad, Curacao
5999 4626111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 163 Restaurants in Willemstad
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great restaurant...again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Don't miss this restaurant for a special night out. We've dined at Sjalotte nearly every trip to Curaçao over the past 10 years. We've seen the food selections, quality, and service levels swing widely from outstanding to poor, probably depending on management and staff changes. Happy to say that with our most recent visit it has gone back to the superb category and is again one of the best fine dining restaurants on the island. They've done some contemporary remodeling to a very clean and cooling white motif, and really trimmed back on the tropical foliage that has curtailed the pesky insect population. The food was very artfully presented and great tasting, so must be a very competent chef on board now. Service couldn't have been better; there to serve but not obtrusive. Well be back in January!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlous M, Front Office Manager at Sjalotte, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Jeff,

Many thanks for your review and especially for mentioning the progress we made since the last time you visited us. It is correct that since that time we have a new outstanding chef cook and we did more than our best to increase the service and menu.

We are lookintg forward to serving you again in January.

Warm regrads,

Sjalotte Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    60
    34
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oradell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best food on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This restaurant has a quick and easy entrance right across the street from the Curacao Marriott where we stayed. We went to Sjalotte twice and enjoyed it both times we went. Sunday niight is a bbq buffet with lots of options and delicious desserts. We went back to give the a la carte menu a try and it didn't disappoint. The lobster special was a highlight.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlous M, Public Relations Manager at Sjalotte, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Sjeanm,

Nice that you went to our BubbleQ, the luxury bbq with champaign, we have every sunday night. Good to hear that we also left that great impression with our a la carte menu.

Looking forward to serving you soon again.

Warm regards,
Sjalotte Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Probably the better food on the island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We went there during our stay at the Marriott and it was refreshing to get some non US-Style food and be in a relaxing environment.
The chef did a good effort on presentation but still has to work on the flavours. The children were welcome so that was a plus.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlous M, Public Relations Manager at Sjalotte, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Jordaanwy,

Thanks for your review. Great to hear that you liked our presentation and experienced the warm welcome we give to our guests. Sorry that the flavours were not so much in line with your expectations. We do amongst our best to make sure you get the best fine dining experience on Curacao. Hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards,
Sjalotte Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Small portions big prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

While staying at the Floris hotel I ate here once in a while as it was convenient, the menu is quite limited, food is good but I found it was over priced and the portions were very small. Overall a good meal but could be better.
The BBQ on Sundays was quite good with a nice variety of choices, I would recommend it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlous M, Public Relations Manager at Sjalotte, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear she1707,

Good to hear that you liked our food. Our prices are competend to the other fine dining restaurants on the island. Thanks for recommending our Sunday BubbleQ. Hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards,

Sjalotte Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Chic Flair with Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott across the street, and wandered to Sjalotte one night. The atmosphere and ambiance is very modern with candles and torches lighting your way. Very beautiful. And the good was amazing. We had the mahi mahi and the seafood pasta - and then had it again the next night. The prices aren't that expensive and definitely a higher standard than the resort food at the Marriott. We love our food, and couldn't have better things to say about this restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjalotte also viewed

Curacao, Caribbean
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Sjalotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sjalotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.