We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place to stay near Jan Thiel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments

Save Saved
You added La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Brakkeput Abou 80, Curacao   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 off room rate in Sept
Ranked #6 of 35 Curacao B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A very good place to stay near Jan Thiel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

+ The apartment is very well equipped (two bathrooms, kitchen with dishwasher, seperate room with washer/dryer), large and modern.
+ Nice pool area, suitable for relaxing. Most apartments have great views from a large terrace overlooking the small bay and pool area.
+ The area (La Maya) seems safe and secure with a gated entrance and a separate parking spot for each apartment.
+ Supermarket, restaurants and a bigger beach is a short drive away at Jan Thiel.
+ Friendly and welcoming staff.

+/- Like on several (most?) windows down here, there are some windows with just shutters, and not glass. This means that sounds from the outside can be heard pretty well in the bedrooms. Luckily, La Maya is a quiet place, but there are other people (and parties) on the island as well...

- Slow/unpredictable WiFi-connection indoors in the apartment. Outside (i.e. by the pool) you have better speed and better reliability.
- The build quality in our apartment could have been better. Some holes in the ceiling (from where they decided NOT the put the lighting after all) and plastic tubes sticking down from the hallway/livingroom ceiling. However, a more serious issue in our apartment; there's wasn't enough drop (slope) in the shower (meaning the water stays on the floor in the shower for days unless you remove it). There was a funky smell in the bathroom - maybe due to this?
- I guess that's the "price you pay" for an apartment and not hotel, but just keep in mind you need to bring/buy bathroom amenities such as shower gel and shampoo

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    14
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is the second time that I stayed at La Maya Beach. Once again, my expectations were exceeded. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The apartment was perfect and everything works. The toilets, showers and kitchen area were spotless and beyond clean. This time we stayed in a unit towards the top of the complex. I was a bit bothered at first because my children like the lower pool. However, there was an incredible view plus a better breeze (which helps with mosquitoes) plus there's a small, more private pool up there too. I was surprisingly pleased with this unit and highly recommend it. In fact, I highly recommend La Maya Beach in general as you can't go wrong with it. Keep in mind that it's only two bedrooms and you'll need a rental car.

Room Tip: Lower area has better pool and is on the Spanish Water but the upper units have more wind and still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Beautiful apartment with plenty of space and amenities. We stayed in a ground floor apartment and it was quiet (could not hear the people above). The only drawback is that you cannot swim in the lagoon that the resort sits on. Is mostly for boats. The staff was friendly and willing to help. Be sure to turn off your air conditioning in the living room when you go to bed at night or they will reprimand you (but in a nice way). Be green! We requested a stocked fridge on our arrival and everything was there we asked for. Very nice! We were impressed with the value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

we stayed here for a couple of days as part of our honeymoon trip - upon arrival, our bed was decorated with flowers, very nicely done. The owners are very friendly and helpful.
we were mostly diving during the day and only stayed at the pool for one day of our stay.
we truly enjoyed our breakfasts on the wide terrace. lots of space to dry scuba gear as well.
note that although it is located on the water, this is not a beach, more of a lagoon I´d say. A car is needed to get around, to restaurants etc, but everything is very close.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Örebro, Örebro Län, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend went to Curacao with my brother and his fiancé and stayed at this lovely apartment hotel. The standard was high and the service was excellent. Cleaning and towels were done regularly, and the apartment was in very nice order.
We had a ground floor apartment with a view of the pool and the water. The pool was perfect after a day at one of the paradise beaches...
Would highly recommend this apartment hotel and give my best regards to Anne-Marie and Marcel who managed and took care of the place and us when we were there.
Good staff, nice apartments, infinity pool, good wi-fi and perfect service!
My only negative response would be about the hotel beach which looks nice but you won't take your swim there, because of the marina and the sewer pipes who made the water not so inviting.

If you go there

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

appartments are spacious and have all facilities you need, kitchen with all aparatus, washing machine etc. Nice big balcony with view over the lagoon. Comfortable beds, airconditioned.
Only minus points are the uncomfortable beach beds and in the weekend the noise caused by bands playing in a restaurant the other side of the lagoon. This goes on and on.
Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Beautiful Apartment in stunning location.

Perfect place to relax.

Annemarie and Marcel are running a very good ship.

Very good security, day and night.

Nice beaches and restaurants within a short driving distance.

Room Tip: Apartments are beautifully furnished and have a view over the pool and Spanish Waters
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments

Address: Brakkeput Abou 80, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Curacao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to enjoy tropical Curacao to the fullest. Situated on the famous Spanish Water in Curacao, La Maya Beach is a resort unlike any other. Discover an oasis of peace and beauty with a tropical garden and a private beach near all the excitement of the popular Jan Thiel area. You will stay in a comfortable and fully furnished apartment where in- and outdoor living join seamlessly thanks to an innovative sliding panel wall. At La Maya Beach, you can count on the most complete and attentive service that our island has to offer. Would you like specific groceries to be in the fridge when you arrive? A small boat to explore the Spanish Water by yourself? A unique excursion to an extraordinary dive site? At La Maya Beach, our answer is “yes we can!”La Maya Beach is the ultimate place to stay on Curacao. Beautiful, quiet, safe, and especially: dedicated to your perfect vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maya Beach Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.