We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach-not too crowded” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Cas Abou

Playa Cas Abou
Curacao
+ (599-9) 463-6367
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Playa Cas Abou like an insider
Top Rated
$55*
and up
Western Curacao Sightseeing Tour with Beach Time...
Ranked #4 of 114 things to do in Curacao
Attraction details
La Paz, Bolivia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach-not too crowded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We drove to Cas Abou Beach on our first day in Curacao and spent the whole day enjoying a nice clean beach with good lounge chairs and enough space to wonder around! White beach, great for swimming and snorkeling. We took our own drinks and snacks and had a wonderful time. Many locals and tourists, but was not overcrowded at all. Seemed to be very safe as we just left our belongings to go swimming and snorkling . Sunset was amazing!
There is a $5.- parking fee.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    205
    37
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very nice beach, great snorkelling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent several days on this beach during the X-mas break of 2012. The entrance of the beach is 10 NAF per car (6$), and 12,50 NAF on Sunday or a holiday. The last part of the road to the beach is a dirt road, but not that bad. If you want a place in the shadow, which you need on Curacao, you should arrive before 11 am. A beach chair is 5 NAF (3$) a piece and they are the hard plastic ones. The fee for the chair is including a shower coin. On the beach itself there is a diveshop, showers, lockers, toilets and snack counter (wouldn't call it a restaurant). The food is simple but good: f.e. sandwiches with ham and cheese, salads, french fries and try the smoothies, they're really nice. If it's busy on the beach, you'll have to wait a long time for your food, sometimes over one hour. The beach is nice, wide and sandy. If you go in the water ít's handy to put some watershoes on, because there are a lot of coral stones at the breakwaves. The waves are not too high, so for younger kids, it's a nice beach and safe to play along the waterside.
The snorkelling on the beach is really good. On the left side, along the rocky coast I found it the best: great fishes and not too busy.
When the sun goes down, the sandflies take over the beach, so it's wise to put on some repellant if you want to see the beautifull sunset on this beach!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Very popular for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The beach is nice and broad with plenty of shade. The amenities are top notch including dive shop, beach bar with good food, showers, rest rooms, etc. You pay $6 per car at the main entrance and then drive down a really badly rutted dirt road to the parking lot which was well kept. We paid $3 each for a beach chair but there are enough chairs that people leave after they leave which we saw many tourists just "reusing" without paying for them. The staff is pretty relaxed. We had chicken satay sandwich, fish fillet sandwich and fish and chips which was all very tasty. The water was calm, warm, clear with lots of little fish that you could see without even a snorkel mask. You do need water shoes since the entry into the water is pebbly.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
1,003 reviews 1,003 reviews
349 attraction reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
1,640 helpful votes 1,640 helpful votes
“Cute crowded beach and awesome water´s shades of blue.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It might have been a paradise a few decades ago...

But, though the crowd, it is still a very beautiful small beach and a pleasant place to relax and enjoy that amazing caribbean water colors.

Beach scuba diving available (good points at the right corner of the beach after the calcarian rocks).

Main drawback is the crowd. So, try to arrive early in the morning or by late afternoon, when, by the way, a gorgeous sunrise can be experienced as well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Worth the trip no matter where you stay....serviceable snack shack, but incredible snorkeling just a few feet from beach.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Cas Abou also viewed

 

Been to Playa Cas Abou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Cas Abou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.