We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morena Resort

Save Saved
You added Morena Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morena Resort
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Jan Thiel Beach, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
A TripAdvisor Member
“Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We spend 10 days in this beautiful resort. The staff is very friendly and serve great food in their restaurant. The appartment/villa was cosy and well equipped. The location of the resort is good. It is located near the beach and some other restaurants. We really recommend this resort.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woudrichem, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a really nice resort for families with childeren.
Both the appartments and villas offer good price/quality value.

The location near the Jan Thiel Bay is good. When you are in Curacao you need a car anyway so in that case everything is close by.

They claim to be an Eco friendly resort, which follow to the best of their ability.

The restaurant at the resort is okay. No high standard food but good quality for a fair price.
The staff at the restaurant/bar is perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was my third visit to curacao, I usually stay at a friends house but this time I had to stay at a hotel so I was really careful choosing one that would fit my needs, Morena Resort didn't disappointed me! It was a lovely stay at Morena, the staff was very kind and the Resort exceeded expectations,l it has everything you need for a great stay at curacao, It's located a walk distance from the beach and it's in Jan Thiel one of the most exclusive areas of curacao, I stayed at one of the villas and it has everything you need, the kitchen was well equipped and the spaces were very comfortable... I would definitely recommend Morena Resort if you're planning to visit Curacao!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the villas closer to the parking lot, even though the place is calm, it's close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormer, Holland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We are not so keen on Resorts!!
As we travel in Europe (mostly Greece) we always look for intimate, small, family managed accommodations. But..... Morena Eco Resort did not disappoint us at all. We found the same familiar atmosphere, great service and a very friendly, caring, personal treatment.
From the first moment we we felt at home. Very comfortable apartment, with a, good furnished big veranda, very good bed, sleeping room with a good airco, nice bathroom and kitchen, everything was complete.
Fine Swimmingpool. Service and food in the restaurant, dinner and certainly breakfast were excellent.
We loved our stay at Morena very, very much.
Our advise: Stay there if want a quiet and comfortable stay at Jan Thiel.

Andries en Tine Maij

Room Tip: If you do not like street noise ask for a room in the middle of the resort. Room 1101 is at the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

MORENA (villa Azur - 3 adults)

In general:
A relaxed stay in Curacao, in this fine and friendly resort. The island really has more to offer than beach and sun alone, but you do need to rent a car for it.


Satisfiers:
- The spacious, shady, veranda on the back of the villa. Excellent for relaxing!
- Bathroom is fine, beds are very okay, interior in living is not fantastic, but you will not use it since you will mostly reside outside on the porch. Kitchen is OK, but doesn't offer a dishwasher (eco friendly...).
- Nice swimming pool, no chlorine, fine and (most of the time) enough beds.
- Diner good, not so many choice, but what is served meets the quality of the other restaurants at Jan Thiel beach. Excellent service.


Dissatisfiers:
- Although the park itself is very calm, its position nearby a busy road (esp. the -rental- quads/atv are noisy) is somewhat bothersome.
- The cleaning (once in 3 days) could be more accurate. We would like to see somewhat more dust removing in living and bathroom.

Good to know:
- The resort doesn't offer a (nice) view; for our 1024 being a fence and bushes. For others, other villas and bushes.
- The resort is an 'excellent fit' for families (mostly Dutch) so quite many of them reside here.
- Rental car via resort, Kia Picanto of just 2 months old in our case, was a success. Approx. $53 a day (with a minimum of 3 days), inclusive premium for all-risk.
- Many different opinions with respect to the breakfast on Tripadvisor. In our view, it is rather expensive for what is offered ($19 per person, if booked occasionally). However, we do reckon that groceries in Curacao are more expensive than in NL.
- We experienced that the supermarket via shuttlebus (Spar) wasn't that much cheaper than the Albert Heijn at Jan Thiel. Esp. if you take the extra travelling time into account.
- The living of the villa has parts without glass (just shutters). Curacao has many many salamanders. As a consequence, don't be surprised to encounter one in your living and bethroom.
- Also, be prepared for mosquitoes, esp. during the rainy season around Januari. If you have a mosquito net, bring it. 'Deet' didn't really seem to work in our case. However, the 'botanika' sells tablets and a cream which helped us much for the itchiness.

Our favourites in Curacao:
- herb garden, kruidentuin Veeris
- struisvogelpark, ostrich park
- Shete boka national park, boka Pistol
- christoffelpark
- museum Kura Hulanda (take a guide, if you can)
- sea explorer (at Hilton) (if you do not like diving/snorkeling, a good alternative)

Villa suggestion:
If you like a relatively quiet stay (not along the pool) with good privacy, make villa 1024 you preference.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and son (2 years) stayed for 9 days in December of 2013, it was a very good experience, the hotel is great, the apartments were nice and clean,if you like to cook and save some mony you have everithing to do it. Food in restaurant is not as good as the hotel. The terrace is just amazing, very calm hotel. Theres a supermarket near the hotel where you can find everithing. The beach is so nice, jan thiel beach is one o fthe best in curacao. The pool is beautiful and theres an samll playgroud for my kid, in fact the pool and the playgroud were his favorite places. The surroundings of the hotel are great, bars, restaurants, nice beaches.

if someday i decide to go to curacao again, for sure i will stay at Morena again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The location of the resort was wonderful. Friends and I stayed there for a wedding. It was the perfect location, since the beach, restaurants, and a grocery store were very close by. The patio (and the hammock) was the favorite spot for everyone to relax and just enjoy the moment. We booked the Villa with 3 bedrooms, and it was perfect for everyone to have their own space.

Did I mention the hammock? By far, it was the best part. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morena Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morena Resort

Address: Jan Thiel Beach, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Curacao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morena Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful luxury villas and apartments with a Caribbean atmosphere. Nature, luxury and personal service go hand in hand at Morena Resort. The tropical villas and apartments have a new climate design and are refreshingly cool with a high quality finish. The interior is especially nice, made of durable and authentic Fair Trade materials. An absolute must is the Mazzai Spa which is located in the resort and provides numerous wellness treatments such as herbal massage, facial and hot stone therapy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Morena Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morena Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morena Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.