We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service...the best location on the island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Porto Mari

Playa Porto Mari
Curacao
+(5999)/864-8812
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 269 Restaurants in Curacao
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great food, great service...the best location on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a private beach west of Wilemstad, a bit out of the way but the drive is most interesting (wild boar, iguanas, flamingoes). The setting is spectacular! A beautiful cove with white sand beaches and crystal clear water. The beach side restaurant had a great variety: hamburger, tuna fish, spicy chicken and sausages. Service was great, there was a 5% service charge which we happily added to. For $3.50 a person you can add a full day enjoying the sand and surf of the cove. Definitely worth the drive!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    65
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Nice Birthday at Playa Porto Mari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

You pay to get chairs and umbrella here. There is a bathroom, massage quarters, a little snack bar and a nice little lunch restaurant with a beach bar.
The waitresses were excellent and fun! We had live music! Nice clean tourist beach. There is also a dive/snorkle shop as well. Beautiful water as expected. I had a great birthday here, after the credit card machine started to work! :-) Time for some Birthday cocktails! I had the "swimming pool".
Would go back if in Curacao.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our all around favorite beach on Curacao. As others said, combo of gorgeous beach and available amenities makes it top notch. Restaurant is right on the beach, shaded with beautiful views and the staff was very friendly. The snorkeling was good on both sides of the beach. It was so nice to take a break from the sun, relax and enjoy the food and take in the view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful beachs I have ever been to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited all the top rated beaches in curacao and this one was our fave for several reasons:

1. Very clean
2. Reasonably priced, from the entrance fee to food to snorkeling
3. Convienent but still feels like a natural island beach and not at all touristy.We drove to
The beach from
Our hotel so we wanted to eat at beach restraunt instead of bringing it in.
4. Not crowded, or at least when we went!
5. Amazing turquoise blue clear waters!

Definitely worth a visit no matter where you are staying in Curacao!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice snorkeling, beautiful water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We enjoyed Kenepa much more as we prefer to be out of the crowds and a more natural setting. Play Porto Mari did have everything you could want if you prefer: people, restaurants, bathrooms, chairs, scuba equipment. Small charge to use beach.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Porto Mari also viewed

 

Been to Playa Porto Mari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Porto Mari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.