We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing is the Only word to describe this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Plage Hook's Hut - CLOSED

La Plage Hook's Hut
881, Curacao
(9) 462 6575
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Pendleton, Oregon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Amazing is the Only word to describe this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed two fabu dinners (I had the monk fish with lobster risotto and she had the lobster with frog legs) we ate our meal in the sand with the water of the ocean flowing up to our feet all the while it was at night and we watched a lighting storm about 60 miles off the shore. It was breathtaking and we loved every second of it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hook's Hut”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Loved the fish of the day very fresh and delicious...the tables are mostly on the sand so do not wear nice shoes :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Seating on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I had their white fish special and it was really good. The veggies were super fresh! The fun part was the kids got to sit on the beach and play while we had a nice meal! Service was friendly and super kid friendly:) The sunset was just amazing! We took some really nice family pics at that location. We came back after the kids went home with our parents and the nightlife was a little slow. However we were there early. I would totally give it another shot on another vacay!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hook's Hut is now Pirates Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Pirates Bay is the new name of this casual restaurant and bar on a beach in Piscadera next to the Hilton. Like the beaches in Westpunt and Jan Thiel, Piscadera has small, white sand beaches on turquoise water. The size of the beach in front of Pirates Bay is similar to the size in front of the Hilton. They have a huge central palapa which covers a bar and two raidsed seating areas on decks with ocean views. The local wahoo was fresh and prepared criollo style at my request. With a polar beer in a bottle, I was in heaven. The fish soup was also very good accompanied by criollo condiments. There are palapas and lounge chairs right there on the beach. Most daytime customers are there for the sand, sun and drinks. This is a good, casual place and a nice alternative to the corporate beach clubs at Marriott and Hilton, both located in Piscadera.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Hook's Hut is now Pirates Cove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The service is much improved and the food is better than ever. Great experience dining on the beach at the waters edge. This is not a fancy restaurant but the setting, music and food are worth the trip.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plage Hook's Hut also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plage Hook's Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.