We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cold night at Fort Nassau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Nassau

Fort Nassau
Willemstad, Curacao
(5999) 461-3450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 248 Restaurants in Curacao
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A cold night at Fort Nassau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

On Curacao it is one of the most amazing places to have dinner! The view over Willemstad is great and the food is to died for. When we were there in March the very nice waiter was complaining it was to cold to dine out side it was only 25c. but we enjoyed the tropical night because we are from Canada.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    29
    18
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Every dish was delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was the third time we had dinner at Fort Nassau and despite the beautiful views you have from the high fortress, I remembered the food to be just okay.

This time I really enjoyed every dish and so did all others.

The place had be recontructed since my last visit wish gives it an open and spacy atmosphere and of course there are the astonishing views over the Annabaai and the harbor/refinery.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Location Great, Renovation good, Food decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went to this restaurant again after more than 7 years. Have to say that the food did not really improve. Food taste decent to good but not more than that. Presentation was good, service was very good during our visit but food was OK. There are many other restaurants on the island I would pick before this one.
The location is excellent and view is spectacular. They renovated the place. No AC. Windows are open and there is a nice breeze. AC not needed. Overall the renovation is an improvement.
We were in a group of 8 and service was very good. It did not take long for the food to come out.
If I would go back out of my own choice, not anytime soon. There are many other options on the island I consider better. Fishaliscious, Karakter, Kome, Misje, Seasons to name a few

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food awful service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had the best mahi mahi in my life there. Great place with a beautiful/romantic atmosphere (if you sit inside in the air conditioner. Outside u will have annoying moskitos). I only suggeat to improve in the service.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

During our week long stay on Curacao we visited different restaurants every day and Fort Nassau was recommended as a great place with a great view. We were not disappointed, food was very good and service excellent. Old gentlemen working as bartender treated us to great drinks and history of the island.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Nassau also viewed

 

Been to Fort Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Nassau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.