We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive family Saul reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Reef Village

Best prices from these 2 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Sun Reef Village to your Saves list
Sun Reef Village
Redewag 30 | Netherlands Antilles, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Curacao
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dive family Saul reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our family met at Sun Reef for a week of diving and relaxation. Sun Reef Village was the perfect choice. The bungalows are comfortable and funky in a good way. Ours shared kitchen and dining areas and were well-equipped and maintained. Sea view bungalows have superb vistas and easy down-the-ladder access to the ocean. Wim and Liesbeth are hosts par excellence. Easy going and efficient they run Sun Reef in a light-handed way. They handled airport transfers, car rentals, public transport details and anything else that might make your visit easier. Harld (not Harold) is equally easy going and runs nice little dive operation just off the parking lot. Truly great shore diving at Sun Reef and many other easily accessible sites around the island. If you're expecting the Ritz this isn't your place but if you want to have a wonderful time in a small scale, friendly and nicely laid out little village you definitely should consider Sun Reef.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with some cross ventilation (windows on opposite walls). There often is nice breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Great place to stay, Wim and Lisbeth were good hosts anything you needed just ask. The diving operation on site is ideal with Harold having a really good knowledge of the island and always available for advice or just a chat, all in all a great holiday.

Room Tip: If you do not have small children the bungalows facing the sea are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vorarlberg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

The Sun Reef Village in Curacao was the perfect place for the 2 weeks we stayed in Curacao. Wim and Lisbeth made us feel most welcome and they took care of everything we needed (including airport transfer, our car rental, online check in ...).

Lisbeth also organized our great private island trip with Bert. This day was very interesting. If you like to see the island and also get a lot of information’s about Curacao (and the plants, the animal, history …) then we can really recommend you to spend a day with Bert.

Our see-front-bungalow (Baracuda) was so much comfortable, very clean and really well equipped (incl. the kitchen). We stepped in and we felt like home from the first minute.

But really the best from all was this spectacular view over the Carribbean see. It was so beautiful and amazing. We loved our little garden and of course we liked so much our private sun deck. From the deck you have direct access (with a ladder) into the great Caribbean sea for swimming and snorkeling – just perfect!!!

And don’t miss the Sunset – it’s just amazing to sit and relax, have a nice cool drink and watch this spectacular colors which you will never forget.

You can reach a big Supermarket by car within a few minutes. There you can get everything you need.

We also recommend you Selma. You can order Selma’s dinner (fish or meat with side order) and she will deliver it to the fixed time. And it really tastes excellent!!

You can reach Willemstad very easy within 15 or 20 minutes by car. Also a lot of the nice beaches are not far. We most liked the beaches Daaibooibaai and Playa Laguna. These places were perfect for relaxing and snorkeling.

We also made the trip with the Catamaran Jonalisa to Little Curacao to see the Turtles. If you are a good sailor (means if you not get easily see sick) then you will have a really nice day at this fantastic place.

Sun Reef Village it’s not a 5-Star-Hotel. But we didn’t look for such holidays. We found the perfect place for our holidays in this little but great resort. We had such a wonderful and relaxing time at the Sun Reef Village.
It was one of the best vacations at one of the most beautifully places we ever had.

Sun Reef Village get’s 5 Stars from us!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

I traveled to the Sun Reef Village with friends last spring. It was the best part of my trip. The bungelows are cute and well cared for. The owners Wim and Liesbeth (I might be spelling their names wrong) were amazing. They truely treat you like you are a guest in their home. Our ocean front bungelow (named baracuda) was right on the ocean. We had a small yard with chairs out front and then could walk down stairs to a desk and climb right in. We had fun snokling right there! We purchased and internet card for a very small price that allowed us to keep in contact back home. The owners were very helpful with any questions we had. I will add that this isn't a 5 star hotel but that is NOT what we wanted. It was homey and clean and we felt VERY safe! I would defintely stay there if I ever head back to Curacao.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

I have just spent two weeks with my family at Curacao and would really like to recomend the Sun Reef bungalows. We stayed in a two bedroom bungalow and had a big private garden with a spectacular wiev over the sea. We had our own staicase down to a small terasse with sunchairs and after climbing a ladder down into the wather the snorkeling was just great.

The house was clean and had working airco and the cleening lady came twice a week with new towels, one for the beach and one for showers inside. The cleaning lady also cooks you a meel and delivers it to your house in the evening if you order it before noon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Reef Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Reef Village

Address: Redewag 30 | Netherlands Antilles, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Curacao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sun Reef Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Reef Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.