We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good vacation and really needs improvement” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Memories Varadero Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Memories Varadero Beach Resort
Save
You added Memories Varadero Beach Resort to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Autopista Sur, km 18,5 Parque Natural | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Varadero
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a good vacation and really needs improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lets start with the rooms. Toilet would not flush. Very little toilet paper. Tub leaked and facet fell off. Floor was always wet. Bar fridge was not filled up on a regular basis. Safe was broken.
The quiet pool was nice. The cave pool smelled like urine. Golf carts went by very fast and would not stop. You had to literally jump out of their way. No headlights on the carts. A little girl got hit one day. Don't know what ever happened to her.
Snack bar did not have much food. Although the chicken was good. When they served it. Buffet was the same and not good was very blan. I did expect that. No big deal. Bring ketchup and spices. No ice at swim up bar. Always ran out of beer. Got various items stollen. Could not leave anything around for more than five minutes.
There was a small shop that opened at 9 am. If u were lucky. Stood there one day with the employees inside for one hour and they refused to open doors until they were good and ready. Coffee was good in the lobby. Exchange rates were very unpredictable and they refused to give receipts. Long walk to the beach. Walkways very slippery. Be careful and always wear foot wear. Very long wait to book a la carts or activities. Bartender on route to beach was nasty. Bartenders at quiet pool were very nice. Book as many a la carts as you can. They are pretty good. All booked up unless you show them the money. Then you get a reservation very quickly. You get only what is left. The menus are useless. Always out of the best dishes. The catamaran was great fun and the food was good. Book as a group and get better rates. I can go on and on but I will let you judge for yourself. Spend the extra money and a smaller resort is my recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbenitez, Guest Relations Manager at Memories Varadero Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Client,
We would like to express our most sincere appreciation for having given us your feedback about your recent visit. It was very kind of you to devote some of your valuable time to posting your review and your opinions encourage us to strive every day more for the complete satisfaction of all our guests. We know that this is an ambitious goal for our large resort, but we are confident that with the efforts of all our staff and counting on clients as yourself it is an attainable one.
Our deepest apology for any detail that might not have been up to your expectations during your stay, our Management Team is always at your service to remedy any situations. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future and if you let us know before your arrival, we will devote special efforts to attain your complete satisfaction.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Our kindest regards from sunny Varadero!,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    1,309
    681
    338
    224
See reviews for
1,229
1,067
99
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our first time to Cuba and we loved it! Mind you we are easy-going people and don't expect too much. The food was as expected and very bland but it's authentic. We tipped the maids on the first day about 30 pesos and our room was always clean with fresh arraignments of towels and sheets.

Most of our meals were spent at the buffet because you were only allowed 2 a la carte/week (we stayed 7 days all-inclusive). Now if your hesitant to eat the food stick to the grills where they cook the food in front of you and you know for sure it's fresh. The only downfall of this resort and food selection is there's not much seafood but plenty of fish. If your also a vegetarian there's not much choices to pick from. We only saw carrots, peppers, mushrooms (on certain days of the week), lots of potatoes and cabbage. Nothing very green. Our a la carte consisted of the Japanese and French restaurants and both were fabulous!

Now we came for the beach and it was amazing!!! The day we left for Cuba there was a tropical storm that was suppose to hit but thank goodness it missed Cuba. Due to that though the water was very sandy so you could only see about a foot into the water. Our last two days was when the water cleared up and you could see straight down! Also be warned they have a lot of jelly fishes but they're harmless. They have plenty of palapas but keep in mind it is a big resort so not enough for everyone. We would go down to the beach about 7am to save our spots than head to breakfast. They have security guards and beach boys who watch your belongings for you. There's tons of activities for you to do but if your into the non-motorized water sports you have to sign in advanced because there's limited equipments.

There was always something to do. The resort and the workers were very keen on keeping everyone happy. Plenty of activities during the day on the beach and next to the pools and at night there was always entertainment in the theatre and live music in the square across.

We would definitely recommend this resort but keep in mind this place is more family oriented so lots of kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a nice time during our holiday in late July, but the resort is too big, a lot of walking. Not enough golf carts because they are always full when one went by. Nice beach, but not as nice as the memories Cay Coco (which is a great resort, not too big, small enough to make friends with the staff). Big pool with the water slide was way to noisy, listening to screaming kids was enough after one day. Overall everything was fine, food, staff, accomodations. So as long as you don't mind walking you will enjoy it.
One thing that did irritate us was the band that wore red outfits. They just sat around half sleeping and would only get up to play a song if the tip was big enough. Gave them 2 bucks and they looked at it like an insult. And they would not even stand up unless you offered them money first. In my mind the resort should get rid of them. Especially when we saw some other bands that were enthusiastic smiling and looked like they were enjoying playing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbenitez, Guest Relations Manager at Memories Varadero Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Client,
We would like to thank you for having chosen our resort for your recent vacation and for taking the time to share your experience.
We are sorry that our resort may not have been what you expected in some respects, as unfortunately travellers do not always receive all the information they need at the time of making their reservation. All our business partners are well informed of the size and design of our resort, we have shuttle service permanently available, although at times it may be insufficient due to a high demand.
We hope that you will visit us in the future and if you let us know in advance we will do9 our very best to accomodate you according to your needs and preferences.
Best regards from Memories Varadero!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Give me a clean bed and good food and I can get by on any vacation . BUT. If I could have gone home on the flight back that day I would of .Cockroaches to me are a big deal and that is what greeted me when I walked in the room . Called the front desk and was told the maid would come change the bed ????? Went to the front desk and asked to be moved to the third floor .Slept with one eye open the rest of the week. lol The food was terrible .Plain and simple. I love deserts but not with flies on it ! So I couldn't ever get full on that . The pools were beautiful I have to give it that and the coffee at the lobby café was excellent. I don't care if they changed the name of the place or not I would NEVER go back there. I have travelled to many southern destinations and I can take the good and the bad and not let it ruin my vacation but this place was just bad !

Room Tip: This resort is huge so pick your poison . Do you want to be close to the dining room or the beach .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbenitez, Guest Relations Manager at Memories Varadero Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Client,
First of all, our sincere thanks for taking the time to post your comments. Our staff and management team work hard every day to achieve our guests´ complete satisfaction. To guarantee that you have a relaxing and enjoyable vacation is our reason of being, that is why it saddens us profoundly to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We assure you that we maintain permanent supervision over every aspect of our guests’ vacation, as several members of our management team walk our grounds and are present at the main service points to detect any details and coordinate a speedy solution. Nevertheless, we will reinforce our measures and keep an even closer follow-up.
Thank you again for giving us your comments; they are very valuable for us to continue improving our services and making sure that our guests are satisfied.
With the kindest regards from Varadero, Cuba!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the Memories between the 20th to the 27th of July 2013. We were immediately greeted by our diamond club butler M. Leodanys who explained to us all the services and popular attractions of this resort. We had beautiful weather and were very happy with the hotel and beach. The service was also very fast and the staff dealt with problems seriously. I have to highlight the impeccable service of our diamond club butler M. Leodanys that went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. He greeted us everyday and asked how our stay was. He tried his best to help us with restaurant reservations. He really added to our wonderful experience in the Memories and would like to thank him very much and we definitely would like to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heanor, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had a great time, lots of sun beds and shade never had to reserve beds and staff were making more sunshades as we left. Food was very good,I always found something to eat and I'm quite picky. Drinks excellent beer wine and spirits,ask for a poison number two at the activity pool swim up bar great. The staff at this hotel were fantastic always spoke and smiled. Beach and sea clean and great. Activities are good with tennis,table tennis football and volleyball just to name a few. I recommend the restaurants Japanese was my favourite but all good. The only down side I had was being bitten by the bugs which the hotel tries to keep down by spraying but take anti bug sprays. I loved Cuba and will return to this hotel. Thank you memories for a great holiday.

Room Tip: I stayed near the lobby which was good in the morning for coffee etc, it is also near the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful hotel between the 9th and 23rd July 2013.

Weeks before leaving for our holiday, we periodically checked the reviews on here to find people moaning about the food, cleanliness and facilities, which made everybody in the party wonder where we were going. After an amazing 2 weeks, we returned thinking that we must have been to a different hotel to the people complaining before, and here's why:

Arrival: When we got on the bus at the airport, we had already been checked in and were given our wristbands (something which we had not paid for). We were told that since we were British, we were being 'upgraded' to Diamond Club, and would therefore get certain extras for free (i.e. money off massages, our own part of the beach and dining area, á la carte reservations sorted for us). I understand that not everybody is in the Diamond Club but we didn't take full advantage of these privileges, so I feel that my comments would apply to anybody staying at the hotel.

Food: Before I begin, I must say that we were a group of 5- 1 being a picky vegetarian and another 3 not eating seafood- so clearly, we aren't an easy bunch to please. As I have previously said, we were concerned about the food before arriving due to previous comments, but came to wonder what the problem actually was! In the buffet restaurant, people have moaned about the lack of variety, but what more can they put out?! There was such a large choice every night- yes repeated most nights- but if you decide to have chips, pasta, rice, pork and chicken on the same plate, then of course you would feel like you were eating the same thing. There may not have been a lot of beef, but during the trip, we found out the beef was rationed to a kilo a month for children and the elderly- there just isn't enough to go around. Tip: pick something to eat and stick to it for that meal- you will then see the wide variety! We visited every á la carte, except the seafood one, with some being better than others. We especially enjoyed the Japanese restaurant, as they cook everything in front of you! Contrary to some opinions, the á la carte food DID NOT come from the buffet! The vegetarian was catered for (better in some places than others), with him having an omelette in the Japanese- they did everything they could to help! Although one waitress thought that chicken was OK to eat, another went to the restaurant next door to get something that was suitable.

Drinks: Some people on here have said about the soft drinks being Cuban own brand...if you want American branded drinks for free, don't go to Cuba! During a trip, we found out that the American embargo means that any American products in Cuba come in at a high price from Mexico- it is very unreasonable to expect these. Even in Varadero town, you can only buy the Cuban soft drinks. There was a wide range of alcohol offered from amaretto, to rum, and I can personally recommend Osnay's Poison number 2 in the activity pool bar, which consists of: dark rum, white rum, vodka, tequila, pina colada, orange and cola. I know it reads horrible, but it is one of the best drinks that I have had! Tip: take travel mugs with you- they hold more and keep the drinks cooler for longer, and the staff are more than happy to fill them.

Facilities: Both pools are large and relatively shallow, which would be suitable for a young family. There is a water slide in the activity pool, which is suitable for all ages, but be prepared for kids pushing in in front of other little ones, and looking out for your own safety, as the lifeguard was at times preoccupied with other things, like his phone, or talking to his friends at the top (this was one of the very few problems). The beach is beautiful, with free sun shades and sun lounges. We walked both ways across the beach and found that other hotels had either rock for a beach, or had to climb down a huge sand step to get to the sea, so we felt quite lucky there. Beach towels are provided and can be changed at the club house next to the activity pool, but please be aware that there may not be any on some days. Please remind yourselves that if you took your own, you would not have a clean towel everyday, but if you get upset about it, it isn't Roberto's (the guy at the club house) fault. On many occasions, my family and myself felt very sorry for him as he was shouted at (sometimes with abuse) for something that was beyond his control.

Rooms: Both rooms were spacious with a tv, fridge, safe and bath robes. They were cleaned every day, with sheets and towels being changed daily (the first time this has happened for us abroad). Toilet paper can't be flushed down the toilet anywhere in Cuba, but the bin provided was emptied every day without fail. Our maid, Amanilys, was great at towel art- one day, we had a woman drinking from a can...it was unbelievable!! Our fridge was restocked everyday, but we were wary about him (different guy to the maid) as our chocolate from home went missing, and our water had already been opened. Tip: don't leave anything in the fridge other than drinks- they can assume that it's for them.

Location: The rooms are set in beautiful gardens, which had more flowers being added to it whilst we were there. With the grounds being large, I suggest that this hotel is not suitable for those who have trouble walking, as it can be a walk from one area to another, and although there are golf buggies, they are mostly full.

Entertainment: There was a daily activities programme, ranging from beach volleyball to water polo, all of which attracted many people. The evening entertainment involved a lot of dancing, so if that is your thing, you will enjoy it. On a Monday, there is a Michael Jackson show, which was very good, and nightly there is a band in the plaza or karaoke.

Staff: All the staff that we met was extremely friendly and helpful. A huge thanks to Yordy, Osnay, Wilson, Roberto, Alfredo and Amanilys- you guys are great! Thanks for all your help and making our holiday a great one!

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. I just wish that some people would realise that they are in a poor country which has done everything itself and where the people earn around 35 pence a day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Memories Varadero Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memories Varadero Beach Resort

Address: Autopista Sur, km 18,5 Parque Natural | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#18 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Memories Varadero Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1035
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper yourself on the pristine white sand beaches of Varadero, Cuba with a stay at the luxury Memories Varadero Beach Resort. The resort offers incredible value and impressive all inclusive features and is the perfect destination for a romantic getaway or a fun family vacation. Guests will be dazzled by the elegant rooms and suites that feature rich wood furnishings, luxurious amenities, and stunning décor. Relish a culinary trip around the world at the buffet restaurant and several à la carte restaurants, which offer sumptuous global cuisine, including Italian, Japanese, Mexican, and more. Spend your days basking under a golden sun on one of Varadero’s most beautiful beaches, or revel in an array of fun land and water sports and activities. Children will also have the time of their lives at the Kids Club and Baby Club with supervised games and activities. Memories Varadero Beach Resort ensures fun for all ages and helps create unforgettable vacation memories for the whole family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sirenis La Salina Varadero Beach Hotel Varadero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memories Varadero Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.