We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vacation if you lower your expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Memories Varadero Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Memories Varadero Beach Resort
Save
You added Memories Varadero Beach Resort to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Autopista Sur, km 18,5 Parque Natural | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Varadero
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good vacation if you lower your expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I travelled to Memories Varadero at the end of April with a group of around 10 people. I have been to Cuba before, at different resorts each time, and I will say that Memories Varadero is certainly not the best all-inclusive resort in Cuba. However, I had to adjust and lower my expectations a little, and I did end up enjoying my time there.

ARRIVAL - to start off, I have no complaints with Sunwing. Both the departing and return flights went smoothly with no delays. Our plane for the trip there was fairly small and quite cramped, but we were served champagne and breakfast which was actually quite good. Checking in to the hotel was NOT a good experience. We arrived around 11 am but were told that our room would not be ready until 4. Luckily only one person in our entire group had a room ready, so we were able to store all our luggage in there. However, we returned to the front desk around 4 and were told our room was still not ready. We ended up having to stand by the front desk for almost an hour while the staff paid little attention to us, sometimes completely ignoring us even when we asked a direct question. There were several other hotel guests standing around waiting for their rooms also. We didn't end up getting a room until almost 5pm, 6 hours after our arrival. I know we were lucky to even have a room to store our luggage during that time, but it still sucks to not have a room for almost the entire day, especially after being tired from traveling. Needless to say, the horrible service at the front desk did not give me a good impression of the hotel from the start. I would say the front desk is the worst service we experienced in the entire resort.

ROOMS - our room itself was nothing to complain about. It was not the cleanest nor the most luxurious hotel room I have ever been in, but it was adequate and clean enough. We had a room in the 20's, meaning we were closer to the lobby than the beach. This is a good location if you want to be near the buffet and/or the quiet pool. The rooms in the 30's are farther from the lobby but are much closer to the loud pool and beach. The rooms in that area are also a little bit nicer inside than the rooms in the 20's. Some of the people in our group were given rooms in the 30s, so we requested at the front desk to also be moved to that area. However, again the staff at the front desk were quite rude and told us that we would not be moved there because those rooms cost more money, even though everyone in our group paid the exact same rate through Sunwing. Anyways, the rooms in the 20s are a hit and miss. The ones on the inside facing the quiet pool have a nice garden view, but the ones on the outside face the outskirts of the grounds and are not a nice view, as they face other hotel buildings and there seemed to be some kind of construction going on. Luckily we had a nice pool view. We tipped our bar fridge guy a peso at the beginning of the trip, and our maid a peso every day, and we always had a stocked fridge, a clean room and new towels daily.

BEACH - the beach in Varadero is always stellar. Never had a problem finding a lounger on the beach, there are tons. However if you want a hut for shade you might have to go a little earlier to reserve one. There are peddlers on the beach but they are not pushy. If you go to the beach in the evening to watch the sunset, locals will try to sell you shells. We heard from some people that they had things stolen by these locals, so just a warning. The animation team was great. There are paddle boats and catamarans to take out, however most days we were there, it was too windy and no one was allowed to use these. The weather during our stay was great, considering it was the rainy season. It rained almost daily but usually in the evenings, so it didn't affect beach time too much.

POOLS - basically I found the pools very dirty, I tried to avoid swimming in them. The quiet pool is more family-friendly, as the loud pool can get very rowdy. The resort was 80% young people when we were here because of the time of year, and they seemed to congregate at the loud pool which looked a little like spring break at times. This didn't bother us but some people were offended by it.

SERVICE - all in all, the service at this hotel was good. My only real negative experiences were with the front desk. There are many great servers at the buffet (Kirenia was lovely) and a la cartes, the ladies who made eggs in the morning were wonderful, and the men at the towel exchange always made us laugh. If you have a peso to spare please give it as a tip to a helpful staff member! They really appreciate it and deserve it as they work hard and do not make much to begin with. It was embarrassing to see the amount of young people who would be rude and make the staff's work difficult, and then leave without so much as a tip. Bar service was lacking, because this hotel ran out of alcohol pretty much daily, at various locations throughout the resort. It was kind of ridiculous that it happened so often. One day, the beach bar ran out of every type of alcohol besides rum by lunch time. This is something the management of the hotel needs to pay more attention to. It is very annoying for guests to pay for an all-inclusive hotel, but then be limited on what drinks are available to them. This didn't really make or break our trip but it's definitely something that can be improved upon. Another thing that irked me was that this hotel claims to have internet - that is a lie, they did not have it for our entire stay.

EXCURSIONS - we did the Havana day trip excursion, and I would highly recommend it if you have never seen the city before. It is a beautiful city full of history, culture, and gorgeous architecture. Even the bus ride there is full of beautiful scenery. Our tour guide and bus driver were great. The lunch they provided for us was at a beautiful outdoor cafe, and the meal was actually very delicious. The Sunwing rep who booked the trip for us was also great. He answered all our questions and even helped us reschedule our trip for another date after we changed our minds. I highly recommend doing an excursion of some sort, we heard the catamaran trip was also good.

FOOD - the food here is not gourmet but it is definitely not as terrible as some reviewers make it seem. If anyone claims to have gone hungry here, they must be an EXTREMELY picky eater. The buffet breakfasts were actually delicious. The omelettes, hash browns, and pastries were always something to look forward to. Buffet lunches and dinner were not as good but they were okay. Tip - the main buffet has MUCH better lunch than the smaller beach buffet. We found the food at the beach buffet to be barely edible. Sometimes we would go to the pool snack bar for lunch for a burger and fries, but sometimes they did not really cook the burger. The beach barbecue cooks them more thoroughly. Also the burgers are not beef, they are pork. Some people were upset by this. The best place for dinner is the a la cartes, try to pick up more a la carte reservations by getting the cancelled reservations of other people. Definitely the best a la cartes that we tried were the Japanese and the French. We did not really like the Mediterranean, mostly because it is the only a la carte where they don't let you order off a menu.

ENTERTAINMENT - I thought the entertainment was pretty good here. There was usually a band or something playing in the main square of the resort at night, sometimes people would salsa dance. The shows were usually okay, but the Michael Jackson show was actually fantastic and I would recommend seeing that if nothing else. There was also a disco around 11pm, but it's mostly filled with wasted young people so we tended to skip it.


All in all, we had fun on this trip. Memories Varadero is not a top-notch hotel and it's lacking in many areas, but none of the issues were serious enough to prevent us from having an enjoyable trip. If you want luxurious first-class vacation, then go somewhere else. If you don't expect too much then you'll be just fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbenitez, Guest Relations Manager at Memories Varadero Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Client,
We would like to express our most sincere appreciation for having given us your feedback about your recent visit. It was very kind of you to devote some of your valuable time to posting your review and your opinions encourage us to strive every day more for the complete satisfaction of all our guests. We know that this is an ambitious goal for our large resort, but we are confident that with the efforts of all our staff and counting on clients as yourself, who incite us to never give up, it is an attainable one.
Our deepest apology for any detail that might not have been up to your expectations during your stay, our Management Team is always at your service to remedy any situations. Our staff is continuously trained and most of our guests enjoy very much their kindness and hospitality; nevertheless we will increase our supervision and training.
We hope that you will visit us again in the near future and if you let us know before your arrival, we will devote special efforts to attain your complete satisfaction.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Our kindest regards from sunny Varadero!,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    1,309
    681
    338
    224
See reviews for
1,229
1,067
99
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

went with a girlfriend from may29 to jun 6.. it was rainy season so not a lot of sun maybe 2 days but it was raining pretty much everyday.. we were supposed to receive a bottle of rum part of are package with sunwing which we did not receive... they ran out of everything plastic cups at the disco, food at the a la cartes, towels at the pool.. the resort is really big so alot of walking. the food was good but not a lot of variety at breakfast. luckily the people were amazing. we got comped the last day with a free check out untill 4.. the people at the front desk didn't really speak a lot of English so it was hard to talk to them when we were having problems.. we were having problems with are safety box the first couple of nights but the maintenance were nice. other than that i couldn't wait to leave at the end.. live disco is usually the same every night i recommend going to the orientation

Room Tip: higher floors better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbenitez, Guest Relations Manager at Memories Varadero Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff´s kindness and hospitality. We work every day to improve our facilities which requires that we do the ocassional refurbishments, always with a view to our guests´better comfort as the priority. We work every day to guarantee that everything you need to have an enjoyable vacation is there for you, but we will reinforce supervision of this aspect.
Your comments are of a great value to us so that we may continue with our efforts to have more satisfied and happy clients each day!, so thank you very much for sharing!
We hope to be able to welcome you in our resort once again and if you let us know in advance we will devote special attention to any requests you may have.
Warmest regards from sunny Varadero!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

from the second we arrived at this hotel we were treated like royalty,great hotel absolutely amazing staff very friendly and they go well out of there way to help you with anything you may need.this was the best holiday ive ever been on,i would especially like to mention leo who was our butler at this hotel 1 of the nicest people ive ever met and he went above and beyond his call of duty to make sure we had an amazing holiday..every single member of staff I met while there was absolutely lovely.location of hotel is great with a beautiful beach and a short bus ride into varadero town..The buffet food is pretty good although the choice could be a little better but its good food..very clean rooms (and the maids towel art is awesome) two huge pools which are both beautiful,i really haven't got a bad thing to say about memories resort as I really loved everything and the people :-) would highly recommend to everyone and will definitely be going back there.also night time entertainment was pretty damn good especially ''the blues connection'' and Michael Jackson tribute act

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbenitez, Guest Relations Manager at Memories Varadero Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your preference for our resort Memories Varadero! We truly appreciate your having taken the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers. We loved your comments and we cannot express how happy we are to know that you enjoyed your vacation in our hotel!
We hope to have the pleasure of your visit once again soon! Please, let us know in advance so that we can do our best to guarantee that you have an even better stay!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Food was good but not alot of variety for lunch..snack bar close to the beach was on renovation not convenient when you re at the beach and need to use the bathroom or having lunch..at the Bar Disco they ran out of plastic glass every night and the pool bar ran out of booze in the early afternoon..Staff was awesome and helpful..room were clean ..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Constant, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Friends travalling toghetter, here is some issues

-missing alcool at the pool twice in the afternoon
-missing glasses at the disco everynight
-bathroom at the pool dirty
-Snackbar at the beach was close for renovation

We went at the French & Japonese restaurant it was very good

Room was clean

The beach & staff made our trip worth it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbenitez, Guest Relations Manager at Memories Varadero Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Client,
We would like to express our most sincere appreciation for having given us your feedback about your recent visit. It was very kind of you to devote some of your valuable time to posting your review and your opinions encourage us to strive every day more for the complete satisfaction of all our guests. We know that this is an ambitious goal for our large resort, but we are confident that with the efforts of all our staff and counting on clients as yourself, who incite us to never give up, it is an attainable one.
Our deepest apology for any detail that might not have been up to your expectations during your stay, our Management Team is always at your service to remedy any situations. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future and if you let us know before your arrival, we will devote special efforts to attain your complete satisfaction.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Our kindest regards from sunny Varadero!,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Biggest resort I have been to in Cuba; I usually go for smaller "quiter" ones but my friends like the party atmosphere! That being said, the beach is great for 'away time' and it was not loud at all after hours. The refrigerators in the rooms were restocked regularly, rooms were cleaned nicely and towels were replaced. My safe was closed when I arrived; I called and somebody was there in about twenty minutes. One of my friends had his safe stop working on the third day (we were there 26 Apr - 3 May) and the service was just as prompt. All in all the rooms were comfortable and more than adequate - it's not like you spend much time in them anyway other than to sleep!!

The buffet was good - there is always something to eat! We managed to get to four of the A La Carte restaurants - each guest gets two, but there are always cancellations which you an pick up at the reservation desk at about 1600 hrs. French, Japanese and Mediteranian were all very good; Mexican wasn't bad but the rice was way undercooked.

The staff were friendly, activities were very good - I especially liked the classical ensemble on Tues and Thurs evening in the main lounge and the Rock band ("Loose Connection") Saturday night. The beach is awesome - what more do you need in a Carribean vacation!

Room Tip: No matter where your room is you can get a good sleep - all resort activities stop at 2300 hrs and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A 45-minute bus ride (beer included) from the airport in Varadero - very reasonable. The resort is quite expansive with all the amenities for adults and children alike. Great beach and activities including snorkeling on the reef a five-minute sail away on a Hobie Cat; beach volleyball; aerobics; open bar; snack bar...The resort hosts over 1, 000 rooms separated into about 26 blocks. If you're looking for peace and quiet close to the beach, blocks 32 - 37 are ideal - no noise from the bars nor the Theatre. Two banks on site for money conversion to Cuban Convertible - the one near the Theatre is less crowded and quicker than the one in the main lobby. The lobby is open-air concept with a bar (alcohol) and coffee bar; nightly entertainment; gift shop; two-minute walk to the Internet office; Sunwing Office and the buffet dining room. The rooms were comfortable, shower pressure not very good however. Be sure to bring little gifts such as nylons, perfume, toiletries, children's things such as coloring books, crayons etc for the maids and their children - much appreciated. Don't leave money as a tip in the rooms as the maids have trouble converting our pesos to theirs. Money tipping for all other staff members is acceptable. All employees were great - friendly, helpful and most speak several languages.

Book your side trips between 9 & 5 - the Catamaran cruise goes quickly so book early - this is the only excursion that is reimbursable - no reason needed. An extraordinary day of sun, sailing, rum, snorkeling, swimming with the dolphins and lunch on the tiny island of Cayo Blanco; the captain and his crew of 3 were very entertaining - all well worth 100 Cuban Pesos! Another excursion is day trip into Havana - a two-hour ride with guide from the resort. This trip included bus, guide, visit of Havana, lunch, The Habana Club (rum museum) and Cigar Factory - about 100 Pesos also.

Be sure to catch the nightly shows at the Theatre - inside and out. Five restaurants on site including the buffet. The food at the buffet was plentiful but really good. There's another restaurant near the beach for breakfast and lunch - fewer people and quicker service, not a big selection on the buffet though quite enough for a quick lunch. Bring a travel mug for beverages on the beach - beer, rum etc else you'll get a small plastic glass.

One last tip - the airport is small and hot - no A/C & crowded - so for 30 pesos you can have access to the VIP lounge with A/C, food, drinks, (smoking lounge separate), comfortable leather chairs, clean washrooms to freshen up before getting on your flight home - plus express check in for your boarding pass and express line to pay departure fees - well worth 30 pesos. This can be booked at the Sunwing Office at the resort.

Great for singles as well - I went alone and had a great relaxing week!

Room Tip: Sunset or sunrise rooms in blocks 32 - 37 for peace and quiet; A/C is activated with your room key c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memories Varadero Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memories Varadero Beach Resort

Address: Autopista Sur, km 18,5 Parque Natural | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#18 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Memories Varadero Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1035
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper yourself on the pristine white sand beaches of Varadero, Cuba with a stay at the luxury Memories Varadero Beach Resort. The resort offers incredible value and impressive all inclusive features and is the perfect destination for a romantic getaway or a fun family vacation. Guests will be dazzled by the elegant rooms and suites that feature rich wood furnishings, luxurious amenities, and stunning décor. Relish a culinary trip around the world at the buffet restaurant and several à la carte restaurants, which offer sumptuous global cuisine, including Italian, Japanese, Mexican, and more. Spend your days basking under a golden sun on one of Varadero’s most beautiful beaches, or revel in an array of fun land and water sports and activities. Children will also have the time of their lives at the Kids Club and Baby Club with supervised games and activities. Memories Varadero Beach Resort ensures fun for all ages and helps create unforgettable vacation memories for the whole family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sirenis La Salina Varadero Beach Hotel Varadero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memories Varadero Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.