We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“memories varadero - fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memories Varadero

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Memories Varadero
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Autopista Sur, km 18,5 Parque Natural | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Memories Varadero Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 58 hotels in Varadero
Georgetown, Canada
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“memories varadero - fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We recently just got back! Had to post a review!! We had a fantastic time! We couldn't ask for a better resort! Our room was top notch! when reading the negative reviews, we are absolutely surprised! our towels were replaced daily, as for our beach towels (which are provided in your room, can either be replaced by the maid or pool side) the food variety was great! We also have a 19 month old child so we had to be conscientious of what we picked! There was a great variety! We loved the pool side snack bar which was open all day! We never found a shortage of food and any parents know it is important to have food available on a regular basis for a young child! We didn't get a chance to do the a la carts, but either way we could not complain about food! We never starved and we all enjoyed the food we had!! Cuban sandwich was by far my favorite! Our little one loved the yummy pizza and my spouse enjoyed the cheeseburgers
We tried a lot of different foods, everything was great! Lots of good variety at the buffet two grills were always going so you had your meat cooked quickly and very little waiting (we found only the cook time was the waiting time and it wasn't that long).
The paddle boats were awesome, beach was clean and lifeguard constantly on duty, beach bar with a grill right there so again more food always available, hot dogs and hamburgers on the BBQ
We also took a cab into varedero, to go to the market! The guys were great! Our one taxi driver was fantastic, he took us on a little detour to show us a bit more of local life and other things to see! He stopped took a bunch of family pictures for us, took our little one to see some animals! Was awesome!
If you are planning a trip to varedero! We would highly recommend Memories.
They made our family trip even more fun, plus they made my birthday extra special!

Don't pay attention to much to the negative reviews experience it yourself! If we focused on the reviews we might have missed out on one of our very best vacations and we are already planning our next trip back to memories in march!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    599
    893
    450
    239
    162
See reviews for
844
729
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We travelled with a group of people to this resort and were not disappointed. I would recomend Memories with anyone that has children. Our 3 children had a blast at the resort (16, 14, 7 yrs) and want to go back. The staff is very friendly the food is good and pool and beach are excellent.Message me anytime if you have questions..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay last year and booked again for mid January.

Anyoen know how the Hotel faired out withthe Storm?

The Beach was one of the best around. all sand beach little to no rocks. The locals where not too bad on the beach.

We found a konk on the beach and one of the locals showed us how it comes out . We put it back and a local grabbed it right away, probably for the shell, so it could be sold back to a tourist.

Very good place for a family visit. We found it to be a safe place . took the bus into town, quite safe. tourists are treated good, as locals say if a tourist has problems with the locals the police will side on the tourist side.

Room Tip: Did not really matter. We wanted to be by the activity pool, but a longer walk back to the main par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was our 4th visit to this Resort. Our last visit was in June, 2012 and have noticed a big change since we were there. They have new furniture in both the lobby and buffet area. The old chairs were recycled and placed in the theatre. More tables and chairs were placed around the fountain allowing more guests to sit outdoors. Really like the placement of the wicker furniture along the corridor walls allowing for more seating.

There is a new chef and we found the food greatly improved and flavourful. There were more seafood and meat dishes then previously.

The weather was great up until hurricane Sandy came along. Luckily it was our last full day when it hit. The staff were great during this time. We used the cart to take us to our room. Even during this terrifying time, the driver kept joking and trying to lift our spirits and kept assuring us things were going to be ok.

Arianne and the rest of the cleaning staff were amazing as they worked hard in removing the water in the lobby, buffet area and corridors. Roberto and his gardening crew were also amazing as they cleaned up all the debris and up rooted trees. By noon the next day, you would not have guessed that a hurricane came through. Ernesto and the other pool technicians cleaned the pools fairly quickly allowing us to enjoy the pools for our last day. The only sad thing was that the beach was closed the last 3 days of our vacation.

It was great seeing our friends again and meeting new friends. Boris, Xavier, Oznay and Wilson are excellent bartenders and ensured we had drinks in hand at all times. Sue at the Diamond Club was always willing to help and her smile brightened our day. It was great seeing Julio. My husband enjoy spending time with him.

A big thank you to Reynier and Rei who entertained my son and involved him in all the water sports and basketball. He had a fantastic time with the both of you.

Overall had a great vacation and plan on coming back in April, 2013. Look forward to seeing all of you again.

Please do not listen to the negative reviews. We met other couples who are repeat visitors like us and if we continue to return, then this resort is not as bad as some of the reviews reflect.


Sarina & Mario

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I have been to memories 4 times ,it is a great resort.food is very good and fresh.I love the fish,and this time the had a lot of seafood crab, squid,and shrimp.the staff at this resort is amazing make you feel like home.they a clean and nice beach .they have a great swim up bar in a cave at the main pool.they also have a club on the resort.it is a big resort so if you don't like far walks make sure to let them know where you want to stay ,near beach or near lobby.we a group of 10 and loved it.rooms very big and clean,see you in march memories hotel.you are the best hotel in varadeiro

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Can't wait for my return back to this resort. Only thing I didn't really like was animation I thought it was okay not the best. They need to add more difficulty. Food was better than my last time when I stayed at Barcelo solymar.

This place is awesome for couples and families not singles

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was so worried after reading all the negitive reviews on here. but i have to say.. this place was amazing!!!! we got to see alot of the other resorts and i was surprised to see ours was much nicer than some od the 5 stars!!!.. staff were sooooooo nice!! we got new towels everyday! and the room was cleaned very well!!... we did have to ask to have our bed sheets changed.. but they were changed no problem!!.. my 3 year old had the most fun.. and keeps asking to go back.. i would go to this resort again for sure!!!!! with or without my family!!

Room Tip: pick a room thats at the center of the resport.. block 24 is right in the middle.. and infront of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Memories Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memories Varadero

Address: Autopista Sur, km 18,5 Parque Natural | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Memories Varadero Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#17 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Hotel Class:4 star — Memories Varadero 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper yourself on the pristine white sand beaches of Varadero, Cuba with a stay at the luxury Memories Varadero Beach Resort. The resort offers incredible value and impressive all inclusive features and is the perfect destination for a romantic getaway or a fun family vacation. Guests will be dazzled by the elegant rooms and suites that feature rich wood furnishings, luxurious amenities, and stunning décor. Relish a culinary trip around the world at the buffet restaurant and several à la carte restaurants, which offer sumptuous global cuisine, including Italian, Japanese, Mexican, and more. Spend your days basking under a golden sun on one of Varadero’s most beautiful beaches, or revel in an array of fun land and water sports and activities. Children will also have the time of their lives at the Kids Club and Baby Club with supervised games and activities. Memories Varadero Beach Resort ensures fun for all ages and helps create unforgettable vacation memories for the whole family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sirenis La Salina Varadero Beach Hotel Varadero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memories Varadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Memories Varadero to your Saves list