We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING HOLIDAY!! Thank you Oz for making our holiday so AMAZING!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Varadero

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iberostar Varadero
Save
You added Iberostar Varadero to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Las Morlas km 17,5 | Sector Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Varadero
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING HOLIDAY!! Thank you Oz for making our holiday so AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed here end of June for 14 nights and was our first time in cuba but wont be last. We travelled in a large group as we were here for a friends wedding. the hotel is very clean the rooms are a good size with a free mini bar. we stay in block 15 right next to the kids club and waterpark which our kids loved.

the beach was picture perfect and the sea was warm and inviting in the cuban sun. there is always a bar near bye or a waiter taking orders no matter where you are in the hotel. the food was very good and there was a lot of variety so something for everyone.

the pool is a good size and where the best barmen are charlie and armando at the pool bar were brilliant with all of our group especially with the children we did tip them but because they deserved to be tipped. the hotel staff really made our stay so special from waiters, barmen cleaners and even the gardeners went out of there way to say HOLA! (give the gardens a drink every now and then and they will make you some great things. The biggest asset to this hotel is the entertainment team the shows were great during day and at night. A big thank you to OZ from the entertainment team he was an truly amazing person and now a friend for life and cant wait to see him again. he was briliant with us the whole group loved him.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay, OZ will be very happy and proud to read this.
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,841
    999
    275
    61
    39
See reviews for
1,315
1,809
64
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Campbellton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a beautiful spot ,There is nothing to complain about here ,Just sit back and enjoy its beauty. The beach is perfect ,the sunsets are a must to see . We had a great family holiday, would love to go back .Our Daughter was married on the beach ,Beautiful wedding ,The staff are amazing, Everything was taken care of ,we just had to show up, The best place for a wedding!!

Room Tip: love the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay,
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Enjoyed this vacation July 2014...You can not beat the great value for your dollar..All inclusive..wonderful beach,miles of white sand...clean rooms with fluffy towels and excellent room service
Little beach BBQ bar was so wonderful for a quick hamburger and a drink
The pool had plenty of loungers and room for all the guests and a great swim up bar
.Children's pool and play area further away from the main pool was fantastic with all kinds of sprays and special effects
Have stayed at many all inclusive resorts and based on our travels if you are looking for a great getaway at an unbelievable price point Iberostar Varadero is for you !!
Really enjoyed the specialty restaurant that served the Japanese food what a fun night and a wonderful show as they prepared the food
Lots of variety at the buffet
Service was very good ,the staff very helpful and always pleasant
The main bar served excellent drinks especially their great "Manhattan" and wowie their cappuccino coffee the best in the resort
Looking for a very affordable getaway...book this resort

Room Tip: Rooms in block 20 are very close to beach and buffet restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay,
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

After looking at all the reviews...a group of us decided to try this hotel instead of the Blau Varadero which is where we had stayed the last 2 years. Check inn was extremely slow....3 people at the counter...one person hardly working. The bartenders looked as though they hated being there. Unless there was a tip given with very drink...then you might actually get a smile. The beach,,,,OHHHHHHH what a disappointment. There was a steep drop in the beach area....This was very upsetting. It made lying in the beach difficult. The food was the best that we have had in Cuba. The entertainment was good. Another very bad thing we all noticed is that anytime you asked someone for something they were always on their phones. Very unprofessional. We had 2 rooms that had various issues. Sink problem safe issue, tv not working....never got fixed the whole week. Overall, the hotel was clean, food was good. They need to step it up with service , consistency(daily entertainment)...since we are on that topic....There was a show the second evening that was very inappropriate for young kids. 2 people going at it, and a bunch of pole dancers...(the only thin missing was the pole).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us, thanks to your review it will definetely help us to improve.
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

The third Iberostar hotel on our Cuban adventure and a welcome interlude for 3 days of R&R. There are so many mixed reviews by fellow travellers that it can be daunting for someone thinking of going to Varadero but not quite sure. One should travel to Cuba with an open heart and mind and remember that these lovely people earn very little and work very hard so things aren't always 'perfect'. Tip generously .....it goes a long way.

Our large junior suite room was located on the upper floors of block 17 with a view into the gardens. Very peaceful and quiet.
We spent our 3 days at the beach swimming in pristine, turquoise coloured waters you didn't want to get of..........Simply divine. We were fortunate that there was a cool breeze and we stayed away from the hustle and bustle of the pool area which was noisy, crowded and hot yet very well laid out and pretty. Perfect for families with children and people wanting to participate in activities.

The buffet restaurants had a large variety of tasty, fresh food choices to cater to all tastes. Yes, it would get busy and sometimes noisy but you are only there for an hour or so and it is a family oriented hotel.
The BBQ/bar areas near the beach were perfect for a snack and a refreshing cocktail.

All staff members we came across were always willing to help with a smile on their face.

A lovely 3 days spent swimming and relaxing before continuing our travels.
Highly recommend the Iberostar Varadero.


Wifi, when it was connected, only worked in the lobby area next to the pool.



Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay,
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We loved our two week holiday at this hotel in June. The service was great, food was plentiful and cocktails were in abundance.

The evening entertainment was of a good standard and everyone made the effort right through. The themed nights were great and the kids were included in the shows were possible.

The kids clubs were good but not what we expected. They did not go off in groups to go and play games. It was the odd game at the side of the pool. It did not detract us from having an excellent time though. The kids just played and made friends in the massive pool.

The hotel was beautifully clean, the beach and ocean was astonishing. We did the overnight trip to. Habana and loved it. Club Tropicana was ace. Habana was a cultural delight.

All in all, we had the time of our lives.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay,
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We allways wanted to visit Cuba - to experience the beaches, Havanna and the People. We chose Iberostar in Varadero since still relatively close to Havanna, and it was a brilliant choice.

The Hotel is not to small and not to big, why it has all services, but is still to overview. The employees are positive, smiling, and there are a lot of relevant activities for kids (ours 7, 10 and 13). You can get good fresh food 24/7 and the sea food is very good, especially the shell fish.

The excursions are fantastic and well planed.

Internet is difficult, its still extra cost - and its slow. Why its only to be used for mails.

Majority of people were from Chile, Argentina and Canada.

Room Tip: Buy an upgrade for a Suite. Better room, and more important, much better situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
It seems you had an excellent stay and enjoyed what we had to offer.
We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.
We will make sure to pass on your comments about our property and we are thrilled that you had such a remarkable time with all of us.
It is a true pleasure and very rewarding for all of us here to read feedback like yours which really reflects how great was your stay, we apologise if food at the a la carte restaurant were not of your like we will work on this.
Thank you very much again for your kind review,we do hope to welcome you back soon
Best regards
FHerran ORM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Varadero

Address: Carretera Las Morlas km 17,5 | Sector Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Varadero
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#2 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#4 Business Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Varadero 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of Varadero. Iberostar's first 5 star hotel in Cuba. Luxury and comfort in an elegant atmosphere. Top gastronomy and excellent service. Equipped for every kind of meeting, gala dinner, party, etc.. Ideal for groups & incentives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iberostar Varadero Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Cuba
Iberostar Varadero Cuba
Varadero Iberostar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Varadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.