We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Varadero

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iberostar Varadero
Save
You added Iberostar Varadero to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Las Morlas km 17,5 | Sector Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Varadero
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

As long as u set your mind on the fact that cuban standards are a notch below international ones you realise that this hotel is just perfect.
Beach is awesome. Rooms are large and cleaning is just above cuban standards.
Would defo recommend

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Room Division Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear redajen, On behalf of all our staff and Management team we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar Varadero for your vacations. We are please to know that you had a perfect stay with us and we hope you can visit us again soon. Best regards, P.Perciavalle. Room Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,968
    1,069
    294
    66
    42
See reviews for
1,387
1,919
71
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having enjoyed a fantastic stay at the Iberostar Varadero in 2011, we made the decision to return, and surprisingly it was even better than the first time. With many of the staff recognising us from our previous visit as well as some as well as some of the returning guests, it felt more like a warm family reunion!

Having experienced an unsatisfactory flight with Virgin Atlantic from London Gatwick in December 2011 with rude and disinterested staff both ways, as well as a 5 hour outward transfer from Havana we made the decision to travel with Thomson Airways from Manchester and into Varadero. The flight was excellent in every way and the shorter 1 hour transfer to the hotel was great after the long 11 hour flight from Manchester.

The all inclusive buffet menu was generally very good with a good choice of food, and we enjoyed eating in the buffet most days. We also tried the Japanese restaurant and La Parrilla international restaurant, but found some of the dishes, including the lamb overly salty. Less salt please chef!

We received an even warmer welcome from the staff, on our return visit, because we had gone back. Based in block 18, our room, was again clean, spacious and well equipped and very close to the beach with a sunny balcony. We love Iberostar Varadero, and the friendly staff do everything possible to ensure you enjoy your stay. It's great for celebrating Christmas and the New Year. We will definitely be back!

Sightseeing: We would recommend

(1) Trinidad for its beautiful buildings, amazing sea food and warm Caribbean Sea, although it’s a long day. We hired a cab, and Frank was an excellent guide and driver.

(2). Guama steam and sugar tour is also a good day out and much closer to Varadero. Great for seeing old steam trains, Zapata national park including the crocodile reserve and boat trip with views of the amazing mangroves.

Room Tip: Block 18 with for a beautiful garden view and a balcony where the sun shines for most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JefedeAlojamiento, Room Division Manager at Iberostar Varadero, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Trish M, Thank you for visiting us a second time, we fell proud to know that you find our services even better that the first time at Iberostar Varadero. All our staff will be pleased to read your nice words regarding their service and friendly attitude. We will forward your suggestions to our Chefs!. We will be looking forward to your 3rd visit. Best regards, P.Perciavalle. Room Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Just got back frm a fab 2 weeks
Beautiful hotel
Beautiful beachs
Fantastic staff (Leo B-boy) (Victor) (Jennifit) (Emma bar staff) Both kids club girls,(Malen) all the entertainers sorry if not remembered names.
All the staff in the buffet all of them...
Treasured memories of Valadero at the Iberostar
Thank you

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in July 2013 with friends of ours. It was by far one of the best holidays we have been on!! On arrival the checkin was quick and we were in our rooms before we new it with our cases not far behind. The rooms were perfect, large bedroom, nice size bathroom and all you need. The hotel overall was lovely, we sat by the pool with the pool bar to the right, toilets to the left and the pool straight in front, the beach was just 2 minutes out the back of the hotel, Perfect!!!! There was plenty going on in the day if you wanted it, the starfriends would come around asking to join in but were not at all pushy i think by the third day they got the message i was there to relax and nothing else.(I'm not lazy honest!!!!!). The food was lovely, plenty of choice, whatever time of day. Some say it can get a bit repetitive but believe me there was plenty to choose from, you can eat something different everyday. A big thumbs up to all the chefs and the staff in the restaurants, they work very hard....The A LA CARTE restaurants were ok, we went the once to try them, you really have to like fish to eat in the mediterranean but was nice all the same and it was nice to be waited on for a change. The entertainment was brilliant the Starfriends worked very hard every night, WELL DONE!!! I would like to say a big thankyou to all the staff for making us feel very welcome (nothing was too much trouble) and hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Iberostar Varadero for 2 weeks. We travelled with First Choice, the reps seemed knowledgeable enough. Didn't really need them as we had pre-booked our excursions before arriving.

The hotel is situated on a lovely sandy beach, plenty of shade as new palapas were added while we were there. There is normally a member of staff who will help you to find a spot and put out your beds/ towels for you. We never had a problem getting a bed/ shade by the beach and there always seemed to be space no matter what time you arrived. The beach is quieter on the right side and there are two beach bars serving the area. We found it was much faster to get your own drinks than to wait for the servers on the beach. We never used the pool so can't comment on how easy getting a space was. We are early risers and there were spaces all around the pool at 9am. The pool was a bit more loud and family orientated, so if you prefer it a bit more quiet I would recommend the beach.

The hotel is nicely situated in Varadero and has been well maintained. The lobby and surrounding areas are relaxing and clean. It is not an overly big hotel and everything you need is within easy reach. You can book the speciality restaurants at the guest services desk which is just right of the main reception area. There is someone normally there from 10am-12pm and 1-5pm. Reception will change money, and staff are very helpful if you need smaller notes for tips etc. The internet is pretty slow if you are using the hotel's computers. The cost for use of their computers is 10 CUC for 1 hour. You can use your code several times if you don't use your hour in one go. The computers are situated just past the reception and are in an air conditioned room.

The main buffet restaurant is nice and the servers very pleasant and friendly. The food can get a little repetitive, but there is plenty of it. For me, the food was the reason why I would not give this hotel 5*. It would be really helpful if more food labels were used. I am a vegetarian and found that I was really limited as I did not dare try certain things due to not knowing what things were. More labels would also help those with food allergies etc.
The Japanese restaurant was very nice but there is no choice for vegetarians and I had to explain the the server which could be difficult as my Spanish is non existent. The entertainment at the Japanese is not to be missed, but the drink service was terrible. On the last visit to this restaurant we waited over half an hour to be given a drink, however those that purchased wine were served far quicker.
The International restaurant was okay, but again, no choice for non meat eaters. In the end I was served a pasta dish which was nice. After eating here, we did experience an upset stomach and decided not to return. The choice of the food was no better than the buffet and with less choice overall.
We were due to eat at the Mediterranean restaurant, but due to not feeling well after the International we decided against it.
The beach grill serves hot dogs and burgers for those that fancy a snack. The pool area also has the restaurant open for a buffet selection.

The bar and drinks service is excellent. Wonderful drinks, good selection of international brands and lots of rum based cocktails to choose from. The waiters and bar staff are friendly and did a great job.

The room was very clean and spacious. Not luxurious but pleasant and comfortable. The rooms are starting to show their age and if you are use to 5* hotels in Mexico or the Dominican Rep these rooms do appear tired in comparison. However, the minibar is great, always restocked. The maid did a wonderful job and ever made a special effort for my mums birthday which was really thoughtful and much appreciated. We stayed in block 10 which is very close to the reception/ lobby. I was a little worried that we would get noise from the entertainment in the evenings, but we were fine. Very peaceful overall.

I would recommend this hotel, and after seeing some of the other hotels in the area, I think it is one of the best in Varadero. I would return but prefer to try different hotels and countries when possible. The people who work at this hotel really make this place special and they work very hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Room Tip: I think the normal rooms are fine and would not bother with an upgrade. There are no sea view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

So I visited the Iberostar Hotel and Resort in Varadero, Cuba and I had a horrible time. My wife and I decided to go to this resort because we read reviews about other hotels having bed bugs and this one had a very good review so tried it. But I will never go back to this resort again. Here's my pros and cons of this trip:

PROS
Although I must say it was in evry respect 100% Cuban style. The style, hotel, music, and the entertainment.
• The beach is 100% beautiful.


CONS
• The food was very bad. I mean bad. And not even fresh.
• There were cockroaches in the couch in our room.
• And the service was horrible.
• The currency from Canadian to Cuban Pesos is crazy.
• Food flies everywhere even in the buffet and birds too. They probably even poop in the food because there's food covers just hot spot lights.
• Entertainment is OK. But for me specifically, bad.

STAY AWAY FROM THIS RESORT. THE WORST ONE I'VE SEEN EVER

Good Luck!!

Room Tip: If you do go, take the 3rd floor. Every room is the same and there's no suite or anything like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Travelled to this resort with my husband and two daughters aged 19 and 21. Large rooms which were extremely clean. Excellent maid service, beautiful gardens and lots going on throughout the resort all day. There were pool activities, dancing lessons, aerobics, yoga etc but none of it was thrust upon you...you joined in if you wanted to. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: We were in deluxe suites but could not see the sea due to the height of the palm trees, how ever the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Varadero

Address: Carretera Las Morlas km 17,5 | Sector Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#1 Family Hotel in Varadero
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#2 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#4 Business Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Varadero 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of Varadero. Iberostar's first 5 star hotel in Cuba. Luxury and comfort in an elegant atmosphere. Top gastronomy and excellent service. Equipped for every kind of meeting, gala dinner, party, etc.. Ideal for groups & incentives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iberostar Varadero Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Cuba
Iberostar Varadero Cuba
Varadero Iberostar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Varadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.