We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palma Real” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BelleVue Palma Real

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BelleVue Palma Real
Save
You added BelleVue Palma Real to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Calle 64, Varadero, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 59 Hotels in Varadero
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Palma Real”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hotel is ok, rooms also. Beverage selections are horrible-cocktail are made from the worst ingrediants. Food- common food, nothing special. Location is more or less ok- you have to cross the street to get to the beach. On the beach there is a bar - all inclusive, but drinks are owfull. On the beach there are also chairs which are included in all inclusive. Price was ok - 42 CUC per person per day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    686
    412
    193
    145
See reviews for
276
618
73
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was our 2nd time to Varadero, last time we were at the end of the resort area and far from town.This time we enjoyed the freedom of leaving the hotel by foot and safely walking day and night into Varadero. There was an open night club around the corner that we would stand on the street and enjoy the music. Alittle farther was a park that had paddle boats and a wedding chapel, and a nice quiet walk all around it.
The first night we got in the first building beside the pool. It was humid and "musty" smelling, the view was a parking lot. We saw that 2 couples that came on our flight were moving to a different building, so we asked to be moved to the back 4-storey building as well.because the first building was "musty" smelling. The rooms were the very same, but we got ocean side. There was a highway between the ocean and the hotel, but at night the car noises died down and we could hear the waves. The beds are "extra firm" and the air conditioning worked great.This building had its own bar that opened at 3p.m.- 12;00 and a big lobby.
The main lobby of the hotel had a bar, but it was so smokey and it needed airing out. The windows were open, but for some reason the wind just didn't go that way.
There was 1 buffet restaurant and the food was as good as Cuban food can be! We didn't go hungry, and we are fussy eaters. If you are coming to Cuba and expecting gourmet meals. Stay home!! There 2 ala carte, that we didn't try and 2 snack bars that made good Cuban pizza, burgers, hot dogs and fries. There is also a snack bar at the beach, that is a sort walk across 2 roads. No big deal to get there, gave you time to shake out the sand and walk off the drinks.
The nightly entertainment was not that entertaining. The dancers were great and the aqua show in the pool was very good. The shows started at 9:30 p.m. and were about an hour.
The hotel needs a good sprucing up with some paint and signage to let you know about the shows and where the snackbars are.

Room Tip: Ask for the back building and ocean side on the higher floors. Bring your own condiments/peanut butt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meteghan, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This will be are third time staying at the Bellevue Palma Real in march 2013... I don't understand what people complain about, If you go with an open mind you will have a great time.It's not a 5 star but there is nothing wrong with this place.This resort is perfect to go walking down town and to the park.. Calle 62 is awesome to go to at night to watch live entertainment and is minutes away from the resort. We also discovered really good restaurants that are minutes away as well.. The Barbacoa is across the street and the Fondue is not far as well... On the resort the buffet is Typical Cuban food, I can always find something to eat..There is also a pizzaria on the resort which we found was good and there is a 24 hour snack bar too!! Yes it is a short walk to the beach but is a shorter walk then some of the bigger resorts you stay at. The beach is absolutely BEAUTIFUL, and you can walk for miles!!! There is also a grill and bar at the beach. There is also live entertainment at night in the lobby or theatre. The bars at the hotel close at 12 but they encourage the tourist to go out and explore the bars and disco's in town. That's when you can go and discover Calle 62 ..I love that place!!!
There's nothing wrong with the rooms and plus your just there to sleep in them at night,and the beds are ok.
When I go I like to stay in the 1st building just because it's closer to everything on the resort!!
The staff are very friendly and we made some friends here and are looking forward to seeing them all again!!
Also there's a place called Kiki's which is the other side of town but is well worth to go and try out there Pizza !!!
All in all if you go with an open mind and you don't try to pick the place apart and you are there to enjoy the sun and have fun, you will have an awesome time!!!
As long as I keep going to Varadero , I will keep returning to this hotel !!!
Yes, I would recommend this hotel to a friend!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario,canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place is at best a 2 star, the food was the worst we have ever had anywhere, the only nice thing about this hotel was some staff and our maid was the best, the pool is ice cold, the food atrocious, shoe leather would be more tender,food was not even warm, coffee the worst, will be a while before we return to Cuba, with 46% Canadian tourists would you think they would realize this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Shabby hotel with rude staff. We were looking forward to a week of relaxation on the lovely beach, the fact that you have to cross 2 main roads to get to the beach turned out to be the least of our problems at this hotel. The food was the worst we experienced in 16 days and 7 different hotels during our tour of Cuba. We were both ill as a result of eating at the hotel, this was when the food hadn't run out and there was cutlery available. There were long queues for food and drinks at the bar. There was no hot water for the first 2 days, the staff couldn't be less interested in our complaints so we cut our losses and left after 3 days. This was a blip in our experience of Cuba, which has been fantastic over the last 16 days.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The maid service was excellent, our room was spotless and well maintained at all times. Our room was located at the back of the resort and offered us peace and quiet.
Yes, the beach was about a block away, however, the short walk didn't hurt us and we enjoyed the scenery along the way - Coco
cabs, cars from the '50's and horse drawn buggies.
A big plus - the ability to walk into Varadero.
The swim up bar was popular and we always managed to get comfortable lounge chairs.
A very friendly lady fixed fresh fruit smoothies in the dining room for us.
We hired a private driver to take us to Havana .... the driver was courteous, informative along the way and showed us the
capital building and shopping district.
We enjoyed BelleVue Palma Real in April of 2012 .. every day was sunny and perfect to go to the beach !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

There really is nothing wrong with this resort.
The rooms are big and clean. The pools are, too. The grounds are well kept. There is a "smell" in the rooms that is due to the massive humidity that ALL the hotels have to deal with. You're seconds from the ocean....think about that for a minute. It's really not that bad, and anyone whining about it (or anything else at this resort) is just high maintenance.
The food is fine if you're not fussy. My husband ate just fine every night, with a big plate of whatever they served. He eats anything though, even my cooking ;). He did not get sick. My son and I didn't fare so well with the food, but that's really not their fault. We did just fine on pasta and rice (yes, it gets boring) and we went out a couple of times. We also brought some peanut butter for toast in the morning. Restaurants in the area are of course, much better than the buffets on the resort.
I don't think this is a "party" place, even though there's a disco attached to it. We were in bed every night by 10pm, and slept just fine.
The only disappointment for me was that I had promised my little guy a kids club, and they don't have one. There weren't many families, it was mostly older couples or the occasional young group in their 20's.
My husband would go back in a heartbeat. I myself am not a fan of the "all-inclusive" style, but we went with three requirements:

1) somewhere hot
2) somewhere safe and clean
3) somewhere we won't get sick from the food

Mission accomplished.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BelleVue Palma Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BelleVue Palma Real

Address: Calle 64, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BelleVue Palma Real 3.5*
Number of rooms: 466
Also Known As:
Hotetur Palma Real Hotel
Palma Real Cuba
Hotetur Palma Real Varadero
Hotel Palma Real Cuba
Palma Real Varadero Cuba
Palma Real Hotel Cuba
Varadero Palma Real
Hotel Palma Real Varadero Cuba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BelleVue Palma Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.