We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7th trip to Royal Hicacos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Save
You added Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Las Morlas KM 15 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 40400, Cuba (Formerly Royal Hicacos)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Varadero
Mount Pearl, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“7th trip to Royal Hicacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

just returned from our 7th trip to this resort (our 2nd since Sandals left) Glad to see the same friendly faces greeting us daily it's like our home away from home. We noticed a few changes at the buffet for the better and of course the a la cartes are great, but we prefer the buffet. We met the new manager and the new food manager and they are very anxious to please their guests. As usual the concierge staff are very helpful. The staff in the lobby bar are exceptional, along with the front desk staff and any others that you meet. Our only disappointment was the entertainment, as we were used to having rock & roll at the lobby bar in the evening as well as on stage at night, we love to dance so we missed that. Poker Club did play on Friday night for a hour & would have liked for it to be longer. We realize this resort is in a transition period and I'm sure these things will be resolved but we will definitely go back again, not only for the sun but for the smiling friendly staff and the great food. Highly recommend this resort

Room Tip: We like the concierge rooms, quiet in the evening and close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    233
    55
    8
    0
See reviews for
52
711
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I have been to this resort 5 times: 2 times when Sandals and 3 times as Royal Hicacos. I cannot say enough good things about this fabulous paradise. The food is excellent and plentiful, the beach is spectacular, the rooms which are all suites exceeds my expectations each time. The entertainment is fun and colourful: Rogelio the magician rocks and the water ballet(synchro swimming show) is so beautiful. But what makes us go back over and over again is the 'above and beyond outstanding' service. The staff are my family outside of Canada and I look forward to their warm open hugs: mariella, Marcelo, Hermes, Barbara, Agnes, Carlos, Raciel an dMartin at the dive shop.. And all the others who take such wonderful care of us. See you in June. Anyone looking in varadero: Stop looking now: this is your destination for total pleasure .

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhicacos, Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guests:

Thank you for your generous and interesting comments! It was exciting to read your opinion as a repeat guest and believe us when we say that it is of utmost importance as you are the ones who will see the difference in the long run, as repeat guests.

You are right in saying that we want to keep the atmosphere as much as we can. The new Royalton will be following the same guide as the first one in Cayo Santa Maria. Tranquility, peace, relaxation, all-luxury and more especially, personalized service. At Royalton, we have re-invented customer care and we plan on keeping it that way!

Nothing brings us more joy than to have the honor of receiving you once again in your home away from home. Rest assured that there are many positive changes coming and that we will not change what is already working so well while we are polishing our new diamond!

Thank you so very much for your heartfelt comments dear repeat guests, they are so important to us!!

We look forward to welcoming you again to Royal Hicacos, your ever-coming-back hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

An amazing beach, fantastic cocktails, good food and great entertainment. The staff were always polite and helpful and the room comfortable and quiet. Highly recommended. An evening cocktail in the pool bar is a real treat. Wifi in the rooms would be a bonus, but this is Cuba so lack of internet is normal for the country and once you get used to being out of touch it is very relaxing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunset apartments on the third floor - lovely views and quiet but equally not far f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhicacos, Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear guests:

Thank you very much for your comments. It was a pleasure for us to read them.

Your satisfaction is our reason for living. Your comments are the ones who guide us to a better hotel and to a better service. We believe that there is always room for improvement so even if our clients are happy, we make a point to revise all of our departments regularly to ensure that it stays that way! Nothing makes us prouder than to read that you are definitely coming back sometime in the future!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us dear guests; we appreciate your comments!

We certainly look forward to welcoming you to Royal Hicacos, your diamond in the sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte-Anne-de-la-Perade, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was our second time at this Royal Hicacos Resort in Cuba. The property, the food and the service was excellent!!!!! The main restaurant was excellent it was opened earlier for breakfast and ok for dinner. When we arrived in the lobby ,the first impression was an impression of paradise and calm. The staff was taking care of us. We recommend it to ours friends. We had a wonderfull trip and see you soon...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhicacos, Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear guests:

Thank you for your beautiful comments! It was such a pleasure to read you! We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed our new diamond!

Your happiness is important to us. We guide ourselves by the level of satisfaction of our clients. It is so important to us to know that we exceed your expectations and we know we have done our job correctly when we read that you are coming back to visit us!

Your comments really warmed our hearts dear guests, we cannot thank you enough!

We look forward to welcoming you again to Royal Hicacos, your beautiful hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here from March 16-23. It was out 3rd trip to Cuba first time to Varadero. Resort was wonderful. Our room was great, very spacious, wonderful balcony, comfortable, clean and always made up when we got home from the beach. Beach what can I say, it was absolutely gorgeous, with the best swim area, sand bottom for miles! Drinks were great! Food was great - cheeses, breads, specialty meats on buffet were awesome! Getting a mimosa every morning with great coffee was the perfect way to start the day! I would recommend this resort to anyone!
Perfect holiday!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhicacos, Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear guests:

What a beautiful review, thank you so much! It was great reading you and knowing that your vacation was unforgettable!

Every time we receive comments like yours, it fills us up with energy to continue doing more and more for you. That is what we are all about. Making you happy. Fulfilling your needs while you are on vacation is our reason for living. Nothing makes us prouder than when we are able to exceed your expectations! We are not quite certain about your comments about the lazy rivers as it is not possible to go inside them, as they are only for decoration.

Thank you dear guests for your wonderful comments, they are very much appreciated!

We look forward to welcoming you again to Royal Hicacos your wonderful hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Royal Hicacos offers great value in an all inclusive getaway to fun in the sun. The beach front it occupies along the Varadero coast is second to none and beautifully maintained. The staff there are quick to find you a place in the shade to spend your day.

The junior suite is quite spacious and well kept. In the bathroom there is a two person tub with a large rain shower and plenty of hot water. The king size beds are firm and elevated off the floor which can be tricky climbing in and out. The balcony over looked a lovely garden, perfect for an early morning cup of cappuccino which you can get from the 24 hour lobby bar.

While we did not spend much time at the pool areas, although many guests enjoyed the daily entertainment and the swim up bar. There are jacuzzi tubs spread about the resort but none were warmer than the pools themselves.

The seafood and the caribbean restaurants are both excellent while the italian needs a little work. The buffet is very good for all meals of the day offering a very wide of dishes. Dine on the balcony to take in the beautiful grounds while enjoying a glass of wine. Lunch at the beachside grill is a good choice for simple dishes - try the pizza if you like true italian style.

It is true the Royal is showing a few signs of age and wear but friendly staff are always present cleaning and maintaining the buildings and grounds. Those working in the bars and restaurants are engaging and fun, looking to ensure you enjoy your stay.

We plan on returning next year too!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhicacos, Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear guests:

Thank you for your comments, we are so happy to read that you are satisfied with our new diamond!

Your satisfaction is our reason for living. Your comments are the ones who guide us to a better hotel... We believe that there is always room for improvement so even if our clients are happy, we make a point to revise all of our departments regularly to ensure that it stays that way! Rest assured that we are revising our procedure for a la carte reservations as we speak.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us dear guests; it was a pleasure to read you!

We certainly look forward to welcoming you to Royal Hicacos, your impressive hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was our first time to Cuba and like most people we had heard some bad information about the food. Luckily enough a friend had been to this resort and recommended it to us.

We found this resort to be very nice and clean. The staff here are incredibly friendly, always had smiles and willing to help you out anytime. The pools are nice a large and always very clean.
So lets get to breaking some things down:

FOOD

The food here was way above expectations. We had heard prior to going to Cuba that the food well is just terrible. However that is not the case here. from the Buffet to the A La Carte restaurants the food here was quite good. Sure they don't really add much spice to things but other then that I had no complaints about the food here. I also found the El Caribe restaurant to be the best A La Carte at the resort.

ROOM

The room we had was also nice. We were in room 204. The only real issue we had with the room was that it was quite far from everything. It happens to be right the very East side of the resort, making for a little bit of a walk to get to the lobby, restaurants, etc. The room needed just some very minor fixes, which weren't too big of a deal. The toilet had some weird issues when you flushed it sometimes and the ceiling fan looked like it was going to fall off and the A/C didn't really appear to work, and of course the bed was rock hard (but that's to be expected from all of these resorts). The view also wasn't very nice from our room. But we really didn't care too much, we were hardly in the room anyway.

THE BEACH

The beach here is absolutely amazing. You can't beat white sands and beautiful ocean water. Beach chairs get taken up fast so if you want one make sure to go down early and throw a towel on a couple of them and then come back later when you are ready to chill out on the beach. There is also a little watersports shack where you can get some small catamarans and kayaks, but unfortunately they don't have jet skis.

THE LOCATION

The resort is in a great spot, only a very short walk to the main road and the double decker bus stop. You can catch a taxi or the bus into Varadero and it's not too far. A taxi should only cost you 10-15 cuc ( the yellow cabs will go for 10 but the old 50's cars usually want a little more like 15) and the double decker bus is 5 cuc per person hop on hop off the whole day.

NIGHTSHOWS

I personally think this is were the resort lacks a little. When we were there they had a Michael Jackson impersonator (who was quite good) and other nights were the dancers with some singing which were also quite good. While I did enjoy it, there could have been more variety and more shows with interaction with the crowd, like getting people on stage to sing and dance.


Overall We really loved this resort and had a wonderful stay here. It needed some very minor updating in places and a little revamp to the night shows, but nothing to really complain about. I would most definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhicacos, Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear guests:

Thank you for your comments. It is important to know every experience our guests have with us! Nothing makes us happier than reading that you have enjoyed your stay and that we could provide you with an unforgettable experience.

We still make a point to revise all of our departments regularly to ensure that our future comments will be exactly like yours. Our job is to make you happy and that is a full-time job!

Thank you once again for sharing your comments with us dear guests, it is very much appreciated!

We look forward to welcoming you to Royal Hicacos, your wonderful hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Las Morlas KM 15 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 40400, Cuba (Formerly Royal Hicacos)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#1 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#1 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#7 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#13 Family Hotel in Varadero
Hotel Class:5 star — Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within lush tropical gardens and just steps from the azure blue waters and powder white sand of Cuba's finest beach lies the award-winning, Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, an Adults Only Luxury All Inclusive Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Hicacos Varadero
Sandals Cuba
Sandals Royal Hicacos Resort Spa
Royal Hicacos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.